13 permits · verified 2026-09-10
What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Wichita?
In short
A salon or barber in Wichita, KS has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Wichita-Sedgwick County Metropolitan Area Planning Department charges $140 one-time, per request for the zoning verification letter. 1 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-10 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
The permits at a glance
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Building Permit (Commercial) | Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department (joint City of Wichita / Sedgwick County department) | For a residential new build, 38 cents per square foot of finished space and 30 cents per square foot of unfinished space (accessory structures: 25 cents/20 cents, dropping to 10 cents per square foot for unfinished accessory space beyond 5,000 sq ft). For a commercial new build, a valuation-banded table: $40 up to $1,000; $40 plus $3 per additional $100 (or fraction) up to $2,000; $70 plus $11 per additional $1,000 up to $40,000; $488 plus $9 per additional $1,000 up to $100,000; $1,028 plus $7 per additional $1,000 up to $500,000; $3,828 plus $5 per additional $1,000 up to $1,000,000; $6,328 plus $3 per additional $1,000 up to $5,000,000; and $18,328 plus $2.25 per additional $1,000 above that. Remodels and rebuilds, residential and commercial alike, are priced on this same commercial valuation table rather than the residential per-square-foot rate. | one-time, per project | 2026-09-10 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department (joint City of Wichita / Sedgwick County department) | No fee | one-time, no expiration | 2026-09-10 |
| General Business Licence (not required by the City of Wichita)only if it applies to you | City of Wichita Business Licensing Division (City Clerk's Office) | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-10 |
| Sign Permit | Wichita-Sedgwick County Metropolitan Area Planning Department | No fee | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-10 |
| Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to you | Wichita-Sedgwick County Metropolitan Area Planning Department | $140 one-time, per request | one-time, per request | 2026-09-10 |
| Fire Code Compliance Inspection and High-Hazard Permitsonly if it applies to you | Wichita Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction Division | No fee | recurring — frequency not stated in any published schedule | 2026-09-10 |
| General Business Licence (not required by Kansas)only if it applies to you | Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $90 one-time filing | perpetual, but an information report is due every two years | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $85 filed online; $90 on paper | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Cosmetology Establishment Licence | Kansas Board of Cosmetology | $60 to open; renewal is $50 a year | annual | 2026-09-04 |
| Corporation Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $53 filed online; $55 on paper | annual — due within three and a half months of the close of the entity's tax year, commonly 15 April | 2026-09-04 |
| LLC Information Reportonly if it applies to you | Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $90 filed online, every two years; $110 on paper | biennial — an entity formed in an even year files in each succeeding even year, and the same pattern holds for odd years | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Registration Certificate | Kansas Department of Revenue | No fee | no stated expiration — valid for the named business at the registered location | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Wichita?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a salon or barber in Wichita, KS, 5 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 5 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $60.00. That is a floor, not a total. 1 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 6 have no fee published at all. The ones that vary:
Building Permit (Commercial): For a residential new build, 38 cents per square foot of finished space and 30 cents per square foot of unfinished space (accessory structures: 25 cents/20 cents, dropping to 10 cents per square foot for unfinished accessory space beyond 5,000 sq ft). For a commercial new build, a valuation-banded table: $40 up to $1,000; $40 plus $3 per additional $100 (or fraction) up to $2,000; $70 plus $11 per additional $1,000 up to $40,000; $488 plus $9 per additional $1,000 up to $100,000; $1,028 plus $7 per additional $1,000 up to $500,000; $3,828 plus $5 per additional $1,000 up to $1,000,000; $6,328 plus $3 per additional $1,000 up to $5,000,000; and $18,328 plus $2.25 per additional $1,000 above that. Remodels and rebuilds, residential and commercial alike, are priced on this same commercial valuation table rather than the residential per-square-foot rate.
Which offices issue these permits in Wichita?
