10 permits · verified 2026-09-10
What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Jackson?
In short
A fitness studio in Jackson, MS has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 5 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division) charges $75 flat, per Occupancy Inspection/Business Inspection for the certificate of occupancy / occupancy inspection. 3 of the 10 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-10 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
The permits at a glance
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business Privilege License | City of Jackson, Office of Economic Development, Business Licensing / Signs and License Division | $20/year for a business with three or fewer employees; $30/year for four to ten employees; for eleven or more employees, $30 plus $3 for each employee over ten, capped at a maximum of $150/year (a manufacturer of that size instead pays a flat $80/year) — the general schedule under Mississippi's own Local Privilege Tax Law, collected locally by the City of Jackson as the municipality's tax collector rather than set by city ordinance. | annual — renewed every year; the City's own FAQ does not state a specific renewal month | 2026-09-10 |
| Building Permit (Commercial) | City of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division) | Based on total project value: $50 flat for $1,000 or less; for $1,000-$49,999, $50 for the first $1,000 plus $6 per additional $1,000; for $50,000-$99,999, $500 for the first $50,000 plus $5 per additional $1,000; for $100,000-$499,999, $800 for the first $100,000 plus $4 per additional $1,000; for $500,000 and up, $2,500 for the first $500,000 plus $3 per additional $1,000. The identical table prices electrical, mechanical, plumbing and other trade permits. Plan review costs half of the calculated permit fee. | one-time, per project | 2026-09-10 |
| Certificate of Occupancy / Occupancy Inspection | City of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division) | $75 flat, per Occupancy Inspection/Business Inspection | one-time, per issuance | 2026-09-10 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Jackson, Office of Economic Development, Business Licensing / Signs and License Division | No fee | not stated | 2026-09-10 |
| Fire Prevention Inspection and Permits | Jackson Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office | No fee | not stated | 2026-09-10 |
| Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to you | Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division | $50 one-time filing | perpetual — an annual report is due every year, and for a Mississippi LLC that report is free | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division | $50 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report costing $25 is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business Licence (not required by Mississippi)only if it applies to you | Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division | No fee | set by the city or town | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division | $0 for a domestic LLC; $25 for a corporation, domestic or foreign | annual — due 15 April; a nonprofit's version is due 15 May | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales and Use Tax Permit | Mississippi Department of Revenue | No fee | no expiration — continues until revoked, provided the business stays the same at the same location | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in Jackson?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 10 records listed for a fitness studio in Jackson, MS, 5 apply to every business of this type and 5 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 5 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $75.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 10 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones that vary:
Business Privilege License: $20/year for a business with three or fewer employees; $30/year for four to ten employees; for eleven or more employees, $30 plus $3 for each employee over ten, capped at a maximum of $150/year (a manufacturer of that size instead pays a flat $80/year) — the general schedule under Mississippi's own Local Privilege Tax Law, collected locally by the City of Jackson as the municipality's tax collector rather than set by city ordinance.
Building Permit (Commercial): Based on total project value: $50 flat for $1,000 or less; for $1,000-$49,999, $50 for the first $1,000 plus $6 per additional $1,000; for $50,000-$99,999, $500 for the first $50,000 plus $5 per additional $1,000; for $100,000-$499,999, $800 for the first $100,000 plus $4 per additional $1,000; for $500,000 and up, $2,500 for the first $500,000 plus $3 per additional $1,000. The identical table prices electrical, mechanical, plumbing and other trade permits. Plan review costs half of the calculated permit fee.
Annual Report: $0 for a domestic LLC; $25 for a corporation, domestic or foreign
Which offices issue these permits in Jackson?
Permits for a fitness studio in Jackson, MS come from 5 separate offices: City of Jackson, Office of Economic Development, Business Licensing / Signs and License Division, City of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division), Jackson Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division, Mississippi Department of Revenue. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Jackson, Office of Economic Development, Business Licensing / Signs and License DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Business Privilege License, Sign Permit200 S. President Street, Jackson, MS 39201 · (601) 960-1148jacksonms.gov/business/business-licenses
- City of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division)Issues 2 permits on this page: Building Permit (Commercial), Certificate of Occupancy / Occupancy Inspection219 S. President Street, Jackson, MS 39201 · (601) 960-0794jacksonms.gov/government/city-departments/planning-and-development/office-of-code-services/building-permits
- Jackson Fire Department, Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Prevention Inspection and Permits555 S. West St., Jackson, MS 39201 · (601) 960-2018jacksonms.gov/government/city-departments/jackson-fire-department
- Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, General Business Licence (not required by Mississippi), Annual Report125 South Congress Street, Jackson, MS 39201 · (601) 359-1633www.sos.ms.gov/business-services-regulation
- Mississippi Department of RevenueIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales and Use Tax Permit500 Clinton Center Drive, Clinton, MS 39056 · (601) 923-7700www.dor.ms.gov/business/sales-use-tax/registration-information-sales-and-use-tax-applicants
Is anything about these requirements changing?
The City's own FAQ states this plainly: anyone conducting business in Jackson must hold this licence, it must be paid before opening, and it is renewed annually. The Zoning Division must approve the business location during this same application — this project could not confirm any separate, standalone zoning-verification-letter product beyond that same check, so none is recorded separately here. Health Department inspection verification is required in the application for childcare providers and anyone preparing or serving food (the underlying credential is Mississippi's own state licence/permit, recorded at the state layer); Fire and FOG (Fats, Oils, Grease) inspections are required for certain business types before the licence issues, submitted through the City's OpenGov portal; and Police inspections apply to certain regulated trades (beer/wine service, pawnbrokers, and others). A 2025 bill, SB 3125, would have replaced this whole employee-count schedule with a flat $10 total privilege tax; it died in committee in February 2025, so the banded figures above remain current. No separate, additional salon-, fitness-, veterinary-, auto-repair-, contractor-, or childcare-specific municipal licence beyond this general privilege licence could be confirmed for any of these industries.
