10 permits · verified 2026-09-10
What permits do you need to open a food truck in Wichita?
In short
A food truck in Wichita, KS has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division charges $90 one-time filing for the articles of organization (llc). 2 of the 10 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-10 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a food truck in Wichita
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mobile Food Vendor License | City of Wichita Business Licensing Division (City Clerk's Office) | $350.00 per year, or $50.00 per special event (special-event permits are limited to 10 consecutive days, 3 special events a year, and/or 15 total days) — read directly from the City's own application form, not the flat $400/year or $250/six-month figure some third-party sites repeat. | annual — one year from issuance (exact renewal cycle not stated on the application) | 2026-09-10 |
| Certified Food Protection Manager (optional, not mandatory)only if it applies to you | Kansas Department of Agriculture, Division of Food Safety and Lodging | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
| Food Establishment License | Kansas Department of Agriculture, Division of Food Safety and Lodging | $250–$750 a year, banded by the establishment's square footage, up to statutory ceilings | annual | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Wichita
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fire Code Compliance Inspection and High-Hazard Permitsonly if it applies to you | Wichita Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction Division | No fee | recurring — frequency not stated in any published schedule | 2026-09-10 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
KS registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $90 one-time filing | perpetual, but an information report is due every two years | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $85 filed online; $90 on paper | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Registration Certificate | Kansas Department of Revenue | No fee | no stated expiration — valid for the named business at the registered location | 2026-09-04 |
| Corporation Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $53 filed online; $55 on paper | annual — due within three and a half months of the close of the entity's tax year, commonly 15 April | 2026-09-04 |
| LLC Information Reportonly if it applies to you | Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $90 filed online, every two years; $110 on paper | biennial — an entity formed in an even year files in each succeeding even year, and the same pattern holds for odd years | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Kansas Business Portal Positiononly if it applies to you | Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a food truck in Wichita?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 10 records listed for a food truck in Wichita, KS, 3 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
2 of the 10 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Mobile Food Vendor License: $350.00 per year, or $50.00 per special event (special-event permits are limited to 10 consecutive days, 3 special events a year, and/or 15 total days) — read directly from the City's own application form, not the flat $400/year or $250/six-month figure some third-party sites repeat.
Food Establishment License: $250–$750 a year, banded by the establishment's square footage, up to statutory ceilings
Which offices issue these permits in Wichita?
Permits for a food truck in Wichita, KS come from 5 separate offices: Wichita Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction Division, City of Wichita Business Licensing Division (City Clerk's Office), Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Kansas Department of Revenue, Kansas Department of Agriculture, Division of Food Safety and Lodging. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Wichita Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Code Compliance Inspection and High-Hazard Permits455 N. Main, 11th Floor, Wichita, KS 67202 · (316) 268-4441www.wichita.gov/490/Fire
- City of Wichita Business Licensing Division (City Clerk's Office)Issues 1 permit on this page: Mobile Food Vendor License455 N. Main, 1st Floor, Wichita, KS 67202 · (316) 268-4553www.wichita.gov/344/Business-Licenses
- Kansas Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionIssues 5 permits on this page, including Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, Corporation Annual Report120 SW 10th Avenue, Topeka, KS 66612 · (785) 296-4564sos.ks.gov
- Kansas Department of RevenueIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Registration Certificatewww.ksrevenue.gov
- Kansas Department of Agriculture, Division of Food Safety and LodgingIssues 2 permits on this page: Certified Food Protection Manager (optional, not mandatory), Food Establishment License1320 Research Park Drive, Manhattan, KS 66502 · (785) 564-6767www.agriculture.ks.gov/divisions-programs/food-safety-and-lodging
What does a food truck need in Wichita that other businesses do not?
1 of the 3 permits particular to a food truck here applies to no other business type we cover in Wichita: Mobile Food Vendor License.
Mobile Food Vendor License
The application itself requires a 'KS Food Establishment Number,' confirming this City license sits on top of, not instead of, the Kansas Department of Agriculture's own food establishment license recorded at the state layer. Before the license issues, the mobile food unit must be inspected annually by a member of the Central Kansas Fire Marshal's MFV Coalition, and the applicant must provide proof of general liability insurance covering the vending operation and separate proof of liability insurance covering the vending vehicle or trailer, plus a background check confirming no one working on the rig is a registered sex offender.
Food Establishment License
Statute sets these as ceilings rather than fixed points — up to $250 a year for a facility under 5,000 square feet, up to $300 from 5,000 to under 10,000, up to $500 from 10,000 to under 50,000, and up to $750 for anything larger, on top of a one-time application fee capped at $350. What the agriculture department actually charges could sit anywhere at or below those figures. The department may contract with a city or county to carry out inspection and enforcement on its behalf, and where it does, the law forbids that local government from charging its own separate fee for the same service — so a delegated inspection does not mean a second bill.
Shared with other businesses in Wichita
- Certified Food Protection Manager (optional, not mandatory) — Kansas Department of Agriculture, Division of Food Safety and Lodging, No fee, not applicable. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
The other 1 local permit in the tables apply to every type of business in Wichita, KS; what each one involves is set out on the Wichita permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across KS and are covered on the KS state page.
How does a food truck compare with other businesses in Wichita?
The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 2 of these permits. A food truck also needs Mobile Food Vendor License. A coffee shop needs General Business License — City of Wichita Position and Sign Permit, which a food truck does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a food truck | Only a food truck needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 4 | 2 | 1 | 2 |
| Restaurants | 4 | 2 | 1 | 2 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Wichita permits page and the KS state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Mobile Food Vendor License Application (form dated 05/24) — the $350.00/year and $50.00/special-event fees, the KS Food Establishment Number field, and the Section 3.15.070 fire-inspection requirementCity of Wichita, Business Licensing Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Kansas Statutes section 65-688 — the statutory ceilings on food establishment application and license feesOffice of Revisor of Statutes · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Kansas Statutes section 65-692 — the secretary of agriculture's authority to delegate food inspection to a municipalityOffice of Revisor of Statutes · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
