The Colony
City of The Colony Health Division
In short
City of The Colony Health Division issues 5 permits we publish for The Colony, last verified 2026-08-25. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.
What this agency issues
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public and Semi-Public Pool Inspection | City of The Colony Health Division | $100–$150 first or additional | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Health Reinspection Feeonly if it applies to you | City of The Colony Health Division | $150 per reinspection | per inspection | 2026-08-25 |
| Temporary and Seasonal Food Permitonly if it applies to you | City of The Colony Health Division | $52–$200 per event or per season | 14 days or less, or 6 months for the seasonal permit | 2026-08-25 |
| Health Plan Review | City of The Colony Health Division | $150 per review | per review | 2026-08-25 |
| Food Establishment Health Permit | City of The Colony Health Division | $265–$750 per year, by type and floor area | 1 October to 30 September | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
About each permit
Public and Semi-Public Pool Inspection
$150 for the first pool, spa or splash zone and $100 for each additional one. "Semi-public" is the word that catches people — an apartment block, hotel or gym pool is not private and needs inspecting. The schedule does not state how often, so confirm the frequency before treating $150 as an annual cost.
Health Reinspection Fee
$150, and the schedule states the trigger precisely: a reinspection is required if the inspection score is 75 or less. That is a useful number to manage against, because it tells you exactly where the line sits. A facility can also request its own reinspection at the same $150, and a same-day, after-hours or holiday inspection is $150 at the inspector's discretion.
Temporary and Seasonal Food Permit
$52 per event per vendor for 14 days or less — charged per vendor, so a three-stall operation at one event pays $156 rather than $52. A seasonal permit covering six months is $200, which at four or more events is clearly the cheaper route.
Health Plan Review
$150 for plan review, and separately $75 for a pre-opening or change of ownership inspection. That $75 is the one operators taking over a going concern tend to miss: it is charged even where nothing is being built, simply because the premises is changing hands.
Food Establishment Health Permit
A food establishment is $350 under 2,000 square feet of gross floor area, $550 above 2,000 and $750 above 2,500 — note that the middle and top bands overlap as the schedule prints them, so confirm with the Health Division which applies between 2,000 and 2,500. A convenience store is $265, or $320 with a deli. Grocery and produce is $550 with additional departments at $350 each, so a supermarket with two counters pays $1,250. Warehouse, distribution and catering take the same $350 and $550 area bands. A self-service food market is $100. Paying late adds $100.
Contact
- Jurisdiction
- The Colony
- Phone
- Not verified — use the website
- Website
- www.thecolonytx.gov/
Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.
Sources
Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- City of The Colony food ordinance, Ordinance 2025-2627City of The Colony, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
- City of The Colony Health Fee Schedule, effective 1 October 2025 to 30 September 2026 (filed with Texas DSHS 13 November 2025)City of The Colony, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
Other offices serving The Colony
The full permit list for this jurisdiction
Industry permit lists that include this agency
Texas jurisdictions
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
