Commercial Compliance Hub

13 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a retail store in Lewiston?

In short

A retail store in Lewiston, ME has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department charges $150 flat, per petition, covering an administrative appeal, a variance, or a conditional use permit for the board of appeals petition (variance / administrative appeal / conditional use). 6 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a retail store in Lewiston

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire Prevention Permit (Alarm System / Burning / Incinerator)only if it applies to youLewiston Fire Department, Fire Prevention BureauA burning permit carries no fee: the Fire Department's own current FAQ confirms one is issued on-site at no charge once the proposed site passes inspection. Chapter 38 states no dollar fee for the other two permit categories — installing or operating a fire alarm or monitoring system (§ 38-3) and operating an outdoor incinerator (§ 38-35) — beyond § 38-30(b), which makes a permit invalid until 'the fees prescribed by the Lewiston City Council' have been paid; no permit fee for either category appears in Chapter 38 or in the City's business license fee schedule (updated 4/21/2026). Separately, the Council's Fire Alarms policy sets an annual fee of $350 for each building connected to the municipal fire alarm system through a master fire alarm box.not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Municipal Business License — City of Lewiston position (enumerated categories only)only if it applies to youCity of Lewiston, City Clerk's DepartmentNo feenot applicable2026-09-12
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department$25.00 base plus $0.50 per square foot of sign area.one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Food Establishment License (manufacturing, processing or retail sale)only if it applies to youMaine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, Division of Quality Assurance and Regulations$20–$150 a year, banded by the number of employeesthe licensee may choose a one, two or three year term, priced as a multiple of the annual fee2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Lewiston

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Building PermitCity of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement DepartmentVaries — formula on the Lewiston pageone-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement DepartmentNo feeone-time — issued for a new occupancy or a change of business use2026-09-12
Board of Appeals Petition (Variance / Administrative Appeal / Conditional Use)only if it applies to youCity of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department$150 flat, per petition, covering an administrative appeal, a variance, or a conditional use permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Development Review (Site Plan Review / Conditional Use)only if it applies to youCity of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement DepartmentVaries — formula on the Lewiston pageinitial approval expires if the development has not started within two years; not completed within five years2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

ME registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions$145 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions$175 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Sales and Use Tax RegistrationMaine Revenue ServicesNo feeno expiration — valid until cancelled by the retailer or revoked by the state2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and CommissionsVaries — formula on the ME pageannual — due 1 June every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Maine Position (town or city level)only if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and CommissionsNo feeset by the town or city2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Lewiston?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a retail store in Lewiston, ME, 3 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

6 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Fire Prevention Permit (Alarm System / Burning / Incinerator): A burning permit carries no fee: the Fire Department's own current FAQ confirms one is issued on-site at no charge once the proposed site passes inspection. Chapter 38 states no dollar fee for the other two permit categories — installing or operating a fire alarm or monitoring system (§ 38-3) and operating an outdoor incinerator (§ 38-35) — beyond § 38-30(b), which makes a permit invalid until 'the fees prescribed by the Lewiston City Council' have been paid; no permit fee for either category appears in Chapter 38 or in the City's business license fee schedule (updated 4/21/2026). Separately, the Council's Fire Alarms policy sets an annual fee of $350 for each building connected to the municipal fire alarm system through a master fire alarm box.

Sign Permit: $25.00 base plus $0.50 per square foot of sign area.

Food Establishment License (manufacturing, processing or retail sale): $20–$150 a year, banded by the number of employees

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Lewiston permits page and the ME state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Lewiston?

Permits for a retail store in Lewiston, ME come from 6 separate offices: City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department, Lewiston Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau, City of Lewiston, City Clerk's Department, Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions, Maine Revenue Services, Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, Division of Quality Assurance and Regulations. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a retail store need in Lewiston that other businesses do not?

1 of the 4 permits particular to a retail store here applies to no other business type we cover in Lewiston: Food Establishment License (manufacturing, processing or retail sale).

