Commercial Compliance Hub

10 permits · verified 2026-09-10

What permits do you need to open a retail store in Jackson?

In short

A retail store in Jackson, MS has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 5 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division) charges $75 flat, per Occupancy Inspection/Business Inspection for the certificate of occupancy / occupancy inspection. 3 of the 10 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-10 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a retail store in Jackson

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Business Privilege License — Wholesale or Retail StoreCity of Jackson, Office of Economic Development, Business Licensing / Signs and License DivisionBanded by the store's own assessed inventory value (as determined for ad valorem taxation) rather than by employee count: $20/year where stock never exceeds $7,000, rising through narrow bands — $50 at $20,000, $150 at $50,000 — to $1,840/year at $450,000 in assessed stock value.annual2026-09-10
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Jackson, Office of Economic Development, Business Licensing / Signs and License DivisionNo feenot stated2026-09-10

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Jackson

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Building Permit (Commercial)City of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division)Varies — formula on the Jackson pageone-time, per project2026-09-10
Fire Prevention Inspection and PermitsJackson Fire Department, Fire Marshal's OfficeNo feenot stated2026-09-10
Certificate of Occupancy / Occupancy InspectionCity of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division)$75 flat, per Occupancy Inspection/Business Inspectionone-time, per issuance2026-09-10

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

MS registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sales and Use Tax PermitMississippi Department of RevenueNo feeno expiration — continues until revoked, provided the business stays the same at the same location2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youMississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation DivisionVaries — formula on the MS pageannual — due 15 April; a nonprofit's version is due 15 May2026-09-04
Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to youMississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division$50 one-time filingperpetual — an annual report is due every year, and for a Mississippi LLC that report is free2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youMississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division$50 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report costing $25 is due every year2026-09-04
General Business License — State of Mississippi positiononly if it applies to youMississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation DivisionNo feeset by the city or town2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Jackson?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 10 records listed for a retail store in Jackson, MS, 5 apply to every business of this type and 5 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 5 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $75.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 10 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Business Privilege License — Wholesale or Retail Store: Banded by the store's own assessed inventory value (as determined for ad valorem taxation) rather than by employee count: $20/year where stock never exceeds $7,000, rising through narrow bands — $50 at $20,000, $150 at $50,000 — to $1,840/year at $450,000 in assessed stock value.

The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Jackson permits page and the MS state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Jackson?

Permits for a retail store in Jackson, MS come from 5 separate offices: City of Jackson, Office of Economic Development, Business Licensing / Signs and License Division, City of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division), Jackson Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, Mississippi Department of Revenue, Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a retail store need in Jackson that other businesses do not?

1 of the 2 permits particular to a retail store here applies to no other business type we cover in Jackson: Business Privilege License — Wholesale or Retail Store.

Business Privilege License — Wholesale or Retail Store

This is the more specific of the two schedules Mississippi's Local Privilege Tax Law sets: a store is taxed on inventory value under this section instead of the general employee-count schedule that applies to the other industries listed for Jackson. The same 2025 bill, SB 3125, would have repealed this section outright; it died in committee in February 2025, so this inventory-based schedule remains the one currently in force for a Jackson retailer.

Shared with other businesses in Jackson

  • Sign Permit — City of Jackson, Office of Economic Development, Business Licensing / Signs and License Division, No fee, not stated. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.

The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Jackson, MS; what each one involves is set out on the Jackson permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across MS and are covered on the MS state page.

How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Jackson?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A retail store also needs Business Privilege License — Wholesale or Retail Store. A fitness studio needs nothing here that a retail store does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Jackson, MS, compared with a retail store
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a retail storeOnly a retail store needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios1110
Auto repair shops2111
Salons and barbers2111
Veterinary clinics2111
Coffee shops3112
Restaurants3112
Childcare centres1021
Contractors and trades3023
Food trucks3023

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the auto repair shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Jackson permits page and the MS state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Mississippi Code § 27-17-365 — Local Privilege Tax Law, inventory-value-banded tax on wholesale or retail storesState of Mississippi, republished by FindLaw · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
  2. About Business Privilege Licenses & FAQs — "Anyone who conducts business in the City of Jackson must obtain a Business Privilege License" and "most fees are determined by either the number of employees or the amount of the inventory" (page removed from the live site since capture; retrieved via Internet Archive)City of Jackson, Mississippi · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
  3. Senate Bill 3125 (2025 Regular Session) bill history — disposition "Dead," "02/26 (S) Died In Committee," for the bill that would have set a flat $10 total local privilege tax and repealed section 27-17-365Mississippi Legislature · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.