Commercial Compliance Hub

12 permits · verified 2026-08-25

What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in The Colony?

In short

A fitness studio in The Colony, TX has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of The Colony Building Inspections charges $75 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 7 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a fitness studio in The Colony

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Public and Semi-Public Pool InspectionCity of The Colony Health Division$100–$150 first or additionalnot stated in the published schedule2026-08-25
Special Event Permitonly if it applies to youCity of The Colony Building Inspections$50–$250 per event, by expected attendanceper event2026-08-25
Health Spa Certificate of RegistrationTexas Secretary of State$100 per location, per yearannual2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in The Colony

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Building PermitCity of The Colony Building InspectionsVaries — formula on the The Colony pageper permit2026-08-25
Certificate of OccupancyCity of The Colony Building Inspections$75 per certificatenot stated in the published schedule2026-08-25
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of The Colony Building InspectionsVaries — formula on the The Colony pageper permit2026-08-25
Fire Sprinkler Permitonly if it applies to youCity of The Colony Fire MarshalVaries — formula on the The Colony pageper permit2026-08-25
Electrical, Mechanical and Plumbing Permitonly if it applies to youCity of The Colony Building InspectionsVaries — formula on the The Colony pageper permit2026-08-25
Fire Alarm Permitonly if it applies to youCity of The Colony Fire MarshalVaries — formula on the The Colony pageper permit2026-08-25

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in The Colony?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a fitness studio in The Colony, TX, 5 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 5 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $175.00. That is a floor, not a total. 7 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Public and Semi-Public Pool Inspection: $100–$150 first or additional

Special Event Permit: $50–$250 per event, by expected attendance

The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the The Colony permits page and the TX state page.

Is The Colony expensive for a fitness studio?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — The Colony sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Certificate of Occupancy: The Colony charges $75. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 2 charge less, 18 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in The Colony?

Permits for a fitness studio in The Colony, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of The Colony Health Division, City of The Colony Building Inspections, City of The Colony Fire Marshal, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a fitness studio need in The Colony that other businesses do not?

1 of the 3 permits particular to a fitness studio here applies to no other business type we cover in The Colony: Health Spa Certificate of Registration.

Health Spa Certificate of Registration

Texas law is direct about this: a person may not operate a health spa, or sell a health spa membership, without a certificate of registration. A health spa is defined as a business selling memberships that provide instruction in, or use of facilities for, a physical exercise programme — so an ordinary gym or studio selling memberships is inside the definition. Each location needs its own certificate and the fee is $100, original or renewal, effective for one year. The fee is rarely the real cost. Security must be provided for each location, and the amount is set by the total amount paid for PREPAID memberships at that location, not by how many members you have: $20,000 of security up to $20,000 of prepaid memberships, then $25,000, $30,000, $35,000, $40,000 and $45,000 in steps, reaching $50,000 once prepaid memberships pass $45,000. Two exemptions matter and are worth checking before you post a bond. A facility that does not require memberships longer than 31 days, does not charge an initiation fee and does not take recurring debits can be exempt. So can an established operator with more than $50,000 in assets per location, at least five years of stable ownership and no closure-related complaints, applying on Form 3006. Separately exempt from registration altogether: tax-exempt organisations, member-owned private clubs, businesses teaching only dance or aerobics, those providing only physical rehabilitation, entities operating under a state license, and school activities under the Education Code.

Shared with other businesses in The Colony

The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in The Colony, TX; what each one involves is set out on the The Colony permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a fitness studio compare with other businesses in The Colony?

The closest match is a retail store, which shares 2 of these permits. A fitness studio also needs Health Spa Certificate of Registration. A retail store needs Contractor Registration, Health Reinspection Fee, Temporary and Seasonal Food Permit and 3 more, which a fitness studio does not.

Permits particular to each business type in The Colony, TX, compared with a fitness studio
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a fitness studioOnly a fitness studio needsOnly it needs
Retail stores8216
Food trucks3122
Coffee shops6125
Restaurants8127
Auto repair shops1031
Childcare centres1031
Contractors and trades2032
Salons and barbers2032
Veterinary clinics1031

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the The Colony permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Frequently Asked Questions for Health Spas — Texas Secretary of StateTexas Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.