11 permits · verified 2026-09-10
What permits do you need to open a contractor or trade in Jackson?
In short
A contractor or trade in Jackson, MS has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division) charges $75 flat, per Occupancy Inspection/Business Inspection for the certificate of occupancy / occupancy inspection. 4 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-10 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
The permits at a glance
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business Privilege License | City of Jackson, Office of Economic Development, Business Licensing / Signs and License Division | $20/year for a business with three or fewer employees; $30/year for four to ten employees; for eleven or more employees, $30 plus $3 for each employee over ten, capped at a maximum of $150/year (a manufacturer of that size instead pays a flat $80/year) — the general schedule under Mississippi's own Local Privilege Tax Law, collected locally by the City of Jackson as the municipality's tax collector rather than set by city ordinance. | annual — renewed every year; the City's own FAQ does not state a specific renewal month | 2026-09-10 |
| Building Permit (Commercial) | City of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division) | Based on total project value: $50 flat for $1,000 or less; for $1,000-$49,999, $50 for the first $1,000 plus $6 per additional $1,000; for $50,000-$99,999, $500 for the first $50,000 plus $5 per additional $1,000; for $100,000-$499,999, $800 for the first $100,000 plus $4 per additional $1,000; for $500,000 and up, $2,500 for the first $500,000 plus $3 per additional $1,000. The identical table prices electrical, mechanical, plumbing and other trade permits. Plan review costs half of the calculated permit fee. | one-time, per project | 2026-09-10 |
| Certificate of Occupancy / Occupancy Inspection | City of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division) | $75 flat, per Occupancy Inspection/Business Inspection | one-time, per issuance | 2026-09-10 |
| Local Trade Licence (Journeyman/Master Electrician and related trades)only if it applies to you | City of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division) | $75 to renew an expired Journeyman trade licence; $100 to renew an expired Master trade licence, per the City's own Code Services fee schedule. The schedule does not separately publish what a first-time (non-renewal) Journeyman or Master application itself costs. | not stated — the published schedule only prices renewal after expiration | 2026-09-10 |
| Fire Prevention Inspection and Permits | Jackson Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office | No fee | not stated | 2026-09-10 |
| Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to you | Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division | $50 one-time filing | perpetual — an annual report is due every year, and for a Mississippi LLC that report is free | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division | $50 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report costing $25 is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business Licence (not required by Mississippi)only if it applies to you | Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division | No fee | set by the city or town | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division | $0 for a domestic LLC; $25 for a corporation, domestic or foreign | annual — due 15 April; a nonprofit's version is due 15 May | 2026-09-04 |
| Commercial Certificate of Responsibilityonly if it applies to you | Mississippi State Board of Contractors | $800 for a first classification in the first year — a $400 application plus a $200 special privilege tax and a $200 construction education fund fee | annual — every certificate expires one year from the date of issuance | 2026-09-04 |
| Residential Builder or Remodeler Licenceonly if it applies to you | Mississippi State Board of Contractors | $50 to apply; renewal is $100 | annual — expires on the last day of the twelfth month after issuance or renewal | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a contractor or trade in Jackson?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a contractor or trade in Jackson, MS, 4 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 4 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $75.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones that vary:
Business Privilege License: $20/year for a business with three or fewer employees; $30/year for four to ten employees; for eleven or more employees, $30 plus $3 for each employee over ten, capped at a maximum of $150/year (a manufacturer of that size instead pays a flat $80/year) — the general schedule under Mississippi's own Local Privilege Tax Law, collected locally by the City of Jackson as the municipality's tax collector rather than set by city ordinance.
Building Permit (Commercial): Based on total project value: $50 flat for $1,000 or less; for $1,000-$49,999, $50 for the first $1,000 plus $6 per additional $1,000; for $50,000-$99,999, $500 for the first $50,000 plus $5 per additional $1,000; for $100,000-$499,999, $800 for the first $100,000 plus $4 per additional $1,000; for $500,000 and up, $2,500 for the first $500,000 plus $3 per additional $1,000. The identical table prices electrical, mechanical, plumbing and other trade permits. Plan review costs half of the calculated permit fee.
Local Trade Licence (Journeyman/Master Electrician and related trades): $75 to renew an expired Journeyman trade licence; $100 to renew an expired Master trade licence, per the City's own Code Services fee schedule. The schedule does not separately publish what a first-time (non-renewal) Journeyman or Master application itself costs.
Annual Report: $0 for a domestic LLC; $25 for a corporation, domestic or foreign
Which offices issue these permits in Jackson?