Permits for a salon or barber in Wichita, KS come from 7 separate offices: Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department (joint City of Wichita / Sedgwick County department), City of Wichita Business Licensing Division (City Clerk's Office), Wichita-Sedgwick County Metropolitan Area Planning Department, Wichita Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction Division, Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Kansas Board of Cosmetology, Kansas Department of Revenue. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department (joint City of Wichita / Sedgwick County department)Issues 2 permits on this page: Building Permit (Commercial), Certificate of Occupancy271 W. 3rd St. N., Suite 101, Wichita, KS 67202 · (316) 660-1840www.sedgwickcounty.org/mabcd
- City of Wichita Business Licensing Division (City Clerk's Office)Issues 1 permit on this page: General Business Licence (not required by the City of Wichita)455 N. Main, 1st Floor, Wichita, KS 67202 · (316) 268-4553www.wichita.gov/344/Business-Licenses
- Wichita-Sedgwick County Metropolitan Area Planning DepartmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Sign Permit, Zoning Verification Letter271 W. 3rd St. N., Wichita, KS 67202 · (316) 268-4421www.wichita.gov/157/Wichita-Sedgwick-County-Planning
- Wichita Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Code Compliance Inspection and High-Hazard Permits455 N. Main, 11th Floor, Wichita, KS 67202 · (316) 268-4441www.wichita.gov/490/Fire
- Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionIssues 5 permits on this page, including General Business Licence (not required by Kansas), Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation120 SW 10th Avenue, Topeka, KS 66612 · (785) 296-4564sos.ks.gov
- Kansas Board of CosmetologyIssues 1 permit on this page: Cosmetology Establishment Licence2420 NW Button Road, Topeka, KS 66618 · (785) 296-3155kboc.kansas.gov
- Kansas Department of RevenueIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Registration Certificatewww.ksrevenue.gov
Is anything about these requirements changing?
MABCD is a single department jointly operated by the City of Wichita and Sedgwick County — the same fee table and the same permit apply whether the project sits inside city limits or in the unincorporated county, and MABCD may temporarily discount fees by up to 20% under its own reserve-fund policy (City of Wichita Resolution R-95-560) if permit revenue runs well ahead of the department's three-to-four-month operating reserve.
MABCD's own Temporary Certificate of Occupancy application states no fee anywhere on either of its two pages, and no separately priced product for a standard, first-issuance certificate of occupancy could be found anywhere this research could reach — it most likely rides on the building permit fee already charged for the underlying project, but that is not stated explicitly, so no additional fee is asserted here.
The City's own page states plainly that a standard business licence is not required of all businesses, only certain ones, and its own twelve-category licence list — checked in full, including the Sales and Services category closest to this project's industries — names no restaurant, retail, salon, auto-repair, fitness-studio or veterinary licence anywhere on it, so no fee applies to any of these seven industries for simply operating in Wichita. This is a genuine negative finding for auto repair and salons specifically, not an oversight: no salon- or auto-repair-specific licence exists anywhere in the City's own licensing structure. A business in any of these industries may still owe the building, sign, zoning and fire-code requirements recorded separately below.
A handful of secondary sources report a City of Wichita sign-permit rate of roughly $10 plus $2 per ten square feet of sign face, but the only document this research could trace that figure to sits on online.wichita.gov's document viewer, which refused every direct connection this project's tools attempted and has no Internet Archive capture either — so that number could not be independently read and confirmed, and is not published anywhere else this research could reach. This is separate from MABCD's own Sign contractor licence (a $100-a-year credential for the installer, recorded within the contractor licence figures above), which is not a per-sign permit fee. Confirm the current sign-permit fee directly with the Metropolitan Area Planning Department (316-268-4421) before relying on a third-party figure.
Requested in writing (or by email) from the Zoning Administrator, with the property's address, legal description and County Property Identification Number; the City's own instruction sheet states a five-business-day processing time, with some requests needing longer. Checks are payable to 'MABCD' even though the request is handled by the Planning Department. Not every business needs one — it is most often requested by lenders, buyers or new tenants confirming a property's zoning before committing to it.
The City's own budget documents confirm the Community Risk Reduction Division performs more than 9,000 code-administration inspections and 500 commercial plan reviews a year, is 'responsible for fire code enforcement in commercial properties, licensing inspection, plans review, permit issuance, complaint response, and numerous high-hazard inspections which include fireworks, hazardous materials, and assembly occupancies,' and separately 'addresses code enforcement in [public] and private schools, daycare inspections, and adult care facility compliance' — so a day care centre genuinely does receive its own fire inspection here, unlike Fort Smith, Arkansas, where this project found no such classification. No fee for any of this — inspection, plan review, or permit issuance — is published anywhere this research could reach, so none is asserted.
No fee, because no Kansas page describes a general business licence anywhere — the Secretary of State handles only entity registration for an LLC, corporation, LP or LLP, and a sole proprietor or general partnership need not register with that office at all. The state's own business portal organises everything by industry-specific starter kit rather than by one shared licence.
Ninety dollars on paper. A for-profit corporation costs the same $90 on paper but genuinely saves five dollars filing online, at $85 — the LLC's own current fee schedule does not show a matching online discount, so budget on the $90 figure rather than assuming the corporation's online saving carries over.
