Commercial Compliance Hub

13 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Wilmington?

In short

A childcare centre in Wilmington, DE has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Wilmington Department of Land Use and Planning charges $25 one-time, per written zoning certification request for the zoning certificate (written zoning verification). 5 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a childcare centre in Wilmington

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
City of Wilmington Business License — Day Care CentersCity of Wilmington Department of Finance, Wage/Business License Division$200 per license period (license type code 4012); renewal cycle not stated in the published fee schedulenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Child Care LicenseDelaware Department of Education, Office of Child Care LicensingNo feeconfirm the license term for standard centers and family child care homes with the Office of Child Care Licensing2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Wilmington

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Building PermitCity of Wilmington Department of Land Use and PlanningVaries — formula on the Wilmington pageone-time, per project; expiration not separately stated in the published schedule2026-09-12
Zoning Certificate (Written Zoning Verification)only if it applies to youCity of Wilmington Department of Land Use and Planning$25 one-time, per written zoning certification requestone-time, per application; not further specified in the source guide2026-09-12
Zoning Board of Adjustment Variance Applicationonly if it applies to youCity of Wilmington Department of Land Use and PlanningVaries — formula on the Wilmington pageone-time per application; a variance once granted gives the applicant six months to apply for a building permit2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Wilmington Department of Land Use and Planning$100 one-time (the commercial rate; a lower $75.00 rate applies only to a residential dwelling); a $250.00 Temporary Commercial Certificate of Occupancy, maximum 30 days, is available separatelyone-time — issued after final inspections confirm code compliance2026-09-12
Fire Protection Plan ReviewWilmington Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office (Fire Prevention Division)Varies — formula on the Wilmington pageone-time, per project; required at least prior to beginning work2026-09-12
Fire Annual Permit (activity-based schedule)only if it applies to youWilmington Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office (Fire Prevention Division)Varies — formula on the Wilmington pageannual for the activities carrying an express annual fee; the City bills these through its own 'Fire Annual Permits Bills' category2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

DE registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to youDelaware Department of State, Division of Corporations$110 one-time filingperpetual, but a flat $300 tax is owed every year2026-09-04
Certificate of Incorporationonly if it applies to youDelaware Department of State, Division of Corporations$109 minimum one-time filing; rises with a larger authorized-share structureperpetual, but an annual report and franchise tax are due every year2026-09-04
LLC Annual Taxonly if it applies to youDelaware Department of State, Division of Corporations$300 a year, flatannual — due every June 12026-09-04
Business LicenseDelaware Division of Revenue$75 a year for most classifications, $90 for general retailers; each additional location adds $25 or $40annual, expiring December 31 — a 3-year license may be bought after the first year at exactly three times the annual fee2026-09-04
Annual Report and Franchise Taxonly if it applies to youDelaware Department of State, Division of CorporationsVaries — formula on the DE pageannual — due every March 12026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Wilmington?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a childcare centre in Wilmington, DE, 6 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 6 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $375.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all.

The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Wilmington permits page and the DE state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Wilmington?

Permits for a childcare centre in Wilmington, DE come from 6 separate offices: City of Wilmington Department of Land Use and Planning, Wilmington Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office (Fire Prevention Division), City of Wilmington Department of Finance, Wage/Business License Division, Delaware Department of Education, Office of Child Care Licensing, Delaware Department of State, Division of Corporations, Delaware Division of Revenue. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a childcare centre need in Wilmington that other businesses do not?

2 of the 2 permits particular to a childcare centre here apply to no other business type we cover in Wilmington: City of Wilmington Business License — Day Care Centers and Child Care License.

City of Wilmington Business License — Day Care Centers

Confirmed at $200.00 from the City's own current fee table, layered on top of Delaware's own state Child Care License (Office of Child Care Licensing, no fee, recorded at the state layer). The City publishes no additional Wilmington-specific childcare inspection fee beyond this general business license and the standard building/zoning/fire process listed elsewhere for this jurisdiction.

Child Care License

No fee, because Delaware's own Office of Child Care Licensing states plainly that there is no charge for the license itself — the only costs involved come from third-party inspections the regulations still require, such as a fire marshal inspection, a lead-risk assessment or radon testing, each billed separately by the inspecting party rather than by the licensing office.

The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Wilmington, DE; what each one involves is set out on the Wilmington permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across DE and are covered on the DE state page.

How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in Wilmington?

The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs City of Wilmington Business License — Day Care Centers and Child Care License. A auto repair shop needs Sign Permit (erection permit plus annual maintenance renewal), City of Wilmington Business License — Gas Station/Auto Repair, Auto Body Shop Air Quality Permit and Auto Repair Shop License — Delaware position (general business license applies), which a childcare centre does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Wilmington, DE, compared with a childcare centre
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a childcare centreOnly a childcare centre needsOnly it needs
Auto repair shops4024
Coffee shops5025
Contractors and trades4024
Fitness studios2022
Food trucks5025
Restaurants5025
Retail stores2022
Salons and barbers3023
Veterinary clinics3023

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Wilmington permits page and the DE state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. City of Wilmington Application for Business License, fee table effective 1/1/2024 (~90 named license-type codes)City of Wilmington, Department of Finance, Wage/Business License Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  2. Delaware Office of Child Care Licensing — FAQ confirming there is no fee for a child care licenseDelaware Department of Education · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.