Municipal Business License — City of Lewiston position (enumerated categories only)

Code of Ordinances Chapter 22's enumerated list of licensable activities — Adult Amusement Devices, Adult Entertainment, Automobile Graveyards/Junkyards, Flea Markets, Food Service Establishments/Mobile Units, Junk Collectors/Pawnbrokers/Secondhand Dealers, Mobile Home Parks, Peddlers, Sale of Personal Property from Residential Premises, Solicitations, Tattooing, Massage Establishments/Therapists, Outpatient Addiction Treatment Clinics, Adult Use and Medical Marijuana, Homeless Shelters, Lodging Houses, and Syringe Services Programs — and the City Clerk's Business Licenses page, which lists the 40-plus license types the City issues, name no license for an ordinary retail store, auto repair shop, veterinary practice, fitness studio, hair/nail salon or child care business, so this record carries no fee. Massage Establishment and Massage Therapist are locally licensed by name ($110.00 application/$195.00 license fee), but hair/nail salons are licensed only by Maine's state Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (recorded at the state layer). Each of these industries' Lewiston-specific obligations are instead the commercial building permit, Certificate of Occupancy, sign permit (where applicable), and Development Review/Board of Appeals approvals listed separately.

Food Establishment License (manufacturing, processing or retail sale)

Maine draws a precise line: this license covers a factory, warehouse or store that manufactures, processes or sells food, and by definition excludes anywhere classed as an eating establishment under the health department's own rule — the two categories are written to be mutually exclusive. The fee scales by headcount rather than seating: $20 a year for up to ten employees, $50 for eleven to twenty-five, $150 for twenty-six or more, with the identical three-tier structure repeated across retail food stores, food storage warehouses, retail bakeries, mobile vendors and cider producers. A few categories are priced flat instead — a commercial bakery or a food processing and manufacturing operation at $50, home food manufacturing at $20. A licensee may pay once for a two or three year term at a straightforward multiple of the annual rate.

Shared with other businesses in Lewiston

  • Fire Prevention Permit (Alarm System / Burning / Incinerator) — Lewiston Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau, A burning permit carries no fee: the Fire Department's own current FAQ confirms one is issued on-site at no charge once the proposed site passes inspection. Chapter 38 states no dollar fee for the other two permit categories — installing or operating a fire alarm or monitoring system (§ 38-3) and operating an outdoor incinerator (§ 38-35) — beyond § 38-30(b), which makes a permit invalid until 'the fees prescribed by the Lewiston City Council' have been paid; no permit fee for either category appears in Chapter 38 or in the City's business license fee schedule (updated 4/21/2026). Separately, the Council's Fire Alarms policy sets an annual fee of $350 for each building connected to the municipal fire alarm system through a master fire alarm box., not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, childcare centres and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the childcare centres page.
  • Sign Permit — City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department, $25.00 base plus $0.50 per square foot of sign area., one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Lewiston, ME; what each one involves is set out on the Lewiston permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across ME and are covered on the ME state page.

How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Lewiston?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 3 of these permits. A retail store also needs Food Establishment License (manufacturing, processing or retail sale). A fitness studio needs nothing here that a retail store does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Lewiston, ME, compared with a retail store
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a retail storeOnly a retail store needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios3310
Auto repair shops3221
Salons and barbers3221
Veterinary clinics3221
Childcare centres4222
Coffee shops6224
Restaurants6224
Contractors and trades6046
Food trucks4044

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the childcare centres page and restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Lewiston permits page and the ME state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. City of Lewiston Code of Ordinances, Chapter 22 (Businesses) — all eighteen articles, including Article II (general licensing), Article VI (Food Service Establishments/Mobile Units), Article XIII (Massage), Article XV (Marijuana/home occupation Use Permit), and Article XVII (Lodging Houses, citing 22 M.R.S.A. § 2499)City of Lewiston, Maine · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  2. Business Licenses — the City Clerk's own current page describing the 40+ enumerated license categories and linking the fee scheduleCity of Lewiston, Maine, City Clerk's Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  3. Definitions from Lewiston City Code of Ordinances and/or Maine State Statutes — the City Clerk's own current business-license term definitions, including 'Mobile unit' and 'Group care facility'City of Lewiston, Maine, City Clerk's Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  4. 01-001 CMR chapter 330 — food establishment licence fees by employee countMaine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.