Commercial Compliance Hub

15 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Newark?

In short

A restaurant in Newark, DE has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Newark Office of the Fire Marshal (within the Code Enforcement Division) charges $100 per year for the fire safety business registration. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a restaurant in Newark

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Food Safety/Health Permit — State Permit Applies (Newark)only if it applies to youCity of Newark Code Enforcement Division (Planning and Development Department)No feenot applicable2026-09-12
City of Newark Business License — Class IV, Restaurants (sit-down, without alcohol)City of Newark Code Enforcement Division (Planning and Development Department)$1.00 multiplied by the Class IV license fee ratio of 255 (a base of $255.00), plus $1.50 per year per occupant (based on the space's occupant load), plus a flat $5.00 technology fee; an additional $35.00 Downtown Partnership fee applies if the business is located in Downtown Newark. A restaurant that serves alcoholic beverages instead falls into Class XIV, XV, or XVI (ratios 550-2,950, varying by occupancy and entertainment), a substantially higher bracket.annual; exact due date not stated in the published ordinance beyond becoming delinquent after the first month, with a 1.5% monthly penalty thereafter (Code §13-53)2026-09-12
Fire Safety Business Registrationonly if it applies to youCity of Newark Office of the Fire Marshal (within the Code Enforcement Division)$100 per yearannual; the registration form itself must be completed within 15 business days of the business's opening date2026-09-12
Certified Food Protection ManagerDelaware Division of Public Health, Office of Food ProtectionNo feeset by the accrediting program rather than by state regulation2026-09-04
Food Establishment PermitDelaware Division of Public Health, Office of Food Protection$100 a year for a public eating place; ice manufacturers, food processors and vending machine locations pay $30annual, non-refundable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Newark

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Annual Sign Feeonly if it applies to youCity of Newark Code Enforcement Division (Planning and Development Department)Varies — formula on the Newark pageannual2026-09-12
Zoning Board of Adjustment Variance / Special Use Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Newark Planning and Development DepartmentVaries — formula on the Newark pageone-time per application; Sec. 32-3.1(a) requires these fees be paid at the time of application and provides that they be reviewed every two years2026-09-12
Building PermitCity of Newark Code Enforcement Division (Planning and Development Department)Varies — formula on the Newark pageone-time, per project; expiration not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Newark Code Enforcement Division (Planning and Development Department)Varies — formula on the Newark pageone-time — issued after final inspections confirm code compliance; a Temporary Certificate of Occupancy is capped at 90 days2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

DE registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to youDelaware Department of State, Division of Corporations$110 one-time filingperpetual, but a flat $300 tax is owed every year2026-09-04
Certificate of Incorporationonly if it applies to youDelaware Department of State, Division of Corporations$109 minimum one-time filing; rises with a larger authorized-share structureperpetual, but an annual report and franchise tax are due every year2026-09-04
LLC Annual Taxonly if it applies to youDelaware Department of State, Division of Corporations$300 a year, flatannual — due every June 12026-09-04
Business LicenseDelaware Division of Revenue$75 a year for most classifications, $90 for general retailers; each additional location adds $25 or $40annual, expiring December 31 — a 3-year license may be bought after the first year at exactly three times the annual fee2026-09-04
Annual Report and Franchise Taxonly if it applies to youDelaware Department of State, Division of CorporationsVaries — formula on the DE pageannual — due every March 12026-09-04
Sales Tax Permit — Delaware position (gross receipts tax instead)only if it applies to youDelaware Division of RevenueNo feenot applicable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Newark?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a restaurant in Newark, DE, 6 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 6 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $175.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

City of Newark Business License — Class IV, Restaurants (sit-down, without alcohol): $1.00 multiplied by the Class IV license fee ratio of 255 (a base of $255.00), plus $1.50 per year per occupant (based on the space's occupant load), plus a flat $5.00 technology fee; an additional $35.00 Downtown Partnership fee applies if the business is located in Downtown Newark. A restaurant that serves alcoholic beverages instead falls into Class XIV, XV, or XVI (ratios 550-2,950, varying by occupancy and entertainment), a substantially higher bracket.

The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Newark permits page and the DE state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Newark?

Permits for a restaurant in Newark, DE come from 6 separate offices: City of Newark Code Enforcement Division (Planning and Development Department), City of Newark Planning and Development Department, City of Newark Office of the Fire Marshal (within the Code Enforcement Division), Delaware Department of State, Division of Corporations, Delaware Division of Public Health, Office of Food Protection, Delaware Division of Revenue. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a restaurant need in Newark that other businesses do not?

1 of the 5 permits particular to a restaurant here applies to no other business type we cover in Newark: City of Newark Business License — Class IV, Restaurants (sit-down, without alcohol).

City of Newark Business License — Class IV, Restaurants (sit-down, without alcohol)

Layered on top of (not instead of) Delaware's own state business license and state Office of Food Protection food establishment permit, both listed on this site's Delaware state page. Class IV covers a non-alcohol, sit-down restaurant without entertainment; a restaurant that serves alcohol or offers entertainment is priced under a different, higher-ratio class instead, disclosed above rather than priced at this record's lower rate.

Shared with other businesses in Newark

  • Food Safety/Health Permit — State Permit Applies (Newark) — City of Newark Code Enforcement Division (Planning and Development Department), No fee, not applicable. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Fire Safety Business Registration — City of Newark Office of the Fire Marshal (within the Code Enforcement Division), $100 per year, annual; the registration form itself must be completed within 15 business days of the business's opening date. Also required for auto repair shops, retail stores and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Certified Food Protection Manager — Delaware Division of Public Health, Office of Food Protection, No fee, set by the accrediting program rather than by state regulation. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Food Establishment Permit — Delaware Division of Public Health, Office of Food Protection, $100 a year for a public eating place; ice manufacturers, food processors and vending machine locations pay $30, annual, non-refundable. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.

The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Newark, DE; what each one involves is set out on the Newark permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across DE and are covered on the DE state page.

How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Newark?

The closest match is a food truck, which shares 4 of these permits. A restaurant also needs City of Newark Business License — Class IV, Restaurants (sit-down, without alcohol). A food truck needs Peddlers/Vendors License, which a restaurant does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Newark, DE, compared with a restaurant
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a restaurantOnly a restaurant needsOnly it needs
Food trucks5411
Coffee shops4321
Retail stores2141
Auto repair shops4143
Childcare centres2052
Contractors and trades4054
Fitness studios1051
Salons and barbers2052
Veterinary clinics2052

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page and retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Newark permits page and the DE state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Code of the City of Newark, Chapter 13 (Fire Prevention and Taxation), Article VII (Business License), §§13-43–13-64 — the full class-ratio fee structure, exemptions, and technology/downtown feesCity of Newark, via Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.