Commercial Compliance Hub

14 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a retail store in Wilmington?

In short

A retail store in Wilmington, DE has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Wilmington Department of Land Use and Planning charges $25 one-time, per written zoning certification request for the zoning certificate (written zoning verification). 6 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a retail store in Wilmington

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
City of Wilmington Business License — Retailers Non-EdibleCity of Wilmington Department of Finance, Wage/Business License Division$250 per license period (license type code 6004); renewal cycle not stated in the published fee schedulenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Sign Permit (erection permit plus annual maintenance renewal)only if it applies to youCity of Wilmington Department of Licenses and InspectionsTwo distinct charges under §41-65. First, an erection permit: $6.00 for each $1,000.00 of valuation or fraction thereof, based on the total valuation of all work and material involved to complete the sign, charged again on any alteration or relocation; an illuminated sign adds a separate flat $6.00 for the electric wiring and installation. Second, an annual renewal permit to maintain the sign: $10.00 for a sign not exceeding 50 square feet of face area plus $5.00 for each additional 50 square feet or fraction thereof; marquees, fixed awnings, canopies and similar fixed structures over public property are charged on the same $10.00-plus-$5.00 basis but measured by horizontal projected area; clocks, barberpoles and similar advertising devices are a flat $5.00; and no fee is ever less than a $5.00 minimum. Temporary signs are $10.00 up to 50 square feet plus $10.00 for each additional 50 square feet or fraction, with no permit required at all for a temporary sign of 25 square feet or less whose longest dimension is eight feet or less. Sign area is the product of the extreme vertical and extreme horizontal dimensions, measured from the building face or support on a projecting sign and between the outer limits of the letters where freestanding letters are used, and face area is counted on each face on which the sign is readable or has value as an advertisement.the erection permit lapses if the work is not completed within six months of issuance; the maintenance permit renews annually on or before July 1 for the period ending the following June 302026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Wilmington

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Building PermitCity of Wilmington Department of Land Use and PlanningVaries — formula on the Wilmington pageone-time, per project; expiration not separately stated in the published schedule2026-09-12
Zoning Certificate (Written Zoning Verification)only if it applies to youCity of Wilmington Department of Land Use and Planning$25 one-time, per written zoning certification requestone-time, per application; not further specified in the source guide2026-09-12
Zoning Board of Adjustment Variance Applicationonly if it applies to youCity of Wilmington Department of Land Use and PlanningVaries — formula on the Wilmington pageone-time per application; a variance once granted gives the applicant six months to apply for a building permit2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Wilmington Department of Land Use and Planning$100 one-time (the commercial rate; a lower $75.00 rate applies only to a residential dwelling); a $250.00 Temporary Commercial Certificate of Occupancy, maximum 30 days, is available separatelyone-time — issued after final inspections confirm code compliance2026-09-12
Fire Protection Plan ReviewWilmington Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office (Fire Prevention Division)Varies — formula on the Wilmington pageone-time, per project; required at least prior to beginning work2026-09-12
Fire Annual Permit (activity-based schedule)only if it applies to youWilmington Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office (Fire Prevention Division)Varies — formula on the Wilmington pageannual for the activities carrying an express annual fee; the City bills these through its own 'Fire Annual Permits Bills' category2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

DE registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to youDelaware Department of State, Division of Corporations$110 one-time filingperpetual, but a flat $300 tax is owed every year2026-09-04
Certificate of Incorporationonly if it applies to youDelaware Department of State, Division of Corporations$109 minimum one-time filing; rises with a larger authorized-share structureperpetual, but an annual report and franchise tax are due every year2026-09-04
LLC Annual Taxonly if it applies to youDelaware Department of State, Division of Corporations$300 a year, flatannual — due every June 12026-09-04
Business LicenseDelaware Division of Revenue$75 a year for most classifications, $90 for general retailers; each additional location adds $25 or $40annual, expiring December 31 — a 3-year license may be bought after the first year at exactly three times the annual fee2026-09-04
Annual Report and Franchise Taxonly if it applies to youDelaware Department of State, Division of CorporationsVaries — formula on the DE pageannual — due every March 12026-09-04
Sales Tax Permit — Delaware position (gross receipts tax instead)only if it applies to youDelaware Division of RevenueNo feenot applicable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Wilmington?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a retail store in Wilmington, DE, 5 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 5 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $425.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit (erection permit plus annual maintenance renewal): Two distinct charges under §41-65. First, an erection permit: $6.00 for each $1,000.00 of valuation or fraction thereof, based on the total valuation of all work and material involved to complete the sign, charged again on any alteration or relocation; an illuminated sign adds a separate flat $6.00 for the electric wiring and installation. Second, an annual renewal permit to maintain the sign: $10.00 for a sign not exceeding 50 square feet of face area plus $5.00 for each additional 50 square feet or fraction thereof; marquees, fixed awnings, canopies and similar fixed structures over public property are charged on the same $10.00-plus-$5.00 basis but measured by horizontal projected area; clocks, barberpoles and similar advertising devices are a flat $5.00; and no fee is ever less than a $5.00 minimum. Temporary signs are $10.00 up to 50 square feet plus $10.00 for each additional 50 square feet or fraction, with no permit required at all for a temporary sign of 25 square feet or less whose longest dimension is eight feet or less. Sign area is the product of the extreme vertical and extreme horizontal dimensions, measured from the building face or support on a projecting sign and between the outer limits of the letters where freestanding letters are used, and face area is counted on each face on which the sign is readable or has value as an advertisement.

