Commercial Compliance Hub

18 permits · verified 2026-09-25

What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Clark County?

In short

A coffee shop in Clark County, NV has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Clark County Department of Building & Fire Prevention, Building Division charges No fee — no separate fee for the final certificate of occupancy; a Temporary or Partial Certificate of Occupancy costs $125.00 per certificate (§22.02.370) for the certificate of occupancy (and temporary / partial certificate). 11 of the 18 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a coffee shop in Clark County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Business License — Restaurant / Take-Out / Snack Bar / Coffee Shop (gross-revenue)Clark County Department of Business LicenseSemiannual gross revenue -> semiannual fee under Clark County Code §6.12.995 (26 tiers: 25 bounded plus one open-ended row) — $0-$12,000 -> $25.00; $12,001-$18,000 -> $30.00; $18,001-$24,000 -> $42.00; $24,001-$30,000 -> $54.00; $30,001-$45,000 -> $66.00; $45,001-$90,000 -> $78.00; $90,001-$135,000 -> $90.00; $135,001-$180,000 -> $100.00; $180,001-$240,000 -> $120.00; $240,001-$300,000 -> $167.00; $300,001-$360,000 -> $200.00; $360,001-$420,000 -> $230.00; $420,001-$480,000 -> $270.00; $480,001-$540,000 -> $300.00; $540,001-$600,000 -> $350.00; $600,001-$660,000 -> $370.00; $660,001-$720,000 -> $400.00; $720,001-$780,000 -> $440.00; $780,001-$840,000 -> $470.00; $840,001-$900,000 -> $500.00; $900,001-$960,000 -> $540.00; $960,001-$1,020,000 -> $570.00; $1,020,001-$1,080,000 -> $600.00; $1,080,001-$1,140,000 -> $640.00; $1,140,001-$1,200,000 -> $670.00; $1,200,001 and over -> 0.05555%. The Code does not state the base of that final 0.05555% rate; 0.05555% of $1,200,000 is $666.60, close to the $670 top tier, which suggests it applies to total semiannual gross rather than only the excess above $1,200,000 — confirm the base with the Department of Business License, (702) 455-0174. Plus a one-time $45.00 non-refundable application processing fee (Code §6.08.030).semiannual; cycle 'Apr - Sept / Oct - Mar' for Full-Service Restaurant, Limited Service Restaurant, Cafeterias and Buffets, and Snack and Non-Alcoholic Beverage Bars (Food Services - Restaurants & Other, 072-101)2026-09-25
Sidewalk Vendor Business License (food and beverage carts and stands on public sidewalks)only if it applies to youClark County Department of Business License$150 per year, plus a one-time $45.00 non-refundable application feeannual 'May - April' (072-230, Regulated)2026-09-25
Grease Interceptor (FOGG) Plan Approval and Annual Inspection — Clark County Water Reclamation Districtonly if it applies to youClark County Water Reclamation DistrictEffective July 1, 2026: $125.00 per interceptor per year, annual District functionality inspection (Service Rules §1.3.20(a)). Each additional interceptor on the same parcel: $75.00 (§1.3.20(b)). Any subsequent inspection on the same parcel within a 12-month period: $125.00. Hydromechanical FOGG interceptor waiver application fee: $1,000.00, one-time.annual inspection2026-09-25
Southern Nevada Health District Food Establishment Health Permit (restaurant, snack bar, coffee shop, take-out)Southern Nevada Health DistrictAnnual permit (fiscal year July 1-June 30, not prorated): a fixed fee of $290.00 plus a per-unit charge of $3.72, for Restaurant, Restaurant/Take Out, Snack Bar, Main Kitchen, Barbeque, Drinking Establishment and Beer Bar categories. SNHD's published fee schedule does not define what a 'unit' is anywhere in the schedule itself, in the food regulations, or in any public notice examined — confirm the billing basis with SNHD Environmental Health, (702) 759-1110, before estimating a total. Restaurants with drive-up windows instead pay a $382.00 fixed fee (one window) or $472.00 (two windows), plus the same $3.72 unit rate. A food plan review for new construction or remodel costs $547.00 fixed plus $3.25 per unit.annual fiscal year (July 1-June 30), not prorated2026-09-25
Food Handler Safety Training CardSouthern Nevada Health District$25 for a new card or an on-time renewal; a lapsed renewal is $403 years2026-09-04
Food Establishment PermitSouthern Nevada Health District$290–$1,334 a year, set by whichever of three regulators covers the addressannual2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Clark County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire Prevention Permits — operational permits (places of assembly, open flames/candles in dining areas, hood suppression, mobile food preparation vehicles, tents, spray booths) and fire protection system construction permitsonly if it applies to youClark County Fire Prevention (Department of Building & Fire Prevention)Varies — formula on the Clark County pageoperational permits renew annually (§108.2.3); construction permits lapse if work does not commence within 180 days (§105.3.1)2026-09-25
Zoning Confirmation Letteronly if it applies to youClark County Department of Comprehensive PlanningVaries — formula on the Clark County pageone-time2026-09-25
Certificate of Occupancy (and Temporary / Partial Certificate)Clark County Department of Building & Fire Prevention, Building DivisionNo fee — no separate fee for the final certificate of occupancy; a Temporary or Partial Certificate of Occupancy costs $125.00 per certificate (§22.02.370)one-time; no expiration once issued2026-09-25
Special Use Permit (Title 30), with Variance and Design Review as related land-use applicationsonly if it applies to youClark County Department of Comprehensive PlanningVaries — formula on the Clark County pageone-time, per application2026-09-25
Sign Construction Permit (and Title 30 sign approvals)only if it applies to youClark County Department of Building & Fire Prevention, Building DivisionVaries — formula on the Clark County pageper installation2026-09-25
Zoning Compliance / Business License Zoning Review (Comprehensive Planning)Clark County Department of Comprehensive Planning$25 Business License Review administrative fee; an optional stand-alone Zoning Compliance application costs $150.00 (10 working days) where zoning does not otherwise require a land-use applicationone-time, per business license application2026-09-25
Building Permit — tenant improvement / commercial alteration / new commercial construction (with plan review)only if it applies to youClark County Department of Building & Fire Prevention, Building DivisionVaries — formula on the Clark County pageper project; the permit expires if work is not commenced within 180 days (Code §22.02.320)2026-09-25