The same schedule also prices: return inspections at $30 (1st), $60 (2nd) and $90 (3rd); a Stop Work fee of $100; a Change of Contractors fee of $100; a Construction Adjustments Board of Appeals fee of $500; residential and commercial demolition at $200 each; a transfer letter at $25; a rental inspection at $60; and requests for temporary electrical power or gas service at $40-$50. The source PDF is filenamed "2020 Permit Fee Schedule," but it was still the version linked directly from the City's own Building Fee Schedule page as of this project's Internet Archive capture, with no newer edition found anywhere on the current site — that page itself has since been removed from the live site entirely, so it is cited here via archive rather than a live City URL.
Code Services' own fee schedule prices a single line item, "Occupancy Inspection/Business Inspection," at $75 flat — this is the same inspection the Business Privilege License FAQ refers to when it says certain business types must pass inspection before their licence is issued, rather than a separately priced construction-only certificate and a separately priced business-only inspection.
The Signs and License Division's own page describes reviewing and approving on- and off-premises sign applications but publishes no fee; the Building Permit Office's own page separately lists signs among the structures requiring a construction permit, which most likely falls under the same valuation-based Building and Trade Permit Fee table priced in the Commercial Building Permit record above, but no confirmed sign-specific dollar figure was found anywhere in this research, so this fee is unpublished — confirm directly with the Signs and License Division (601-960-1148) before budgeting for it.
The Business Privilege License FAQ states plainly that fire inspections are required before a licence can be issued, with applications and fees submitted through the City's OpenGov/online permitting portal — but neither the Fire Marshal's Office's own page nor that portal publicly lists the dollar figures actually charged anywhere this project could retrieve, so this fee is unpublished. Confirm the current rate directly with the Fire Marshal's Office (601-960-2018) before budgeting for it.
Fifty dollars, the same as a corporation. What sets the LLC apart is what comes after formation: its annual report costs nothing at all, a genuine difference from a corporation's ongoing $25 — see the annual report record.
The same $50 as an LLC, and the same figure for a nonprofit corporation too. Unlike an LLC, a corporation's annual report is not free — see that record.
No fee, and the Secretary of State's own guide to opening a Mississippi business makes the split explicit: its compliance roadmap places licences and permits entirely under the city or town column, while the state government column covers only filing the entity's formation documents. Every city and town runs its own registration procedure, so check locally rather than expecting a state-issued licence.
This is a genuinely free filing for a domestic LLC — the Secretary of State's own fee schedule prices it at zero, a real distinction from most states, where an LLC annual filing costs something even if modest. A foreign LLC pays $250 for the same obligation, which is a striking gap. A corporation, domestic or foreign, pays $25 either way, due on the same 15 April deadline. There is no separate monetary late fee for missing either report — the consequence is administrative dissolution outright, and reinstatement afterward costs $50 for a domestic LLC or corporation, or $100 for a foreign one.
No fee — the statute imposes none for the general permit to engage in business, and it stays in force indefinitely as long as the holder continues in the same business at the same location. A bond is required only in narrower circumstances, such as an out-of-state applicant with no permanent Mississippi location, not as a routine part of registering.
Sources
Every figure above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Mississippi Code § 27-17-9 — Local Privilege Tax Law, general employee-count privilege tax schedule and municipal tax-collector administrationState of Mississippi, republished by FindLaw · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- About Business Privilege Licenses & FAQs — "Anyone who conducts business in the City of Jackson must obtain a Business Privilege License" and "most fees are determined by either the number of employees or the amount of the inventory" (page removed from the live site since capture; retrieved via Internet Archive)City of Jackson, Mississippi · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Business Licenses — application process, required documents, and Business Licensing Division contact informationCity of Jackson, Mississippi · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Senate Bill 3125 (2025 Regular Session) bill history — disposition "Dead," "02/26 (S) Died In Committee," for the bill that would have set a flat $10 total local privilege tax and repealed section 27-17-365Mississippi Legislature · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Permit Fee Schedule — Code Services' own valuation-based Building and Trade Permit Fees table plus Other Permits & Fees (occupancy inspection, demolition, return inspections, trade licence renewals) (the live document host now returns 403/404; retrieved via Internet Archive, confirmed still the version linked from the City's own Building Fee Schedule page as of this capture)City of Jackson, Mississippi, Code Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Signs and Licenses — the Signs and License Division's own description of sign permit review and privilege/business licence issuanceCity of Jackson, Mississippi · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Building Permits — permit scope (construction, signs, demolition, trade work) and adopted building codesCity of Jackson, Mississippi · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Jackson Fire Department — Fire Marshal's Office services and its online permitting systemCity of Jackson, Mississippi · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Mississippi Secretary of State — business filing fee scheduleMississippi Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Mississippi Secretary of State — business welcome packet, placing licences and permits under city government rather than the stateMississippi Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Mississippi Secretary of State — annual reports, due dates and administrative dissolutionMississippi Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Mississippi Code section 27-65-27 — the sales tax permit, continuing in force until revokedState of Mississippi · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
- All permits in Jackson
- Fitness studios — national overview
- Fitness studios in Fort Worth, TX
- Fitness studios in Grand Prairie, TX
- Fitness studios in Arlington, TX
- Fitness studios in San Antonio, TX
- Fitness studios in Pasadena, TX
- Auto repair shops in Jackson
- Childcare centres in Jackson
- Coffee shops in Jackson
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
