Commercial Compliance Hub

15 permits · verified 2026-09-25

What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Clark County?

In short

A auto repair shop in Clark County, NV has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Clark County Department of Building & Fire Prevention, Building Division charges No fee — no separate fee for the final certificate of occupancy; a Temporary or Partial Certificate of Occupancy costs $125.00 per certificate (§22.02.370) for the certificate of occupancy (and temporary / partial certificate). 9 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Clark County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Air Quality Permit — Commercial Surface Coating Operation (auto body paint / spray booth)only if it applies to youClark County Department of Environment and Sustainability, Division of Air QualityA new permit is several separate charges, not one: Operating Permit issuance fee $191.00, one-time (§18.1.1). NSR (New Source Review) application filing fee $484.00 (§18.4.1). NSR review fee $87.00 per ton of the source's annual potential to emit, plus $346.00 per emission unit (§18.4.3.1-.2). Annual emissions unit fee for each commercial surface coating operation, including spray booths — or, where a booth is not used, the coating process itself, such as a spray gun or dip tank — $537.00 per calendar year (§18.2.10). A separate baseline annual permit renewal fee of $95.00 per stationary source (§18.2.13.4), and a separate annual emissions fee of $55.00 per ton of regulated pollutant emitted, excluding carbon monoxide (§18.2). All Section 18 fees are adjusted each January 20 according to the CPI-U (§18.21).the $537 emissions-unit fee and related renewal charges are assessed each calendar year2026-09-25
Business License — Auto Repair Facility (also Auto Body & Paint; Auto Wash/Detailing)Clark County Department of Business LicenseRepair facility and body/paint shop (§6.12.150, §6.12.160): Semiannual gross revenue -> semiannual fee under Clark County Code §6.12.995 (26 tiers: 25 bounded plus one open-ended row) — $0-$12,000 -> $25.00; $12,001-$18,000 -> $30.00; $18,001-$24,000 -> $42.00; $24,001-$30,000 -> $54.00; $30,001-$45,000 -> $66.00; $45,001-$90,000 -> $78.00; $90,001-$135,000 -> $90.00; $135,001-$180,000 -> $100.00; $180,001-$240,000 -> $120.00; $240,001-$300,000 -> $167.00; $300,001-$360,000 -> $200.00; $360,001-$420,000 -> $230.00; $420,001-$480,000 -> $270.00; $480,001-$540,000 -> $300.00; $540,001-$600,000 -> $350.00; $600,001-$660,000 -> $370.00; $660,001-$720,000 -> $400.00; $720,001-$780,000 -> $440.00; $780,001-$840,000 -> $470.00; $840,001-$900,000 -> $500.00; $900,001-$960,000 -> $540.00; $960,001-$1,020,000 -> $570.00; $1,020,001-$1,080,000 -> $600.00; $1,080,001-$1,140,000 -> $640.00; $1,140,001-$1,200,000 -> $670.00; $1,200,001 and over -> 0.05555%. The Code does not state the base of that final 0.05555% rate; 0.05555% of $1,200,000 is $666.60, close to the $670 top tier, which suggests it applies to total semiannual gross rather than only the excess above $1,200,000 — confirm the base with the Department of Business License, (702) 455-0174. Auto wash/detailing (§6.12.155): $150.00 annually per business. All categories also pay the one-time $45.00 application fee.repair and body/paint: semiannual 'June - Nov / Dec - May' (Repair & Maintenance, 081-101); wash/detailing: annual 'Dec - Jan'2026-09-25
Auto Body Shop LicenseNevada Department of Motor Vehicles, Occupational and Business Licensing$300 to open, plus $39 per principal for fingerprint processingannual2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Clark County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire Prevention Permits — operational permits (places of assembly, open flames/candles in dining areas, hood suppression, mobile food preparation vehicles, tents, spray booths) and fire protection system construction permitsonly if it applies to youClark County Fire Prevention (Department of Building & Fire Prevention)Varies — formula on the Clark County pageoperational permits renew annually (§108.2.3); construction permits lapse if work does not commence within 180 days (§105.3.1)2026-09-25
Zoning Confirmation Letteronly if it applies to youClark County Department of Comprehensive PlanningVaries — formula on the Clark County pageone-time2026-09-25
Certificate of Occupancy (and Temporary / Partial Certificate)Clark County Department of Building & Fire Prevention, Building DivisionNo fee — no separate fee for the final certificate of occupancy; a Temporary or Partial Certificate of Occupancy costs $125.00 per certificate (§22.02.370)one-time; no expiration once issued2026-09-25
Special Use Permit (Title 30), with Variance and Design Review as related land-use applicationsonly if it applies to youClark County Department of Comprehensive PlanningVaries — formula on the Clark County pageone-time, per application2026-09-25
Sign Construction Permit (and Title 30 sign approvals)only if it applies to youClark County Department of Building & Fire Prevention, Building DivisionVaries — formula on the Clark County pageper installation2026-09-25
Zoning Compliance / Business License Zoning Review (Comprehensive Planning)Clark County Department of Comprehensive Planning$25 Business License Review administrative fee; an optional stand-alone Zoning Compliance application costs $150.00 (10 working days) where zoning does not otherwise require a land-use applicationone-time, per business license application2026-09-25
Building Permit — tenant improvement / commercial alteration / new commercial construction (with plan review)only if it applies to youClark County Department of Building & Fire Prevention, Building DivisionVaries — formula on the Clark County pageper project; the permit expires if work is not commenced within 180 days (Code §22.02.320)2026-09-25

