Commercial Compliance Hub

13 permits · verified 2026-09-25

What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Clark County?

In short

A fitness studio in Clark County, NV has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Clark County Department of Building & Fire Prevention, Building Division charges No fee — no separate fee for the final certificate of occupancy; a Temporary or Partial Certificate of Occupancy costs $125.00 per certificate (§22.02.370) for the certificate of occupancy (and temporary / partial certificate). 8 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a fitness studio in Clark County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Business License — Health & Fitness Center; Fitness Trainer; Martial Arts; Dance StudioClark County Department of Business LicenseHealth and fitness center (Code §6.12.575): Semiannual gross revenue -> semiannual fee under Clark County Code §6.12.995 (26 tiers: 25 bounded plus one open-ended row) — $0-$12,000 -> $25.00; $12,001-$18,000 -> $30.00; $18,001-$24,000 -> $42.00; $24,001-$30,000 -> $54.00; $30,001-$45,000 -> $66.00; $45,001-$90,000 -> $78.00; $90,001-$135,000 -> $90.00; $135,001-$180,000 -> $100.00; $180,001-$240,000 -> $120.00; $240,001-$300,000 -> $167.00; $300,001-$360,000 -> $200.00; $360,001-$420,000 -> $230.00; $420,001-$480,000 -> $270.00; $480,001-$540,000 -> $300.00; $540,001-$600,000 -> $350.00; $600,001-$660,000 -> $370.00; $660,001-$720,000 -> $400.00; $720,001-$780,000 -> $440.00; $780,001-$840,000 -> $470.00; $840,001-$900,000 -> $500.00; $900,001-$960,000 -> $540.00; $960,001-$1,020,000 -> $570.00; $1,020,001-$1,080,000 -> $600.00; $1,080,001-$1,140,000 -> $640.00; $1,140,001-$1,200,000 -> $670.00; $1,200,001 and over -> 0.05555%. The Code does not state the base of that final 0.05555% rate; 0.05555% of $1,200,000 is $666.60, close to the $670 top tier, which suggests it applies to total semiannual gross rather than only the excess above $1,200,000 — confirm the base with the Department of Business License, (702) 455-0174. Individual health/fitness trainer (§6.12.569): $200.00 annually. Martial arts instruction (§6.12.687): $150.00 annually, plus a Chapter 6.10 work card for the instructor. Commercial dance instruction (§6.12.405): $150.00 annually. A studio that is really a sports-training school (gymnastics, cheerleading, swim instruction, sports camps) instead pays the $250.00 annual Educational Institution license under §6.12.462. All categories also pay the one-time $45.00 application fee.health/fitness centers: semiannual, 'May - Oct / Nov - Apr' (Arts, Entertainment, Recreation - Group 1, 071-101); trainers: annual 'Mar - Feb' (081-123); martial arts and dance studios: annual 'Nov - Oct' (061-120)2026-09-25

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Clark County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire Prevention Permits — operational permits (places of assembly, open flames/candles in dining areas, hood suppression, mobile food preparation vehicles, tents, spray booths) and fire protection system construction permitsonly if it applies to youClark County Fire Prevention (Department of Building & Fire Prevention)Varies — formula on the Clark County pageoperational permits renew annually (§108.2.3); construction permits lapse if work does not commence within 180 days (§105.3.1)2026-09-25
Zoning Confirmation Letteronly if it applies to youClark County Department of Comprehensive PlanningVaries — formula on the Clark County pageone-time2026-09-25
Certificate of Occupancy (and Temporary / Partial Certificate)Clark County Department of Building & Fire Prevention, Building DivisionNo fee — no separate fee for the final certificate of occupancy; a Temporary or Partial Certificate of Occupancy costs $125.00 per certificate (§22.02.370)one-time; no expiration once issued2026-09-25
Special Use Permit (Title 30), with Variance and Design Review as related land-use applicationsonly if it applies to youClark County Department of Comprehensive PlanningVaries — formula on the Clark County pageone-time, per application2026-09-25
Sign Construction Permit (and Title 30 sign approvals)only if it applies to youClark County Department of Building & Fire Prevention, Building DivisionVaries — formula on the Clark County pageper installation2026-09-25
Zoning Compliance / Business License Zoning Review (Comprehensive Planning)Clark County Department of Comprehensive Planning$25 Business License Review administrative fee; an optional stand-alone Zoning Compliance application costs $150.00 (10 working days) where zoning does not otherwise require a land-use applicationone-time, per business license application2026-09-25
Building Permit — tenant improvement / commercial alteration / new commercial construction (with plan review)only if it applies to youClark County Department of Building & Fire Prevention, Building DivisionVaries — formula on the Clark County pageper project; the permit expires if work is not commenced within 180 days (Code §22.02.320)2026-09-25