The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Wilmington permits page and the DE state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Wilmington?

Permits for a retail store in Wilmington, DE come from 6 separate offices: City of Wilmington Department of Land Use and Planning, City of Wilmington Department of Finance, Wage/Business License Division, Wilmington Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office (Fire Prevention Division), City of Wilmington Department of Licenses and Inspections, Delaware Department of State, Division of Corporations, Delaware Division of Revenue. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a retail store need in Wilmington that other businesses do not?

1 of the 2 permits particular to a retail store here applies to no other business type we cover in Wilmington: City of Wilmington Business License — Retailers Non-Edible.

City of Wilmington Business License — Retailers Non-Edible

A general retail store licenses under the 'Retailers Non-Edible' code, confirmed at $250.00 from the City's own current fee table, layered on top of (not instead of) Delaware's own state business license, recorded at the state layer. A current State of Delaware Business License must be attached to the City application before it is accepted.

Shared with other businesses in Wilmington

  • Sign Permit (erection permit plus annual maintenance renewal) — City of Wilmington Department of Licenses and Inspections, Two distinct charges under §41-65. First, an erection permit: $6.00 for each $1,000.00 of valuation or fraction thereof, based on the total valuation of all work and material involved to complete the sign, charged again on any alteration or relocation; an illuminated sign adds a separate flat $6.00 for the electric wiring and installation. Second, an annual renewal permit to maintain the sign: $10.00 for a sign not exceeding 50 square feet of face area plus $5.00 for each additional 50 square feet or fraction thereof; marquees, fixed awnings, canopies and similar fixed structures over public property are charged on the same $10.00-plus-$5.00 basis but measured by horizontal projected area; clocks, barberpoles and similar advertising devices are a flat $5.00; and no fee is ever less than a $5.00 minimum. Temporary signs are $10.00 up to 50 square feet plus $10.00 for each additional 50 square feet or fraction, with no permit required at all for a temporary sign of 25 square feet or less whose longest dimension is eight feet or less. Sign area is the product of the extreme vertical and extreme horizontal dimensions, measured from the building face or support on a projecting sign and between the outer limits of the letters where freestanding letters are used, and face area is counted on each face on which the sign is readable or has value as an advertisement., the erection permit lapses if the work is not completed within six months of issuance; the maintenance permit renews annually on or before July 1 for the period ending the following June 30. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, fitness studios, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.

The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Wilmington, DE; what each one involves is set out on the Wilmington permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across DE and are covered on the DE state page.

How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Wilmington?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A retail store also needs City of Wilmington Business License — Retailers Non-Edible. A fitness studio needs City of Wilmington Business License — Health Spa/Club, which a retail store does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Wilmington, DE, compared with a retail store
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a retail storeOnly a retail store needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios2111
Salons and barbers3112
Veterinary clinics3112
Auto repair shops4113
Coffee shops5114
Restaurants5114
Childcare centres2022
Contractors and trades4024
Food trucks5025

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the salons and barbers page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Wilmington permits page and the DE state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. City of Wilmington Application for Business License, fee table effective 1/1/2024 (~90 named license-type codes)City of Wilmington, Department of Finance, Wage/Business License Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  2. Doing Business in the City of Wilmington — confirms the separate City business license requirement, head tax, and property tax abatement programCity of Wilmington · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.