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

NV registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Annual Listonly if it applies to youNevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings DivisionVaries — formula on the NV pageannual, filed alongside the state business license renewal2026-09-04
Sales and Use Tax PermitNevada Department of Taxation$15 for each location, one timeno expiration — valid until suspended or revoked2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youNevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings DivisionVaries — formula on the NV pageperpetual, but an annual list and the state business license are both due every year2026-09-04
State Business LicenseNevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings Division$200 a year for most entity types; a corporation pays $500annual — due on the last day of the anniversary month the license was first filed2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youNevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings Division$225 $75 to file plus a $150 initial list, filed togetherperpetual, but an annual list and the state business license are both due every year2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Clark County?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 18 records listed for a coffee shop in Clark County, NV, 8 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 8 that always apply, 5 carry a flat fee, coming to $265.00. That is a floor, not a total. 11 of the 18 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Business License — Restaurant / Take-Out / Snack Bar / Coffee Shop (gross-revenue): Semiannual gross revenue -> semiannual fee under Clark County Code §6.12.995 (26 tiers: 25 bounded plus one open-ended row) — $0-$12,000 -> $25.00; $12,001-$18,000 -> $30.00; $18,001-$24,000 -> $42.00; $24,001-$30,000 -> $54.00; $30,001-$45,000 -> $66.00; $45,001-$90,000 -> $78.00; $90,001-$135,000 -> $90.00; $135,001-$180,000 -> $100.00; $180,001-$240,000 -> $120.00; $240,001-$300,000 -> $167.00; $300,001-$360,000 -> $200.00; $360,001-$420,000 -> $230.00; $420,001-$480,000 -> $270.00; $480,001-$540,000 -> $300.00; $540,001-$600,000 -> $350.00; $600,001-$660,000 -> $370.00; $660,001-$720,000 -> $400.00; $720,001-$780,000 -> $440.00; $780,001-$840,000 -> $470.00; $840,001-$900,000 -> $500.00; $900,001-$960,000 -> $540.00; $960,001-$1,020,000 -> $570.00; $1,020,001-$1,080,000 -> $600.00; $1,080,001-$1,140,000 -> $640.00; $1,140,001-$1,200,000 -> $670.00; $1,200,001 and over -> 0.05555%. The Code does not state the base of that final 0.05555% rate; 0.05555% of $1,200,000 is $666.60, close to the $670 top tier, which suggests it applies to total semiannual gross rather than only the excess above $1,200,000 — confirm the base with the Department of Business License, (702) 455-0174. Plus a one-time $45.00 non-refundable application processing fee (Code §6.08.030).

Grease Interceptor (FOGG) Plan Approval and Annual Inspection — Clark County Water Reclamation District: Effective July 1, 2026: $125.00 per interceptor per year, annual District functionality inspection (Service Rules §1.3.20(a)). Each additional interceptor on the same parcel: $75.00 (§1.3.20(b)). Any subsequent inspection on the same parcel within a 12-month period: $125.00. Hydromechanical FOGG interceptor waiver application fee: $1,000.00, one-time.

