12 permits · verified 2026-09-12
What permits do you need to open a veterinary clinic in Lewiston?
In short
A veterinary clinic in Lewiston, ME has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department charges $150 flat, per petition, covering an administrative appeal, a variance, or a conditional use permit for the board of appeals petition (variance / administrative appeal / conditional use). 4 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a veterinary clinic in Lewiston
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Municipal Business License — City of Lewiston position (enumerated categories only)only if it applies to you | City of Lewiston, City Clerk's Department | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-12 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department | $25.00 base plus $0.50 per square foot of sign area. | one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Veterinary Facility Permit — Maine Veterinary Practice Act Licenses Practitioners Onlyonly if it applies to you | Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation, Board of Veterinary Medicine | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Lewiston
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Building Permit | City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department | Varies — formula on the Lewiston page | one-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department | No fee | one-time — issued for a new occupancy or a change of business use | 2026-09-12 |
| Board of Appeals Petition (Variance / Administrative Appeal / Conditional Use)only if it applies to you | City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department | $150 flat, per petition, covering an administrative appeal, a variance, or a conditional use permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Development Review (Site Plan Review / Conditional Use)only if it applies to you | City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department | Varies — formula on the Lewiston page | initial approval expires if the development has not started within two years; not completed within five years | 2026-09-12 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
ME registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions | $145 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to you | Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions | $175 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales and Use Tax Registration | Maine Revenue Services | No fee | no expiration — valid until cancelled by the retailer or revoked by the state | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions | Varies — formula on the ME page | annual — due 1 June every year | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Maine Position (town or city level)only if it applies to you | Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions | No fee | set by the town or city | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a veterinary clinic in Lewiston?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a veterinary clinic in Lewiston, ME, 3 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
4 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Sign Permit: $25.00 base plus $0.50 per square foot of sign area.
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Lewiston permits page and the ME state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Lewiston?
Permits for a veterinary clinic in Lewiston, ME come from 5 separate offices: City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department, City of Lewiston, City Clerk's Department, Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions, Maine Revenue Services, Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation, Board of Veterinary Medicine. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement DepartmentIssues 5 permits on this page, including Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy, Board of Appeals Petition (Variance / Administrative Appeal / Conditional Use)City Hall, 27 Pine Street, 3rd Floor, Lewiston, ME 04240 · (207) 513-3125www.lewistonmaine.gov/140/Planning-Code-Enforcement
- City of Lewiston, City Clerk's DepartmentIssues 1 permit on this page: Municipal Business License — City of Lewiston position (enumerated categories only)City Hall, 27 Pine Street, Lewiston, ME 04240 · (207) 513-3124www.lewistonmaine.gov/121/Business-Licenses
- Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and CommissionsIssues 4 permits on this page: Articles of Incorporation, Certificate of Formation (LLC), Annual Report, General Business License — Maine Position (town or city level)6 East Chestnut Street, 5th Floor, Augusta, ME 04333 · (207) 624-7752www.maine.gov/sos/corporations-commissions
- Maine Revenue ServicesIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales and Use Tax RegistrationPO Box 1060, Augusta, ME 04332www.maine.gov/revenue/taxes/sales-use-service-provider-tax
- Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation, Board of Veterinary MedicineIssues 1 permit on this page: Veterinary Facility Permit — Maine Veterinary Practice Act Licenses Practitioners Only35 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/board-veterinary-medicine
What does a veterinary clinic need in Lewiston that other businesses do not?
1 of the 3 permits particular to a veterinary clinic here applies to no other business type we cover in Lewiston: Veterinary Facility Permit — Maine Veterinary Practice Act Licenses Practitioners Only.
Veterinary Facility Permit — Maine Veterinary Practice Act Licenses Practitioners Only
No fee applies. The Veterinary Practice Act, 32 M.R.S. chapter 71-A, licenses only the individual practitioner; the only permit it creates is a relief veterinary service permit for a person filling in temporarily (the former temporary permit has been repealed), not a facility credential. The act's only premises-related duty is a disciplinary ground: failing to keep veterinary premises and equipment clean and sanitary can be used against the practitioner's own license, and the act creates no separate facility registration.
Shared with other businesses in Lewiston
- Municipal Business License — City of Lewiston position (enumerated categories only) — City of Lewiston, City Clerk's Department, No fee, not applicable. Also required for retail stores, auto repair shops, fitness studios, salons and barbers and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Sign Permit — City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department, $25.00 base plus $0.50 per square foot of sign area., one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios and auto repair shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Lewiston, ME; what each one involves is set out on the Lewiston permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across ME and are covered on the ME state page.
How does a veterinary clinic compare with other businesses in Lewiston?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 2 of these permits. A veterinary clinic also needs Veterinary Facility Permit — Maine Veterinary Practice Act Licenses Practitioners Only. A auto repair shop needs Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Maine Position (29-A M.R.S. §§ 1801–1811), which a veterinary clinic does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a veterinary clinic | Only a veterinary clinic needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 3 | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| Retail stores | 4 | 2 | 1 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Coffee shops | 6 | 1 | 2 | 5 |
| Restaurants | 6 | 1 | 2 | 5 |
| Contractors and trades | 6 | 0 | 3 | 6 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page and restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Lewiston permits page and the ME state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- 32 Maine Revised Statutes chapter 71-A — the Veterinary Practice Act, licensing only the individual practitionerMaine Legislature · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
