12 permits · verified 2026-09-10
What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Jackson?
In short
A restaurant in Jackson, MS has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 5 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division) charges $75 flat, per Occupancy Inspection/Business Inspection for the certificate of occupancy / occupancy inspection. 4 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-10 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a restaurant in Jackson
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Jackson, Office of Economic Development, Business Licensing / Signs and License Division | No fee | not stated | 2026-09-10 |
| Food Establishment Permit | Mississippi State Department of Health, Office of Food Protection | $40–$264.50 a year, banded by the department's own risk classification | annual | 2026-09-04 |
| Certified Food Protection Manager | Mississippi State Department of Health, Office of Food Protection | No fee | not stated in the state's own regulation text | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Jackson
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Building Permit (Commercial) | City of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division) | Varies — formula on the Jackson page | one-time, per project | 2026-09-10 |
| Fire Prevention Inspection and Permits | Jackson Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office | No fee | not stated | 2026-09-10 |
| Certificate of Occupancy / Occupancy Inspection | City of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division) | $75 flat, per Occupancy Inspection/Business Inspection | one-time, per issuance | 2026-09-10 |
| Business Privilege License | City of Jackson, Office of Economic Development, Business Licensing / Signs and License Division | Varies — formula on the Jackson page | annual — renewed every year; the City's own FAQ does not state a specific renewal month | 2026-09-10 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
MS registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sales and Use Tax Permit | Mississippi Department of Revenue | No fee | no expiration — continues until revoked, provided the business stays the same at the same location | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division | Varies — formula on the MS page | annual — due 15 April; a nonprofit's version is due 15 May | 2026-09-04 |
| Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to you | Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division | $50 one-time filing | perpetual — an annual report is due every year, and for a Mississippi LLC that report is free | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division | $50 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report costing $25 is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — State of Mississippi positiononly if it applies to you | Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division | No fee | set by the city or town | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Jackson?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a restaurant in Jackson, MS, 7 apply to every business of this type and 5 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 7 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $75.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Food Establishment Permit: $40–$264.50 a year, banded by the department's own risk classification
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Jackson permits page and the MS state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Jackson?
Permits for a restaurant in Jackson, MS come from 6 separate offices: City of Jackson, Office of Economic Development, Business Licensing / Signs and License Division, City of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division), Jackson Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, Mississippi State Department of Health, Office of Food Protection, Mississippi Department of Revenue, Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Jackson, Office of Economic Development, Business Licensing / Signs and License DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Sign Permit, Business Privilege License200 S. President Street, Jackson, MS 39201 · (601) 960-1148jacksonms.gov/business/business-licenses
- City of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division)Issues 2 permits on this page: Building Permit (Commercial), Certificate of Occupancy / Occupancy Inspection219 S. President Street, Jackson, MS 39201 · (601) 960-0794jacksonms.gov/government/city-departments/planning-and-development/office-of-code-services/building-permits
- Jackson Fire Department, Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Prevention Inspection and Permits555 S. West St., Jackson, MS 39201 · (601) 960-2018jacksonms.gov/government/city-departments/jackson-fire-department
- Mississippi State Department of Health, Office of Food ProtectionIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Establishment Permit, Certified Food Protection Manager(601) 364-2832msdh.ms.gov/page/30,0,77,311.html
- Mississippi Department of RevenueIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales and Use Tax Permit500 Clinton Center Drive, Clinton, MS 39056 · (601) 923-7700www.dor.ms.gov/business/sales-use-tax/registration-information-sales-and-use-tax-applicants
- Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: Annual Report, Certificate of Formation (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, General Business License — State of Mississippi position125 South Congress Street, Jackson, MS 39201 · (601) 359-1633www.sos.ms.gov/business-services-regulation
What does a restaurant need in Jackson that other businesses do not?
Food Establishment Permit
Priced by risk category rather than seating or size: $40 a year at the lowest risk level, rising to $132.25, $198 and $264.50 at the highest, with the higher tiers also inspected at least twice a year rather than once. A new establishment additionally pays a $224.25 plan review fee before it can open, and a reinspection requested outside the routine schedule costs $165.
Certified Food Protection Manager
No state fee — the certificate comes from an accredited private training provider at that provider's price. This is a genuine, unqualified requirement rather than one option among several: the permit holder or a designated person in charge must have completed an approved manager certification course, full stop, and be present during all hours of operation. The state's own food code contains no separate general food handler card requirement for line-level staff — commercial training vendors market inexpensive cards under the Mississippi name, but nothing in the state's regulation requires every employee to hold one, only the person in charge.
Shared with other businesses in Jackson
- Sign Permit — City of Jackson, Office of Economic Development, Business Licensing / Signs and License Division, No fee, not stated. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Jackson, MS; what each one involves is set out on the Jackson permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across MS and are covered on the MS state page.
How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Jackson?
A restaurant and a coffee shop in Jackson, MS need exactly the same 3 permits beyond the ones every business needs.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a restaurant | Only a restaurant needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 3 | 3 | 0 | 0 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 1 | 1 | 2 | 0 |
| Auto repair shops | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 1 | 0 | 3 | 1 |
| Contractors and trades | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the auto repair shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Jackson permits page and the MS state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Mississippi Administrative Code title 15, part 13, chapters 2 and 4 — food establishment permits and fees by risk categoryMississippi State Department of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