Southern Nevada Health District Food Establishment Health Permit (restaurant, snack bar, coffee shop, take-out): Annual permit (fiscal year July 1-June 30, not prorated): a fixed fee of $290.00 plus a per-unit charge of $3.72, for Restaurant, Restaurant/Take Out, Snack Bar, Main Kitchen, Barbeque, Drinking Establishment and Beer Bar categories. SNHD's published fee schedule does not define what a 'unit' is anywhere in the schedule itself, in the food regulations, or in any public notice examined — confirm the billing basis with SNHD Environmental Health, (702) 759-1110, before estimating a total. Restaurants with drive-up windows instead pay a $382.00 fixed fee (one window) or $472.00 (two windows), plus the same $3.72 unit rate. A food plan review for new construction or remodel costs $547.00 fixed plus $3.25 per unit.

Food Establishment Permit: $290–$1,334 a year, set by whichever of three regulators covers the address

The other 7 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Clark County permits page and the NV state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Clark County?

Permits for a coffee shop in Clark County, NV come from 8 separate offices: Clark County Fire Prevention (Department of Building & Fire Prevention), Clark County Department of Comprehensive Planning, Clark County Department of Building & Fire Prevention, Building Division, Clark County Department of Business License, Clark County Water Reclamation District, Southern Nevada Health District, Nevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings Division, Nevada Department of Taxation. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a coffee shop need in Clark County that other businesses do not?

1 of the 6 permits particular to a coffee shop here applies to no other business type we cover in Clark County: Sidewalk Vendor Business License (food and beverage carts and stands on public sidewalks).

Business License — Restaurant / Take-Out / Snack Bar / Coffee Shop (gross-revenue)

Required for any restaurant, take-out restaurant, snack or coffee bar, or ice cream/yogurt shop in the unincorporated area (Code §6.04.010), priced semiannually on the gross-revenue tier table at §6.12.995. §6.12.873, §6.12.942 and §6.12.596 each say their fee 'shall be determined by the amount of semiannual gross revenue as contained in the schedule of Section 6.12.995,' but §6.12.874 (Restaurant Category 2, the 12-seat-minimum category) states only a seating threshold and no fee sentence at all — a Category 2 restaurant, and a coffee shop filed as a 'Snack and Non-Alcoholic Beverage Bar,' price off the County's own category list rather than that section, and both still land on the §6.12.995 table. A one-time $45 non-refundable application fee applies (Code §6.08.030), and §6.08.070 lets an applicant who files at least one month into the semiannual cycle prorate that fee monthly rather than pay the full half-year rate. Late renewals carry a 10% penalty after 15 days and 20% after 30 days, and a license unpaid at 60 days is deemed revoked (Code §6.04.060(a)); operating before licensure adds a 50% penalty (§6.04.060(c)). Under Code §6.04.110(a), a license issues or renews only once the Southern Nevada Health District permit and Comprehensive Planning, Fire, Air Quality and Animal Protection Services approvals are on file, and §9.20.010 separately holds a new business's license pending the health permit. Selling alcohol needs the separate County liquor license, listed as its own Clark County record. Alcohol may not be sold or served through a drive-thru or walk-up window (Code §8.20.312); the Board may, for good cause, approve such a window for food service only in conjunction with the liquor license (§8.20.313(b)) — it is a conditional path, not an outright ban on a windowed restaurant holding one. Apply online, by appointment or by mail; ask the Department of Business License at (702) 455-0174.

Sidewalk Vendor Business License (food and beverage carts and stands on public sidewalks)

Applies only to a vendor who 'sells food or beverages upon a public sidewalk or pedestrian path' from a pushcart, stand, display, wagon or rack (§7.200.020.190), stationary or roaming — not to a motorised food truck. Sidewalk vending is a distinct chapter from mobile food vending: §7.200.030 states this chapter 'does not apply to a person, business or vehicle ... operating pursuant to ... Chapter 6.130,' the mobile food vendor chapter (a separate record), so the two licenses are mutually exclusive and this record is not tagged as a food-truck requirement. §7.200.120 sets the fee at $150 a year, matching the Department's Regulated License Guide ('Sidewalk Vendor 722340 $45.00 $150.00 Annual'), plus the one-time $45 application fee. Every sidewalk vendor must also obtain and maintain a Southern Nevada Health District permit (§7.200.080(a)), and the business license is automatically revoked if that health permit is revoked (§7.200.080(b), citing NRS 446.883). §7.200.060 requires general-liability insurance of at least $250,000 per person, $500,000 per accident and $50,000 property damage, naming Clark County as an additional insured. Hours and location limits appear at §7.200.180-.190. Ask the Department of Business License at (702) 455-0174.