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

NV registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Annual Listonly if it applies to youNevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings DivisionVaries — formula on the NV pageannual, filed alongside the state business license renewal2026-09-04
Sales and Use Tax PermitNevada Department of Taxation$15 for each location, one timeno expiration — valid until suspended or revoked2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youNevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings DivisionVaries — formula on the NV pageperpetual, but an annual list and the state business license are both due every year2026-09-04
State Business LicenseNevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings Division$200 a year for most entity types; a corporation pays $500annual — due on the last day of the anniversary month the license was first filed2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youNevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings Division$225 $75 to file plus a $150 initial list, filed togetherperpetual, but an annual list and the state business license are both due every year2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Clark County?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a auto repair shop in Clark County, NV, 6 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 6 that always apply, 5 carry a flat fee, coming to $540.00. That is a floor, not a total. 9 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Air Quality Permit — Commercial Surface Coating Operation (auto body paint / spray booth): A new permit is several separate charges, not one: Operating Permit issuance fee $191.00, one-time (§18.1.1). NSR (New Source Review) application filing fee $484.00 (§18.4.1). NSR review fee $87.00 per ton of the source's annual potential to emit, plus $346.00 per emission unit (§18.4.3.1-.2). Annual emissions unit fee for each commercial surface coating operation, including spray booths — or, where a booth is not used, the coating process itself, such as a spray gun or dip tank — $537.00 per calendar year (§18.2.10). A separate baseline annual permit renewal fee of $95.00 per stationary source (§18.2.13.4), and a separate annual emissions fee of $55.00 per ton of regulated pollutant emitted, excluding carbon monoxide (§18.2). All Section 18 fees are adjusted each January 20 according to the CPI-U (§18.21).

Business License — Auto Repair Facility (also Auto Body & Paint; Auto Wash/Detailing): Repair facility and body/paint shop (§6.12.150, §6.12.160): Semiannual gross revenue -> semiannual fee under Clark County Code §6.12.995 (26 tiers: 25 bounded plus one open-ended row) — $0-$12,000 -> $25.00; $12,001-$18,000 -> $30.00; $18,001-$24,000 -> $42.00; $24,001-$30,000 -> $54.00; $30,001-$45,000 -> $66.00; $45,001-$90,000 -> $78.00; $90,001-$135,000 -> $90.00; $135,001-$180,000 -> $100.00; $180,001-$240,000 -> $120.00; $240,001-$300,000 -> $167.00; $300,001-$360,000 -> $200.00; $360,001-$420,000 -> $230.00; $420,001-$480,000 -> $270.00; $480,001-$540,000 -> $300.00; $540,001-$600,000 -> $350.00; $600,001-$660,000 -> $370.00; $660,001-$720,000 -> $400.00; $720,001-$780,000 -> $440.00; $780,001-$840,000 -> $470.00; $840,001-$900,000 -> $500.00; $900,001-$960,000 -> $540.00; $960,001-$1,020,000 -> $570.00; $1,020,001-$1,080,000 -> $600.00; $1,080,001-$1,140,000 -> $640.00; $1,140,001-$1,200,000 -> $670.00; $1,200,001 and over -> 0.05555%. The Code does not state the base of that final 0.05555% rate; 0.05555% of $1,200,000 is $666.60, close to the $670 top tier, which suggests it applies to total semiannual gross rather than only the excess above $1,200,000 — confirm the base with the Department of Business License, (702) 455-0174. Auto wash/detailing (§6.12.155): $150.00 annually per business. All categories also pay the one-time $45.00 application fee.

The other 7 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Clark County permits page and the NV state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Clark County?

Permits for a auto repair shop in Clark County, NV come from 8 separate offices: Clark County Fire Prevention (Department of Building & Fire Prevention), Clark County Department of Environment and Sustainability, Division of Air Quality, Clark County Department of Comprehensive Planning, Clark County Department of Building & Fire Prevention, Building Division, Clark County Department of Business License, Nevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings Division, Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles, Occupational and Business Licensing, Nevada Department of Taxation. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a auto repair shop need in Clark County that other businesses do not?

