11 permits · verified 2026-09-10
What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Wichita?
In short
A childcare centre in Wichita, KS has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Wichita Environmental Health Division, Public Works & Utilities — Child Care Licensing charges $108 annual, in addition to the state's own $87 KDHE fee for the child care local licensing fee (family child care home). 2 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-10 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
The permits at a glance
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Building Permit (Commercial) | Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department (joint City of Wichita / Sedgwick County department) | For a residential new build, 38 cents per square foot of finished space and 30 cents per square foot of unfinished space (accessory structures: 25 cents/20 cents, dropping to 10 cents per square foot for unfinished accessory space beyond 5,000 sq ft). For a commercial new build, a valuation-banded table: $40 up to $1,000; $40 plus $3 per additional $100 (or fraction) up to $2,000; $70 plus $11 per additional $1,000 up to $40,000; $488 plus $9 per additional $1,000 up to $100,000; $1,028 plus $7 per additional $1,000 up to $500,000; $3,828 plus $5 per additional $1,000 up to $1,000,000; $6,328 plus $3 per additional $1,000 up to $5,000,000; and $18,328 plus $2.25 per additional $1,000 above that. Remodels and rebuilds, residential and commercial alike, are priced on this same commercial valuation table rather than the residential per-square-foot rate. | one-time, per project | 2026-09-10 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department (joint City of Wichita / Sedgwick County department) | No fee | one-time, no expiration | 2026-09-10 |
| Child Care Local Licensing Fee (Family Child Care Home) | City of Wichita Environmental Health Division, Public Works & Utilities — Child Care Licensing | $108 annual, in addition to the state's own $87 KDHE fee | annual | 2026-09-10 |
| Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to you | Wichita-Sedgwick County Metropolitan Area Planning Department | $140 one-time, per request | one-time, per request | 2026-09-10 |
| Fire Code Compliance Inspection and High-Hazard Permitsonly if it applies to you | Wichita Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction Division | No fee | recurring — frequency not stated in any published schedule | 2026-09-10 |
| General Business Licence (not required by Kansas)only if it applies to you | Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $90 one-time filing | perpetual, but an information report is due every two years | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $85 filed online; $90 on paper | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Corporation Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $53 filed online; $55 on paper | annual — due within three and a half months of the close of the entity's tax year, commonly 15 April | 2026-09-04 |
| LLC Information Reportonly if it applies to you | Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $90 filed online, every two years; $110 on paper | biennial — an entity formed in an even year files in each succeeding even year, and the same pattern holds for odd years | 2026-09-04 |
| Child Care Licence | Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Child Care Licensing Program | Fee not confirmed against a primary document — Kansas is mid-transfer of this whole programme to a new agency and no figure is asserted here as fact | set by the licensing agency during an active transition of authority | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Wichita?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a childcare centre in Wichita, KS, 4 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 4 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $108.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones that vary:
Building Permit (Commercial): For a residential new build, 38 cents per square foot of finished space and 30 cents per square foot of unfinished space (accessory structures: 25 cents/20 cents, dropping to 10 cents per square foot for unfinished accessory space beyond 5,000 sq ft). For a commercial new build, a valuation-banded table: $40 up to $1,000; $40 plus $3 per additional $100 (or fraction) up to $2,000; $70 plus $11 per additional $1,000 up to $40,000; $488 plus $9 per additional $1,000 up to $100,000; $1,028 plus $7 per additional $1,000 up to $500,000; $3,828 plus $5 per additional $1,000 up to $1,000,000; $6,328 plus $3 per additional $1,000 up to $5,000,000; and $18,328 plus $2.25 per additional $1,000 above that. Remodels and rebuilds, residential and commercial alike, are priced on this same commercial valuation table rather than the residential per-square-foot rate.
Child Care Licence: Fee not confirmed against a primary document — Kansas is mid-transfer of this whole programme to a new agency and no figure is asserted here as fact
Which offices issue these permits in Wichita?
