Commercial Compliance Hub

11 permits · verified 2026-09-10

What permits do you need to open a contractor or trade in Southaven?

In short

A contractor or trade in Southaven, MS has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Southaven Building Department charges $35 flat, per Use & Occupancy Permit for the certificate of occupancy / use & occupancy permit. 4 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-10 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a contractor or trade in Southaven

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Local Contractor/Trade License (Building, Electrical, Plumbing, Mechanical)only if it applies to youCity of Southaven Building DepartmentNo fee for a Building license (General Contractor, Pool Contractor, or Fence Contractor). For the Electrical, Plumbing, or Mechanical trades: $20.00 for an Apprentice license, $50.00 for a Journeyman license, and $100.00 for a Master license.not stated in the published application — no renewal cadence or expiration date is specified on the application itself2026-09-10
Residential Builder or Remodeler Licenseonly if it applies to youMississippi State Board of Contractors$50 to apply; renewal is $100annual — expires on the last day of the twelfth month after issuance or renewal2026-09-04
Commercial Certificate of Responsibilityonly if it applies to youMississippi State Board of Contractors$800 for a first classification in the first year — a $400 application plus a $200 special privilege tax and a $200 construction education fund feeannual — every certificate expires one year from the date of issuance2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Southaven

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire Marshal Inspection (Business Occupancy Checklist)Southaven Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office / Fire Prevention DivisionNo feenot stated2026-09-10
Building Permit (Commercial)City of Southaven Building DepartmentVaries — formula on the Southaven pageone-time, per project2026-09-10
Certificate of Occupancy / Use & Occupancy PermitCity of Southaven Building Department$35 flat, per Use & Occupancy Permitone-time, per issuance2026-09-10
Business Privilege LicenseCity of Southaven, Office of the City ClerkVaries — formula on the Southaven pageannual — all Southaven business licenses expire December 31 regardless of issue date; a license obtained between February 1 and December 1 is prorated through that December 312026-09-10

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

MS registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youMississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation DivisionVaries — formula on the MS pageannual — due 15 April; a nonprofit's version is due 15 May2026-09-04
Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to youMississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division$50 one-time filingperpetual — an annual report is due every year, and for a Mississippi LLC that report is free2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youMississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division$50 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report costing $25 is due every year2026-09-04
General Business License — State of Mississippi positiononly if it applies to youMississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation DivisionNo feeset by the city or town2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a contractor or trade in Southaven?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a contractor or trade in Southaven, MS, 4 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 4 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $35.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Local Contractor/Trade License (Building, Electrical, Plumbing, Mechanical): No fee for a Building license (General Contractor, Pool Contractor, or Fence Contractor). For the Electrical, Plumbing, or Mechanical trades: $20.00 for an Apprentice license, $50.00 for a Journeyman license, and $100.00 for a Master license.

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Southaven permits page and the MS state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Southaven?

Permits for a contractor or trade in Southaven, MS come from 5 separate offices: Southaven Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office / Fire Prevention Division, City of Southaven Building Department, City of Southaven, Office of the City Clerk, Mississippi State Board of Contractors, Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a contractor or trade need in Southaven that other businesses do not?

3 of the 3 permits particular to a contractor or trade here apply to no other business type we cover in Southaven: Local Contractor/Trade License (Building, Electrical, Plumbing, Mechanical), Residential Builder or Remodeler License and Commercial Certificate of Responsibility.

Local Contractor/Trade License (Building, Electrical, Plumbing, Mechanical)

A Master/General or out-of-state applicant must additionally submit a Certificate of Liability (COI), a $10,000.00 general surety bond made in favor of the City of Southaven, and a copy of an active Mississippi State Board of Contractors (MSBOC) license certificate; a Journeyman applicant must instead show a currently active Journeyman license from another jurisdiction or written proof of passing the ICC Journeyman exam. An applicant without an active MS state contractor's license who holds one from another state (TN, AR, etc.) must also provide a letter of good standing and — deferring entirely to the state board's own threshold — cannot bid any residential project or any commercial project over $50,000 in valuation. All work must meet the 2024 International Building/Plumbing/Mechanical Codes and the 2023 National Electrical Code. This is a real local layer on top of, not instead of, the Mississippi State Board of Contractors' own commercial license recorded at the state layer.

Residential Builder or Remodeler License

Two different thresholds sit under one license type. A residential builder needs this license once new construction of a building up to three floors, for use as someone else's residence, exceeds $50,000. A remodeler needs it at a much lower bar — improvements to an existing residence exceeding just $10,000. Both pay the same fee, $50 to apply and $100 to renew, considerably cheaper than the commercial track above. A renewal filed within a hundred and eighty days of expiry is still possible, but carries a ten per cent penalty added to the fee rather than a flat late charge.

Commercial Certificate of Responsibility

This license is required once a commercial project — public or private — reaches $50,000 in value, and its advertised $400 application fee is only part of the real cost. Two further statutory charges ride along with every application and every renewal: a $200 special privilege license tax and a $200 construction education fund contribution, bringing the genuine first-year total to $800 for a single classification. Renewal is $400 again, plus the same two add-ons, with a $50 penalty for renewing late. An additional classification beyond the first costs a further $100. Electrical and mechanical work are not licensed by separate state trade boards here — they exist as classifications inside this same commercial license, required only once a project crosses the $50,000 threshold; below that, or for individual journeyman and master-level credentials, licensing is a local matter.

The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Southaven, MS; what each one involves is set out on the Southaven permits page. The 4 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across MS and are covered on the MS state page.

How does a contractor or trade compare with other businesses in Southaven?

The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A contractor or trade also needs Local Contractor/Trade License (Building, Electrical, Plumbing, Mechanical), Residential Builder or Remodeler License and Commercial Certificate of Responsibility. A auto repair shop needs Fire Code Operational Permit — Repair Garage, Sign Permit and Automotive Repair Licensing — State of Mississippi position, which a contractor or trade does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Southaven, MS, compared with a contractor or trade
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a contractor or tradeOnly a contractor or trade needsOnly it needs
Auto repair shops3033
Childcare centres1031
Coffee shops3033
Fitness studios1031
Food trucks3033
Restaurants3033
Retail stores2032
Salons and barbers2032
Veterinary clinics2032

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Southaven permits page and the MS state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Application for License (Building/Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical) and License Application Checklist — no fee for Building trades; $20 Apprentice, $50 Journeyman, $100 Master for Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical; bond and state-license requirements for Master/General and out-of-state applicantsCity of Southaven Building Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
  2. Mississippi Code section 73-59-1 and following — residential builder and remodeler licensing thresholds and feesMississippi State Board of Contractors · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  3. Mississippi Code sections 31-3-1, 31-3-13, 31-3-14 and 31-3-17 — commercial contractor licensing, the $50,000 threshold and its feesMississippi State Board of Contractors · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.