3 of the 3 permits particular to a auto repair shop here apply to no other business type we cover in Clark County: Air Quality Permit — Commercial Surface Coating Operation (auto body paint / spray booth), Business License — Auto Repair Facility (also Auto Body & Paint; Auto Wash/Detailing) and Auto Body Shop License.

Air Quality Permit — Commercial Surface Coating Operation (auto body paint / spray booth)

An auto body or paint shop with a spray booth or other commercial surface-coating operation needs a Division of Air Quality stationary-source permit, and $537 is only one piece of what it costs, not the whole cost: that figure is the annual emissions unit fee under §18.2.10, charged per calendar year for each coating operation. A new permit separately requires a $191 Operating Permit issuance fee, a $484 New Source Review application fee, an NSR review charge of $87 per ton of the source's potential to emit plus $346 per emission unit, a $95 baseline annual renewal fee, and its own separate annual emissions fee of $55 per ton of regulated pollutant (excluding carbon monoxide) — six distinct charges under Section 18 of the Air Quality Regulations, revised February 12, 2026, all adjusted every January 20 by the CPI-U. Whether a given auto-body shop's paint operation actually crosses the threshold that requires a stationary-source permit at all is a question Section 12 of the Air Quality Regulations governs and was not part of this review; ask the Division of Air Quality, (702) 455-5942, 4701 W. Russell Road, Suite 200, Las Vegas, NV 89118, to determine whether a specific shop needs this permit before assuming it does. The Department of Business License collects Air Quality's approval before issuing the auto body license (Code §6.04.110(a)).

Business License — Auto Repair Facility (also Auto Body & Paint; Auto Wash/Detailing)

An automotive repair or maintenance business (excluding body and paint) prices on the §6.12.995 gross-revenue table under §6.12.150; a body/paint shop prices the same way under §6.12.160 but must first hold its Nevada NRS Chapter 487 body-shop license, since Code §6.04.105 blocks a county license from issuing until every required state license, certificate or permit is in hand. A body/paint shop with a spray booth also needs the Division of Air Quality's commercial surface-coating permit, listed as a separate Clark County record. Auto wash and detailing operations, whether stationary or mobile, instead pay a flat $150 a year per business under §6.12.155. Only mobile auto wash and detailing units carry a signage duty: §6.12.155 requires 'each person engaged in auto wash detail from a mobile vehicle' to post the license number, business name and phone number on the rear bumper of each vehicle to the right of the license plate — a stationary, fixed-location car wash carries no such rear-bumper requirement. Zoning, Fire and Air Quality sign-offs are collected by the Department of Business License before any of these licenses issues (Code §6.04.110(a)). Every category also pays the one-time $45 application fee. Ask the Department of Business License at (702) 455-0174.

Auto Body Shop License

Nevada genuinely licenses auto body and collision repair shops through the DMV's occupational and business licensing arm, alongside dealers and wreckers from the same office — this is not a state where repair work goes unlicensed. Three hundred dollars for the license itself, $39 for fingerprint processing on every principal named on the application, and a $10,000 surety bond or cash deposit in lieu of one before the shop can open. The license renews every year.

The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Clark County, NV; what each one involves is set out on the Clark County permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across NV and are covered on the NV state page.

How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Clark County?

The closest match is a childcare centre, which shares 0 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs Air Quality Permit — Commercial Surface Coating Operation (auto body paint / spray booth), Business License — Auto Repair Facility (also Auto Body & Paint; Auto Wash/Detailing) and Auto Body Shop License. A childcare centre needs Childcare / Daycare / Preschool Licensing — Clark County Position, Southern Nevada Health District Child Care Facility Health Permit and Child Care License, which a auto repair shop does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Clark County, NV, compared with a auto repair shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a auto repair shopOnly a auto repair shop needsOnly it needs
Childcare centres3033
Coffee shops6036
Contractors and trades3033
Fitness studios1031
Food trucks5035
Restaurants6036
Retail stores2032
Salons and barbers2032
Veterinary clinics2032

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Clark County permits page and the NV state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Clark County Air Quality Regulations, Section 18, Fees (Revised 02-12-2026) — the current edition per the Division's own fees pageClark County Department of Environment and Sustainability, Division of Air Quality · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
  2. Clark County Code (Municode job 495815, 'Supplement 149' — codified through Ordinance No. 5387, enacted June 3, 2026, MaxTrackingDate 2026-08-25) — Titles 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 and 22Clark County / Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
  3. Comprehensive List of License Categories and Fees (By Category), rev. 09.2024, 65 pp. — confirmed byte-identical to the live copy on 2026-09-25Clark County Department of Business License · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
  4. Nevada DMV form OBL246 — body shop licensing requirements, fee and bondNevada Department of Motor Vehicles · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.