Permits for a childcare centre in Wichita, KS come from 6 separate offices: Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department (joint City of Wichita / Sedgwick County department), City of Wichita Environmental Health Division, Public Works & Utilities — Child Care Licensing, Wichita-Sedgwick County Metropolitan Area Planning Department, Wichita Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction Division, Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Child Care Licensing Program. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department (joint City of Wichita / Sedgwick County department)Issues 2 permits on this page: Building Permit (Commercial), Certificate of Occupancy271 W. 3rd St. N., Suite 101, Wichita, KS 67202 · (316) 660-1840www.sedgwickcounty.org/mabcd
- City of Wichita Environmental Health Division, Public Works & Utilities — Child Care LicensingIssues 1 permit on this page: Child Care Local Licensing Fee (Family Child Care Home)455 N. Main, 7th Floor, Wichita, KS 67202 · (316) 268-8351www.wichita.gov/413/Child-Care-Licensing
- Wichita-Sedgwick County Metropolitan Area Planning DepartmentIssues 1 permit on this page: Zoning Verification Letter271 W. 3rd St. N., Wichita, KS 67202 · (316) 268-4421www.wichita.gov/157/Wichita-Sedgwick-County-Planning
- Wichita Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Code Compliance Inspection and High-Hazard Permits455 N. Main, 11th Floor, Wichita, KS 67202 · (316) 268-4441www.wichita.gov/490/Fire
- Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionIssues 5 permits on this page, including General Business Licence (not required by Kansas), Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation120 SW 10th Avenue, Topeka, KS 66612 · (785) 296-4564sos.ks.gov
- Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Child Care Licensing ProgramIssues 1 permit on this page: Child Care Licence1000 SW Jackson, Suite 200, Topeka, KS 66612 · (785) 296-1270www.kdhe.ks.gov/280/Child-Care-Licensing
Is anything about these requirements changing?
MABCD is a single department jointly operated by the City of Wichita and Sedgwick County — the same fee table and the same permit apply whether the project sits inside city limits or in the unincorporated county, and MABCD may temporarily discount fees by up to 20% under its own reserve-fund policy (City of Wichita Resolution R-95-560) if permit revenue runs well ahead of the department's three-to-four-month operating reserve.
MABCD's own Temporary Certificate of Occupancy application states no fee anywhere on either of its two pages, and no separately priced product for a standard, first-issuance certificate of occupancy could be found anywhere this research could reach — it most likely rides on the building permit fee already charged for the underlying project, but that is not stated explicitly, so no additional fee is asserted here.
A genuine, distinct local fee, easy to miss because it is charged by the City's own Environmental Health division rather than by any childcare-licensing agency: the City's own FAQ states, in its own words, 'The State fee is $87 (payable to KDHE). The local fee is $108 (payable to City of Wichita).' This figure is confirmed specifically for Family Child Care Homes; Child Care Centers register through the same office (316-268-8351) after attending a separate Child Care Center Orientation, but no distinct centre-specific local fee figure could be confirmed from any page this research could retrieve, so none is asserted for that case. A person wanting to run a home-based day care is separately told to obtain a Home Occupation Licence from MABCD (316-660-1840) before starting — a real, cross-referenced prerequisite recorded here rather than treated as a duplicate fee. Complaints go to the same local licensing office at 316-268-8351; citation and inspection history is looked up through KDHE's own database.
Requested in writing (or by email) from the Zoning Administrator, with the property's address, legal description and County Property Identification Number; the City's own instruction sheet states a five-business-day processing time, with some requests needing longer. Checks are payable to 'MABCD' even though the request is handled by the Planning Department. Not every business needs one — it is most often requested by lenders, buyers or new tenants confirming a property's zoning before committing to it.
The City's own budget documents confirm the Community Risk Reduction Division performs more than 9,000 code-administration inspections and 500 commercial plan reviews a year, is 'responsible for fire code enforcement in commercial properties, licensing inspection, plans review, permit issuance, complaint response, and numerous high-hazard inspections which include fireworks, hazardous materials, and assembly occupancies,' and separately 'addresses code enforcement in [public] and private schools, daycare inspections, and adult care facility compliance' — so a day care centre genuinely does receive its own fire inspection here, unlike Fort Smith, Arkansas, where this project found no such classification. No fee for any of this — inspection, plan review, or permit issuance — is published anywhere this research could reach, so none is asserted.
No fee, because no Kansas page describes a general business licence anywhere — the Secretary of State handles only entity registration for an LLC, corporation, LP or LLP, and a sole proprietor or general partnership need not register with that office at all. The state's own business portal organises everything by industry-specific starter kit rather than by one shared licence.