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

NV registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Annual Listonly if it applies to youNevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings DivisionVaries — formula on the NV pageannual, filed alongside the state business license renewal2026-09-04
Sales and Use Tax PermitNevada Department of Taxation$15 for each location, one timeno expiration — valid until suspended or revoked2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youNevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings DivisionVaries — formula on the NV pageperpetual, but an annual list and the state business license are both due every year2026-09-04
State Business LicenseNevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings Division$200 a year for most entity types; a corporation pays $500annual — due on the last day of the anniversary month the license was first filed2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youNevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings Division$225 $75 to file plus a $150 initial list, filed togetherperpetual, but an annual list and the state business license are both due every year2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in Clark County?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a fitness studio in Clark County, NV, 5 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 5 that always apply, 4 carry a flat fee, coming to $240.00. That is a floor, not a total. 8 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Business License — Health & Fitness Center; Fitness Trainer; Martial Arts; Dance Studio: Health and fitness center (Code §6.12.575): Semiannual gross revenue -> semiannual fee under Clark County Code §6.12.995 (26 tiers: 25 bounded plus one open-ended row) — $0-$12,000 -> $25.00; $12,001-$18,000 -> $30.00; $18,001-$24,000 -> $42.00; $24,001-$30,000 -> $54.00; $30,001-$45,000 -> $66.00; $45,001-$90,000 -> $78.00; $90,001-$135,000 -> $90.00; $135,001-$180,000 -> $100.00; $180,001-$240,000 -> $120.00; $240,001-$300,000 -> $167.00; $300,001-$360,000 -> $200.00; $360,001-$420,000 -> $230.00; $420,001-$480,000 -> $270.00; $480,001-$540,000 -> $300.00; $540,001-$600,000 -> $350.00; $600,001-$660,000 -> $370.00; $660,001-$720,000 -> $400.00; $720,001-$780,000 -> $440.00; $780,001-$840,000 -> $470.00; $840,001-$900,000 -> $500.00; $900,001-$960,000 -> $540.00; $960,001-$1,020,000 -> $570.00; $1,020,001-$1,080,000 -> $600.00; $1,080,001-$1,140,000 -> $640.00; $1,140,001-$1,200,000 -> $670.00; $1,200,001 and over -> 0.05555%. The Code does not state the base of that final 0.05555% rate; 0.05555% of $1,200,000 is $666.60, close to the $670 top tier, which suggests it applies to total semiannual gross rather than only the excess above $1,200,000 — confirm the base with the Department of Business License, (702) 455-0174. Individual health/fitness trainer (§6.12.569): $200.00 annually. Martial arts instruction (§6.12.687): $150.00 annually, plus a Chapter 6.10 work card for the instructor. Commercial dance instruction (§6.12.405): $150.00 annually. A studio that is really a sports-training school (gymnastics, cheerleading, swim instruction, sports camps) instead pays the $250.00 annual Educational Institution license under §6.12.462. All categories also pay the one-time $45.00 application fee.

The other 7 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Clark County permits page and the NV state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Clark County?

Permits for a fitness studio in Clark County, NV come from 6 separate offices: Clark County Fire Prevention (Department of Building & Fire Prevention), Clark County Department of Business License, Clark County Department of Comprehensive Planning, Clark County Department of Building & Fire Prevention, Building Division, Nevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings Division, Nevada Department of Taxation. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a fitness studio need in Clark County that other businesses do not?

1 of the 1 permit particular to a fitness studio here applies to no other business type we cover in Clark County: Business License — Health & Fitness Center; Fitness Trainer; Martial Arts; Dance Studio.

Business License — Health & Fitness Center; Fitness Trainer; Martial Arts; Dance Studio

A gym, yoga or pilates studio, or other fitness studio in the unincorporated area pays a semiannual 'health and fitness center master license' on the same §6.12.995 gross-revenue table used by restaurants and retail; §6.12.575 adds that the license 'may also provide refreshments, food, and retail sales, but does not include privileged or regulated activities' such as amusement machines or tobacco permits, and that a leaseholder operating inside the centre needs its own separate license. Trainers who coach independently inside the studio may each need the $200 annual health/fitness trainer license (§6.12.569). Martial-arts schools pay $150 a year and every instructor needs a Chapter 6.10 work identification card, priced by the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department rather than the Code; dance studios pay $150 a year. A studio built around sports training rather than fitness membership — gymnastics, cheerleading or swim instruction, sports camps — is its own County category, 'Sports Training (Except Martial Arts),' priced as a $250 annual Educational Institution license under §6.12.462 rather than on gross revenue, so a mixed business should confirm which category it actually falls under. Massage, reflexology and pool operations fall under other chapters (Chapter 7.08 massage; Southern Nevada Health District pool/spa permits). Every category also pays the one-time $45 application fee. Ask the Department of Business License at (702) 455-0174 which category fits a mixed studio.

The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Clark County, NV; what each one involves is set out on the Clark County permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across NV and are covered on the NV state page.

How does a fitness studio compare with other businesses in Clark County?

The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A fitness studio also needs Business License — Health & Fitness Center; Fitness Trainer; Martial Arts; Dance Studio. A auto repair shop needs Air Quality Permit — Commercial Surface Coating Operation (auto body paint / spray booth), Business License — Auto Repair Facility (also Auto Body & Paint; Auto Wash/Detailing) and Auto Body Shop License, which a fitness studio does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Clark County, NV, compared with a fitness studio
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a fitness studioOnly a fitness studio needsOnly it needs
Auto repair shops3013
Childcare centres3013
Coffee shops6016
Contractors and trades3013
Food trucks5015
Restaurants6016
Retail stores2012
Salons and barbers2012
Veterinary clinics2012

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Clark County permits page and the NV state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Clark County Code (Municode job 495815, 'Supplement 149' — codified through Ordinance No. 5387, enacted June 3, 2026, MaxTrackingDate 2026-08-25) — Titles 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 and 22Clark County / Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
  2. Comprehensive List of License Categories and Fees (By Category), rev. 09.2024, 65 pp. — confirmed byte-identical to the live copy on 2026-09-25Clark County Department of Business License · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.