Food Handler Safety Training Card

Required of anyone employed in or operating a food establishment in Clark County, at $25 for a new card and the same $25 to renew on time, valid for three years — but renewing after the card has already lapsed, for up to two years past expiry, costs $40 because a $15 late fee is added on top. This programme is Southern Nevada's own; Washoe County runs a separate food handler programme through Northern Nevada Public Health, which also requires at least one certified food protection manager per establishment above the lowest risk tier. No rural-county food handler card policy is asserted here.

Food Establishment Permit

Food permitting splits three ways in Nevada, and the split moved in 2025. The Southern Nevada Health District covers Clark County — Las Vegas, Henderson, North Las Vegas and the rest — with a restaurant priced at a $290 fixed fee plus a further per-unit charge on top. Northern Nevada Public Health covers Washoe County on a risk-tiered schedule instead, running roughly $327 at the lowest risk level up to $1,334 at the highest. The remaining thirteen rural counties used to be licensed by the state health division; a 2025 act moved that authority to the Department of Agriculture effective 1 July 2025. No dollar figure for that department's own rural-county fee schedule is asserted here — anything naming the health division for a rural county predates that transfer and is now wrong.

Shared with other businesses in Clark County

  • Grease Interceptor (FOGG) Plan Approval and Annual Inspection — Clark County Water Reclamation District — Clark County Water Reclamation District, Effective July 1, 2026: $125.00 per interceptor per year, annual District functionality inspection (Service Rules §1.3.20(a)). Each additional interceptor on the same parcel: $75.00 (§1.3.20(b)). Any subsequent inspection on the same parcel within a 12-month period: $125.00. Hydromechanical FOGG interceptor waiver application fee: $1,000.00, one-time., annual inspection. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Southern Nevada Health District Food Establishment Health Permit (restaurant, snack bar, coffee shop, take-out) — Southern Nevada Health District, Annual permit (fiscal year July 1-June 30, not prorated): a fixed fee of $290.00 plus a per-unit charge of $3.72, for Restaurant, Restaurant/Take Out, Snack Bar, Main Kitchen, Barbeque, Drinking Establishment and Beer Bar categories. SNHD's published fee schedule does not define what a 'unit' is anywhere in the schedule itself, in the food regulations, or in any public notice examined — confirm the billing basis with SNHD Environmental Health, (702) 759-1110, before estimating a total. Restaurants with drive-up windows instead pay a $382.00 fixed fee (one window) or $472.00 (two windows), plus the same $3.72 unit rate. A food plan review for new construction or remodel costs $547.00 fixed plus $3.25 per unit., annual fiscal year (July 1-June 30), not prorated. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Clark County, NV; what each one involves is set out on the Clark County permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across NV and are covered on the NV state page.

How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Clark County?

The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 5 of these permits. A coffee shop also needs Sidewalk Vendor Business License (food and beverage carts and stands on public sidewalks). A restaurant needs Retail Liquor License (restaurant, retail store) — Liquor & Gaming (privileged), which a coffee shop does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Clark County, NV, compared with a coffee shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a coffee shopOnly a coffee shop needsOnly it needs
Restaurants6511
Food trucks5332
Auto repair shops3063
Childcare centres3063
Contractors and trades3063
Fitness studios1061
Retail stores2062
Salons and barbers2062
Veterinary clinics2062

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Clark County permits page and the NV state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Clark County Code (Municode job 495815, 'Supplement 149' — codified through Ordinance No. 5387, enacted June 3, 2026, MaxTrackingDate 2026-08-25) — Titles 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 and 22Clark County / Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
  2. Comprehensive List of License Categories and Fees (By Category), rev. 09.2024, 65 pp. — confirmed byte-identical to the live copy on 2026-09-25Clark County Department of Business License · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
  3. Business License Fees page — states the $45.00 non-refundable application fee charged with every applicationClark County Department of Business License · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
  4. Step-By-Step Guide to Apply for a General Business License — states that Clark County comprises six licensing jurisdictions and that a Las Vegas mailing address may still be unincorporated Clark CountyClark County Department of Business License · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
  5. Regulated License Guide — the Department's own current fee table for regulated licenses, including 'Mobile Food Vendor 722330 $45.00 $25.00 (Gross Revenue) Semi-Annual' and 'Sidewalk Vendor 722340 $45.00 $150.00 Annual'Clark County Department of Business License · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
  6. Southern Nevada Health District — food handler safety training card programmeSouthern Nevada Health District · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  7. Southern Nevada Health District — environmental health fee schedule, effective 1 July 2026Southern Nevada Health District · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  8. Northern Nevada Public Health — environmental health services fee schedule, FY 2026-27Northern Nevada Public Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.