Ninety dollars on paper. A for-profit corporation costs the same $90 on paper but genuinely saves five dollars filing online, at $85 — the LLC's own current fee schedule does not show a matching online discount, so budget on the $90 figure rather than assuming the corporation's online saving carries over.
Eighty-five dollars online, $90 on paper. A nonprofit corporation is far cheaper at a flat $20 either way. Where an LLC files an information report every other year, a corporation files an annual report every single year — see that record for how the two obligations actually compare.
A corporation files this every year, at $53 online or $55 on paper, tied to the close of its own tax year rather than a shared calendar date — for a calendar-year filer that lands around 15 April. Missing it adds a flat $75 penalty, and there is roughly a three-month grace period after the due date before the entity forfeits its standing; once forfeited, it cannot file any other document with the Secretary of State until every overdue report is filed and the entity is formally reinstated.
Kansas calls this an information report rather than an annual report, and prices it in a way that looks backwards at first glance: an LLC pays $90 online against a corporation's $53, yet files only every other year rather than every single year — costing more per filing but roughly the same over time. Whether an entity lands on the even-year or odd-year cycle is set by the year it was originally formed. The same $75 late penalty and roughly three-month grace period before forfeiture apply here as to a corporation's annual report.
Kansas licenses both family child care homes, capped at twelve children, and larger child care centres and preschools, and does so as a genuine requirement rather than an optional registration. What is not recorded here as confirmed fact is the price: licensing authority is transferring from the health department to a newly created Office of Early Childhood, effective 1 July 2026, and the health department's own page for this programme now tells visitors it is no longer being updated and to look to the new office instead. Figures describing a capacity-based application fee and a fee waiver on renewals circulate widely but could not be verified against a primary document during this transition, so no number is asserted here. Confirm directly with the Office of Early Childhood once the transfer completes.
Sources
Every figure above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Building Permit Fees — Table B: the residential per-square-foot rate and the commercial valuation-banded fee table, both applied to remodels as well as new construction (Internet Archive capture, 27 January 2021; the live host refused every direct connection this project's tools attempted)Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- 2024-2025 Adopted Budget — Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department chapter, describing MABCD as a joint City/County department funded by permit and licensing revenue and reimbursed between the two governmentsCity of Wichita · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Application for Temporary Certificate of Occupancy, MABCD Form #6A/6B — the inspection checklist and process, with no fee stated anywhere on either page (Internet Archive capture, 19 May 2026; the live host refused every direct connection this project's tools attempted)Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- FAQ — "What are the annual/renewal fees for child care homes?" — the $87 state (KDHE) fee and the $108 local (City of Wichita) feeCity of Wichita, Public Works & Utilities · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Child Care Licensing — describing the Environmental Health division's local licensing survey program for Licensed Day Care Homes, Group Licensed Day Care Homes, Child Care Centers, Preschools and School Age ProgramsCity of Wichita, Public Works & Utilities · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Zoning Verification Letter — instructions and the $140 fee, payable to MABCD, with a five-business-day processing timeCity of Wichita, Metropolitan Area Planning Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- 2024-2025 Adopted Budget — Fire Department chapter, describing the Community Risk Reduction Division's fire code enforcement, permit issuance, and daycare and adult-care-facility inspections, with no fee schedule statedCity of Wichita · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Kansas Business One Stop — auto repair shop starter kit, stating no state licence is generally requiredState of Kansas · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Kansas Secretary of State form LAO — LLC articles of organization feeKansas Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Kansas Secretary of State form AI — corporation articles of incorporation feesKansas Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Kansas Secretary of State form AR — corporation annual report feeKansas Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Kansas Statutes section 17-7509 — the $75 penalty for a late business entity information reportOffice of Revisor of Statutes · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Kansas Secretary of State form ILC — LLC information report fee, filed bienniallyKansas Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Kansas Department of Health and Environment — CCL 008, licensing child care in KansasKansas Department of Health and Environment · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
- All permits in Wichita
- Childcare centres — national overview
- Childcare centres in Fort Worth, TX
- Childcare centres in Grand Prairie, TX
- Childcare centres in Arlington, TX
- Childcare centres in San Antonio, TX
- Childcare centres in Pasadena, TX
- Auto repair shops in Wichita
- Coffee shops in Wichita
- Contractors and trades in Wichita
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
