14 permits · verified 2026-09-10
What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Wichita?
In short
A restaurant in Wichita, KS has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Wichita-Sedgwick County Metropolitan Area Planning Department charges $140 one-time, per request for the zoning verification letter. 2 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-10 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a restaurant in Wichita
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General Business License — City of Wichita Positiononly if it applies to you | City of Wichita Business Licensing Division (City Clerk's Office) | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-10 |
| Sign Permit | Wichita-Sedgwick County Metropolitan Area Planning Department | No fee | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-10 |
| Certified Food Protection Manager (optional, not mandatory)only if it applies to you | Kansas Department of Agriculture, Division of Food Safety and Lodging | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
| Food Establishment License | Kansas Department of Agriculture, Division of Food Safety and Lodging | $250–$750 a year, banded by the establishment's square footage, up to statutory ceilings | annual | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Wichita
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Occupancy | Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department (joint City of Wichita / Sedgwick County department) | No fee | one-time, no expiration | 2026-09-10 |
| Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to you | Wichita-Sedgwick County Metropolitan Area Planning Department | $140 one-time, per request | one-time, per request | 2026-09-10 |
| Fire Code Compliance Inspection and High-Hazard Permitsonly if it applies to you | Wichita Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction Division | No fee | recurring — frequency not stated in any published schedule | 2026-09-10 |
| Building Permit (Commercial) | Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department (joint City of Wichita / Sedgwick County department) | Varies — formula on the Wichita page | one-time, per project | 2026-09-10 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
KS registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $90 one-time filing | perpetual, but an information report is due every two years | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $85 filed online; $90 on paper | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Registration Certificate | Kansas Department of Revenue | No fee | no stated expiration — valid for the named business at the registered location | 2026-09-04 |
| Corporation Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $53 filed online; $55 on paper | annual — due within three and a half months of the close of the entity's tax year, commonly 15 April | 2026-09-04 |
| LLC Information Reportonly if it applies to you | Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $90 filed online, every two years; $110 on paper | biennial — an entity formed in an even year files in each succeeding even year, and the same pattern holds for odd years | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Kansas Business Portal Positiononly if it applies to you | Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Wichita?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a restaurant in Wichita, KS, 5 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
2 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 7 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Food Establishment License: $250–$750 a year, banded by the establishment's square footage, up to statutory ceilings
The other 1 variable fee belongs to permits that apply to every type of business here; its formula is set out on the Wichita permits page and the KS state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Wichita?
Permits for a restaurant in Wichita, KS come from 7 separate offices: Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department (joint City of Wichita / Sedgwick County department), City of Wichita Business Licensing Division (City Clerk's Office), Wichita-Sedgwick County Metropolitan Area Planning Department, Wichita Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction Division, Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Kansas Department of Revenue, Kansas Department of Agriculture, Division of Food Safety and Lodging. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department (joint City of Wichita / Sedgwick County department)Issues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Occupancy, Building Permit (Commercial)271 W. 3rd St. N., Suite 101, Wichita, KS 67202 · (316) 660-1840www.sedgwickcounty.org/mabcd
- City of Wichita Business Licensing Division (City Clerk's Office)Issues 1 permit on this page: General Business License — City of Wichita Position455 N. Main, 1st Floor, Wichita, KS 67202 · (316) 268-4553www.wichita.gov/344/Business-Licenses
- Wichita-Sedgwick County Metropolitan Area Planning DepartmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Zoning Verification Letter, Sign Permit271 W. 3rd St. N., Wichita, KS 67202 · (316) 268-4421www.wichita.gov/157/Wichita-Sedgwick-County-Planning
- Wichita Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Code Compliance Inspection and High-Hazard Permits455 N. Main, 11th Floor, Wichita, KS 67202 · (316) 268-4441www.wichita.gov/490/Fire
- Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionIssues 5 permits on this page, including Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, Corporation Annual Report120 SW 10th Avenue, Topeka, KS 66612 · (785) 296-4564sos.ks.gov
- Kansas Department of RevenueIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Registration Certificatewww.ksrevenue.gov
- Kansas Department of Agriculture, Division of Food Safety and LodgingIssues 2 permits on this page: Certified Food Protection Manager (optional, not mandatory), Food Establishment License1320 Research Park Drive, Manhattan, KS 66502 · (785) 564-6767www.agriculture.ks.gov/divisions-programs/food-safety-and-lodging
What does a restaurant need in Wichita that other businesses do not?
Sign Permit
The Metropolitan Area Planning Department's sign-permit fee is not published in any of the City of Wichita or MABCD documents cited for this jurisdiction. Secondary sources report a City of Wichita sign-permit rate of roughly $10 plus $2 per ten square feet of sign face, a figure traceable only to a document on online.wichita.gov's document viewer, so it is not used here. This is separate from MABCD's own Sign contractor license (a $100-a-year credential for the installer, recorded within the contractor license figures above), which is not a per-sign permit fee. Confirm the current sign-permit fee directly with the Metropolitan Area Planning Department (316-268-4421) before relying on a third-party figure.
Shared with other businesses in Wichita
- General Business License — City of Wichita Position — City of Wichita Business Licensing Division (City Clerk's Office), No fee, not applicable. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops, salons and barbers and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Certified Food Protection Manager (optional, not mandatory) — Kansas Department of Agriculture, Division of Food Safety and Lodging, No fee, not applicable. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Food Establishment License — Kansas Department of Agriculture, Division of Food Safety and Lodging, $250–$750 a year, banded by the establishment's square footage, up to statutory ceilings, annual. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Wichita, KS; what each one involves is set out on the Wichita permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across KS and are covered on the KS state page.
How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Wichita?
A restaurant and a coffee shop in Wichita, KS need exactly the same 4 permits beyond the ones every business needs.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a restaurant | Only a restaurant needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 4 | 4 | 0 | 0 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 2 | 2 | 0 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 2 | 2 | 0 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 3 | 0 | 4 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Wichita permits page and the KS state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Zoning Verification Letter — instructions and the $140 fee, payable to MABCD, with a five-business-day processing timeCity of Wichita, Metropolitan Area Planning Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