Permits for a contractor or trade in Jackson, MS come from 5 separate offices: City of Jackson, Office of Economic Development, Business Licensing / Signs and License Division, City of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division), Jackson Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division, Mississippi State Board of Contractors. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Jackson, Office of Economic Development, Business Licensing / Signs and License DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Business Privilege License200 S. President Street, Jackson, MS 39201 · (601) 960-1148jacksonms.gov/business/business-licenses
- City of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division)Issues 3 permits on this page: Building Permit (Commercial), Certificate of Occupancy / Occupancy Inspection, Local Trade Licence (Journeyman/Master Electrician and related trades)219 S. President Street, Jackson, MS 39201 · (601) 960-0794jacksonms.gov/government/city-departments/planning-and-development/office-of-code-services/building-permits
- Jackson Fire Department, Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Prevention Inspection and Permits555 S. West St., Jackson, MS 39201 · (601) 960-2018jacksonms.gov/government/city-departments/jackson-fire-department
- Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, General Business Licence (not required by Mississippi), Annual Report125 South Congress Street, Jackson, MS 39201 · (601) 359-1633www.sos.ms.gov/business-services-regulation
- Mississippi State Board of ContractorsIssues 2 permits on this page: Commercial Certificate of Responsibility, Residential Builder or Remodeler Licence2679 Crane Ridge Drive, Suite C, Jackson, MS 39216 · (601) 354-6161www.msboc.us
Is anything about these requirements changing?
The City's own FAQ states this plainly: anyone conducting business in Jackson must hold this licence, it must be paid before opening, and it is renewed annually. The Zoning Division must approve the business location during this same application — this project could not confirm any separate, standalone zoning-verification-letter product beyond that same check, so none is recorded separately here. Health Department inspection verification is required in the application for childcare providers and anyone preparing or serving food (the underlying credential is Mississippi's own state licence/permit, recorded at the state layer); Fire and FOG (Fats, Oils, Grease) inspections are required for certain business types before the licence issues, submitted through the City's OpenGov portal; and Police inspections apply to certain regulated trades (beer/wine service, pawnbrokers, and others). A 2025 bill, SB 3125, would have replaced this whole employee-count schedule with a flat $10 total privilege tax; it died in committee in February 2025, so the banded figures above remain current. No separate, additional salon-, fitness-, veterinary-, auto-repair-, contractor-, or childcare-specific municipal licence beyond this general privilege licence could be confirmed for any of these industries.
The same schedule also prices: return inspections at $30 (1st), $60 (2nd) and $90 (3rd); a Stop Work fee of $100; a Change of Contractors fee of $100; a Construction Adjustments Board of Appeals fee of $500; residential and commercial demolition at $200 each; a transfer letter at $25; a rental inspection at $60; and requests for temporary electrical power or gas service at $40-$50. The source PDF is filenamed "2020 Permit Fee Schedule," but it was still the version linked directly from the City's own Building Fee Schedule page as of this project's Internet Archive capture, with no newer edition found anywhere on the current site — that page itself has since been removed from the live site entirely, so it is cited here via archive rather than a live City URL.
Code Services' own fee schedule prices a single line item, "Occupancy Inspection/Business Inspection," at $75 flat — this is the same inspection the Business Privilege License FAQ refers to when it says certain business types must pass inspection before their licence is issued, rather than a separately priced construction-only certificate and a separately priced business-only inspection.
This is the genuine local layer Mississippi's own state layer predicts must exist: the state's Board of Contractors licenses only at the business/commercial-project level (and only once a project reaches $50,000), never an individual journeyman or master electrician — that credential is, in the state layer's own words, "a local matter." Independent third-party licensing guides describe Mississippi electrician licensing as administered "city-by-city," naming Jackson among the municipalities that run their own exam and licensing program, consistent with Code Services' own fee schedule pricing renewal of exactly these two credentials. A related $100 Change of Contractors fee and a $100 Stop Work fee appear on the same schedule and are recorded under the Commercial Building Permit record above rather than duplicated here.
The Business Privilege License FAQ states plainly that fire inspections are required before a licence can be issued, with applications and fees submitted through the City's OpenGov/online permitting portal — but neither the Fire Marshal's Office's own page nor that portal publicly lists the dollar figures actually charged anywhere this project could retrieve, so this fee is unpublished. Confirm the current rate directly with the Fire Marshal's Office (601-960-2018) before budgeting for it.
