15 permits · verified 2026-09-12
What permits do you need to open a retail store in Bangor?
In short
A retail store in Bangor, ME has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 12 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Bangor Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau charges $79 flat for the fire and intrusion alarm system permit. 8 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a retail store in Bangor
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fire and Intrusion Alarm System Permitonly if it applies to you | Bangor Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau | $79 flat | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Municipal Business License — City of Bangor Position (Retail, Auto Repair, Veterinary, Fitness, Salon)only if it applies to you | City of Bangor, City Clerk's Office | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-12 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Bangor, Code Enforcement Division | $62 flat, per sign | one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Food Establishment License (manufacturing, processing or retail sale)only if it applies to you | Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, Division of Quality Assurance and Regulations | $20–$150 a year, banded by the number of employees | the licensee may choose a one, two or three year term, priced as a multiple of the annual fee | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Bangor
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Site Development Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | City of Bangor, Planning Division | Varies — formula on the Bangor page | one-time, per application | 2026-09-12 |
| Conditional Use Approval (Public Hearing)only if it applies to you | City of Bangor, Planning Division | Varies — formula on the Bangor page | one-time, per application | 2026-09-12 |
| Building Permit | City of Bangor, Code Enforcement Division | Varies — formula on the Bangor page | one-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Bangor, Code Enforcement Division | Varies — formula on the Bangor page | one-time — issued for a new occupancy or a change of business use | 2026-09-12 |
| Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to you | City of Bangor, Code Enforcement Division | Varies — formula on the Bangor page | one-time, per request — not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Board of Appeals Petition (Variance / Administrative Appeal)only if it applies to you | City of Bangor, Code Enforcement Division | Varies — formula on the Bangor page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
ME registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions | $145 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to you | Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions | $175 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales and Use Tax Registration | Maine Revenue Services | No fee | no expiration — valid until cancelled by the retailer or revoked by the state | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions | Varies — formula on the ME page | annual — due 1 June every year | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Maine Position (town or city level)only if it applies to you | Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions | No fee | set by the town or city | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Bangor?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a retail store in Bangor, ME, 3 apply to every business of this type and 12 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
8 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Food Establishment License (manufacturing, processing or retail sale): $20–$150 a year, banded by the number of employees
The other 7 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Bangor permits page and the ME state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Bangor?
Permits for a retail store in Bangor, ME come from 7 separate offices: City of Bangor, Planning Division, Bangor Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau, City of Bangor, City Clerk's Office, City of Bangor, Code Enforcement Division, Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions, Maine Revenue Services, Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, Division of Quality Assurance and Regulations. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Bangor, Planning DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Site Development Plan Review, Conditional Use Approval (Public Hearing)73 Harlow Street, Bangor, ME 04401 · (207) 992-4280www.bangormaine.gov/361/Zoning
- Bangor Fire Department, Fire Prevention BureauIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire and Intrusion Alarm System Permit73 Harlow Street, 1st Floor, Bangor, ME 04401 · (207) 992-4264www.bangormaine.gov/342/Fire-Prevention-Bureau
- City of Bangor, City Clerk's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Municipal Business License — City of Bangor Position (Retail, Auto Repair, Veterinary, Fitness, Salon)73 Harlow Street, Bangor, ME 04401 · (207) 992-4220www.bangormaine.gov/174/Business-Licenses
- City of Bangor, Code Enforcement DivisionIssues 5 permits on this page, including Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy, Sign Permit73 Harlow Street, Bangor, ME 04401 · (207) 992-4230www.bangormaine.gov/192/Code-Enforcement
- Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and CommissionsIssues 4 permits on this page: Articles of Incorporation, Certificate of Formation (LLC), Annual Report, General Business License — Maine Position (town or city level)6 East Chestnut Street, 5th Floor, Augusta, ME 04333 · (207) 624-7752www.maine.gov/sos/corporations-commissions
- Maine Revenue ServicesIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales and Use Tax RegistrationPO Box 1060, Augusta, ME 04332www.maine.gov/revenue/taxes/sales-use-service-provider-tax
- Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, Division of Quality Assurance and RegulationsIssues 1 permit on this page: Food Establishment License (manufacturing, processing or retail sale)28 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333 · (207) 287-3841www.maine.gov/dacf/qar
What does a retail store need in Bangor that other businesses do not?
1 of the 4 permits particular to a retail store here applies to no other business type we cover in Bangor: Food Establishment License (manufacturing, processing or retail sale).
Food Establishment License (manufacturing, processing or retail sale)
Maine draws a precise line: this license covers a factory, warehouse or store that manufactures, processes or sells food, and by definition excludes anywhere classed as an eating establishment under the health department's own rule — the two categories are written to be mutually exclusive. The fee scales by headcount rather than seating: $20 a year for up to ten employees, $50 for eleven to twenty-five, $150 for twenty-six or more, with the identical three-tier structure repeated across retail food stores, food storage warehouses, retail bakeries, mobile vendors and cider producers. A few categories are priced flat instead — a commercial bakery or a food processing and manufacturing operation at $50, home food manufacturing at $20. A licensee may pay once for a two or three year term at a straightforward multiple of the annual rate.
Shared with other businesses in Bangor
- Fire and Intrusion Alarm System Permit — Bangor Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau, $79 flat, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, childcare centres and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the childcare centres page.
- Municipal Business License — City of Bangor Position (Retail, Auto Repair, Veterinary, Fitness, Salon) — City of Bangor, City Clerk's Office, No fee, not applicable. Also required for auto repair shops, veterinary clinics, fitness studios and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- Sign Permit — City of Bangor, Code Enforcement Division, $62 flat, per sign, one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Bangor, ME; what each one involves is set out on the Bangor permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across ME and are covered on the ME state page.
How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Bangor?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 3 of these permits. A retail store also needs Food Establishment License (manufacturing, processing or retail sale). A fitness studio needs nothing here that a retail store does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a retail store | Only a retail store needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 3 | 3 | 1 | 0 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 5 | 2 | 2 | 3 |
| Restaurants | 6 | 2 | 2 | 4 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 1 | 3 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 6 | 0 | 4 | 6 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 4 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the childcare centres page, fitness studios page and coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Bangor permits page and the ME state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- 01-001 CMR chapter 330 — food establishment licence fees by employee countMaine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
