17 permits · verified 2026-08-25
What permits do you need to open a retail store in The Colony?
In short
A retail store in The Colony, TX has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of The Colony Building Inspections charges $75 per registration, per year for the contractor registration. 10 of the 17 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a retail store in The Colony
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contractor Registration | City of The Colony Building Inspections | $75 per registration, per year | 1 year | 2026-08-25 |
| Public and Semi-Public Pool Inspection | City of The Colony Health Division | $100–$150 first or additional | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Health Reinspection Feeonly if it applies to you | City of The Colony Health Division | $150 per reinspection | per inspection | 2026-08-25 |
| Temporary and Seasonal Food Permitonly if it applies to you | City of The Colony Health Division | $52–$200 per event or per season | 14 days or less, or 6 months for the seasonal permit | 2026-08-25 |
| Health Plan Review | City of The Colony Health Division | $150 per review | per review | 2026-08-25 |
| Vent Hood Permit | City of The Colony Fire Marshal | $50–$100 first hood, then each additional | per permit | 2026-08-25 |
| Special Event Permitonly if it applies to you | City of The Colony Building Inspections | $50–$250 per event, by expected attendance | per event | 2026-08-25 |
| Food Establishment Health Permit | City of The Colony Health Division | $265–$750 per year, by type and floor area | 1 October to 30 September | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in The Colony
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Building Permit | City of The Colony Building Inspections | Varies — formula on the The Colony page | per permit | 2026-08-25 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of The Colony Building Inspections | $75 per certificate | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of The Colony Building Inspections | Varies — formula on the The Colony page | per permit | 2026-08-25 |
| Fire Sprinkler Permitonly if it applies to you | City of The Colony Fire Marshal | Varies — formula on the The Colony page | per permit | 2026-08-25 |
| Electrical, Mechanical and Plumbing Permitonly if it applies to you | City of The Colony Building Inspections | Varies — formula on the The Colony page | per permit | 2026-08-25 |
| Fire Alarm Permitonly if it applies to you | City of The Colony Fire Marshal | Varies — formula on the The Colony page | per permit | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in The Colony?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 17 records listed for a retail store in The Colony, TX, 8 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 8 that always apply, 4 carry a flat fee, coming to $300.00. That is a floor, not a total. 10 of the 17 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Public and Semi-Public Pool Inspection: $100–$150 first or additional
Temporary and Seasonal Food Permit: $52–$200 per event or per season
Vent Hood Permit: $50–$100 first hood, then each additional
Special Event Permit: $50–$250 per event, by expected attendance
Food Establishment Health Permit: $265–$750 per year, by type and floor area
The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the The Colony permits page and the TX state page.
Is The Colony expensive for a retail store?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — The Colony sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: The Colony charges $75. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 2 charge less, 18 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.
Contractor Registration: The Colony charges $75. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Allen to $100 in Richardson, with a median of $100. 1 charges less and 4 charge more.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in The Colony?
Permits for a retail store in The Colony, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of The Colony Building Inspections, City of The Colony Health Division, City of The Colony Fire Marshal, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of The Colony Building InspectionsIssues 6 permits on this page, including Contractor Registration, Commercial Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy6800 Main Street, The Colony, TX 75056 · (972) 624-3150www.thecolonytx.gov/283/Building-InspectionsPermits
- City of The Colony Health DivisionIssues 5 permits on this page, including Public and Semi-Public Pool Inspection, Health Reinspection Fee, Temporary and Seasonal Food Permit6800 Main Street, The Colony, TX 75056www.thecolonytx.gov
- City of The Colony Fire MarshalIssues 3 permits on this page: Fire Sprinkler Permit, Vent Hood Permit, Fire Alarm Permit6800 Main Street, The Colony, TX 75056www.thecolonytx.gov
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a retail store need in The Colony that other businesses do not?
Public and Semi-Public Pool Inspection
$150 for the first pool, spa or splash zone and $100 for each additional one. "Semi-public" is the word that catches people — an apartment block, hotel or gym pool is not private and needs inspecting. The schedule does not state how often, so confirm the frequency before treating $150 as an annual cost.
Vent Hood Permit
$100 for the first hood and $50 for each additional one, so a kitchen with a range hood and a separate fryer hood pays $150. A CO2 system — the sort a bar or a soft drink dispenser uses — is $100, and special locks $100. Working without a fire permit doubles the fee.
Shared with other businesses in The Colony
- Contractor Registration — City of The Colony Building Inspections, $75 per registration, per year, 1 year. Also required for auto repair shops, contractors and trades, restaurants and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
- Health Reinspection Fee — City of The Colony Health Division, $150 per reinspection, per inspection. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Temporary and Seasonal Food Permit — City of The Colony Health Division, $52–$200 per event or per season, 14 days or less, or 6 months for the seasonal permit. Also required for coffee shops, food trucks and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- Health Plan Review — City of The Colony Health Division, $150 per review, per review. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Special Event Permit — City of The Colony Building Inspections, $50–$250 per event, by expected attendance, per event. Also required for coffee shops, fitness studios, food trucks and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- Food Establishment Health Permit — City of The Colony Health Division, $265–$750 per year, by type and floor area, 1 October to 30 September. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in The Colony, TX; what each one involves is set out on the The Colony permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a retail store compare with other businesses in The Colony?
The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 7 of these permits. A retail store also needs Public and Semi-Public Pool Inspection. A restaurant needs Mixed Beverage Permit (MB), which a retail store does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a retail store | Only a retail store needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 8 | 7 | 1 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 6 | 6 | 2 | 0 |
| Fitness studios | 3 | 2 | 6 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 2 | 6 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 1 | 1 | 7 | 0 |
| Contractors and trades | 2 | 1 | 7 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 1 | 7 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 1 | 0 | 8 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 8 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the contractors and trades page, restaurants page, food trucks page and coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the The Colony permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of The Colony Health Fee Schedule, effective 1 October 2025 to 30 September 2026 (filed with Texas DSHS 13 November 2025)City of The Colony, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
- City of The Colony Master Fee Schedule, 1 October 2025 to 30 September 2026City of The Colony · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