Fifty dollars, the same as a corporation. What sets the LLC apart is what comes after formation: its annual report costs nothing at all, a genuine difference from a corporation's ongoing $25 — see the annual report record.
The same $50 as an LLC, and the same figure for a nonprofit corporation too. Unlike an LLC, a corporation's annual report is not free — see that record.
No fee, and the Secretary of State's own guide to opening a Mississippi business makes the split explicit: its compliance roadmap places licences and permits entirely under the city or town column, while the state government column covers only filing the entity's formation documents. Every city and town runs its own registration procedure, so check locally rather than expecting a state-issued licence.
This is a genuinely free filing for a domestic LLC — the Secretary of State's own fee schedule prices it at zero, a real distinction from most states, where an LLC annual filing costs something even if modest. A foreign LLC pays $250 for the same obligation, which is a striking gap. A corporation, domestic or foreign, pays $25 either way, due on the same 15 April deadline. There is no separate monetary late fee for missing either report — the consequence is administrative dissolution outright, and reinstatement afterward costs $50 for a domestic LLC or corporation, or $100 for a foreign one.
This licence is required once a commercial project — public or private — reaches $50,000 in value, and its advertised $400 application fee is only part of the real cost. Two further statutory charges ride along with every application and every renewal: a $200 special privilege licence tax and a $200 construction education fund contribution, bringing the genuine first-year total to $800 for a single classification. Renewal is $400 again, plus the same two add-ons, with a $50 penalty for renewing late. An additional classification beyond the first costs a further $100. Electrical and mechanical work are not licensed by separate state trade boards here — they exist as classifications inside this same commercial licence, required only once a project crosses the $50,000 threshold; below that, or for individual journeyman and master-level credentials, licensing is a local matter.
Two different thresholds sit under one licence type. A residential builder needs this licence once new construction of a building up to three floors, for use as someone else's residence, exceeds $50,000. A remodeler needs it at a much lower bar — improvements to an existing residence exceeding just $10,000. Both pay the same fee, $50 to apply and $100 to renew, considerably cheaper than the commercial track above. A renewal filed within a hundred and eighty days of expiry is still possible, but carries a ten per cent penalty added to the fee rather than a flat late charge.
Sources
Every figure above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Mississippi Code § 27-17-9 — Local Privilege Tax Law, general employee-count privilege tax schedule and municipal tax-collector administrationState of Mississippi, republished by FindLaw · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- About Business Privilege Licenses & FAQs — "Anyone who conducts business in the City of Jackson must obtain a Business Privilege License" and "most fees are determined by either the number of employees or the amount of the inventory" (page removed from the live site since capture; retrieved via Internet Archive)City of Jackson, Mississippi · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Business Licenses — application process, required documents, and Business Licensing Division contact informationCity of Jackson, Mississippi · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Senate Bill 3125 (2025 Regular Session) bill history — disposition "Dead," "02/26 (S) Died In Committee," for the bill that would have set a flat $10 total local privilege tax and repealed section 27-17-365Mississippi Legislature · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Permit Fee Schedule — Code Services' own valuation-based Building and Trade Permit Fees table plus Other Permits & Fees (occupancy inspection, demolition, return inspections, trade licence renewals) (the live document host now returns 403/404; retrieved via Internet Archive, confirmed still the version linked from the City's own Building Fee Schedule page as of this capture)City of Jackson, Mississippi, Code Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Jackson Fire Department — Fire Marshal's Office services and its online permitting systemCity of Jackson, Mississippi · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Mississippi Secretary of State — business filing fee scheduleMississippi Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Mississippi Secretary of State — business welcome packet, placing licences and permits under city government rather than the stateMississippi Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Mississippi Secretary of State — annual reports, due dates and administrative dissolutionMississippi Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Mississippi Code sections 31-3-1, 31-3-13, 31-3-14 and 31-3-17 — commercial contractor licensing, the $50,000 threshold and its feesMississippi State Board of Contractors · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Mississippi Code section 73-59-1 and following — residential builder and remodeler licensing thresholds and feesMississippi State Board of Contractors · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
- All permits in Jackson
- Contractors and trades — national overview
- Contractors and trades in Fort Worth, TX
- Contractors and trades in Grand Prairie, TX
- Contractors and trades in Arlington, TX
- Contractors and trades in San Antonio, TX
- Contractors and trades in Pasadena, TX
- Auto repair shops in Jackson
- Childcare centres in Jackson
- Coffee shops in Jackson
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