Eighty-five dollars online, $90 on paper. A nonprofit corporation is far cheaper at a flat $20 either way. Where an LLC files an information report every other year, a corporation files an annual report every single year — see that record for how the two obligations actually compare.
Sixty dollars for a new establishment, covering cosmetology, nail technology, esthetics or electrology, each requiring its own separate application if a business offers more than one — a salon combining nail services with hair care files and pays twice. Renewal runs $50 a year. Adult care homes and long-term care units are exempt from this board's licensing entirely.
A corporation files this every year, at $53 online or $55 on paper, tied to the close of its own tax year rather than a shared calendar date — for a calendar-year filer that lands around 15 April. Missing it adds a flat $75 penalty, and there is roughly a three-month grace period after the due date before the entity forfeits its standing; once forfeited, it cannot file any other document with the Secretary of State until every overdue report is filed and the entity is formally reinstated.
Kansas calls this an information report rather than an annual report, and prices it in a way that looks backwards at first glance: an LLC pays $90 online against a corporation's $53, yet files only every other year rather than every single year — costing more per filing but roughly the same over time. Whether an entity lands on the even-year or odd-year cycle is set by the year it was originally formed. The same $75 late penalty and roughly three-month grace period before forfeiture apply here as to a corporation's annual report.
No fee — the regulation states plainly that these certificates are issued and amended without charge. A certificate is not transferable and is valid only for the person and location it names, but carries no expiration date of its own, so there is no renewal fee cycle to track.
Sources
Every figure above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Building Permit Fees — Table B: the residential per-square-foot rate and the commercial valuation-banded fee table, both applied to remodels as well as new construction (Internet Archive capture, 27 January 2021; the live host refused every direct connection this project's tools attempted)Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- 2024-2025 Adopted Budget — Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department chapter, describing MABCD as a joint City/County department funded by permit and licensing revenue and reimbursed between the two governmentsCity of Wichita · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Application for Temporary Certificate of Occupancy, MABCD Form #6A/6B — the inspection checklist and process, with no fee stated anywhere on either page (Internet Archive capture, 19 May 2026; the live host refused every direct connection this project's tools attempted)Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Business Licenses — stating that the City does not require a standard business licence for all businesses, only for certain onesCity of Wichita · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- License Categories — the twelve licence categories the City actually maintains (Adult Entertainment, Advertising, Animals, Cemeteries, Entertainment, Miscellaneous, Lodging & Residential, Sales and Services, Security, Special Events, Transportation, Wells)City of Wichita · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Sales and Services — the full list of licences in this category (Auto Wrecking, Cereal Malt Beverage, Massage Therapy, Mobile Food Vendor, Pawnbroker, Secondhand Dealer, Tobacco, and others), none of which is a restaurant, retail, salon, auto-repair, fitness or veterinary licenceCity of Wichita · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Zoning Verification Letter — instructions and the $140 fee, payable to MABCD, with a five-business-day processing timeCity of Wichita, Metropolitan Area Planning Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- 2024-2025 Adopted Budget — Fire Department chapter, describing the Community Risk Reduction Division's fire code enforcement, permit issuance, and daycare and adult-care-facility inspections, with no fee schedule statedCity of Wichita · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Kansas Business One Stop — auto repair shop starter kit, stating no state licence is generally requiredState of Kansas · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Kansas Secretary of State form LAO — LLC articles of organization feeKansas Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Kansas Secretary of State form AI — corporation articles of incorporation feesKansas Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Kansas Board of Cosmetology — establishment licence application, $60 initial feeKansas Board of Cosmetology · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Kansas Secretary of State form AR — corporation annual report feeKansas Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Kansas Statutes section 17-7509 — the $75 penalty for a late business entity information reportOffice of Revisor of Statutes · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Kansas Secretary of State form ILC — LLC information report fee, filed bienniallyKansas Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Kansas Administrative Regulation 92-19-2a — sales tax registration certificates issued at no chargeKansas Department of Revenue · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
- All permits in Wichita
- Salons and barbers — national overview
- Salons and barbers in Fort Worth, TX
- Salons and barbers in Grand Prairie, TX
- Salons and barbers in Arlington, TX
- Salons and barbers in San Antonio, TX
- Salons and barbers in Pasadena, TX
- Auto repair shops in Wichita
- Childcare centres in Wichita
- Coffee shops in Wichita
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
