Commercial Compliance Hub

Odessa

Odessa Fire Marshal's Office

In short

Odessa Fire Marshal's Office issues 8 permits we publish for Odessa, last verified 2026-10-09. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.

What this agency issues

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire Sprinkler Permitonly if it applies to youOdessa Fire Marshal's Office$150 plus $0.03 per square footnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-10-09
Mobile Food Vendor PermitOdessa Fire Marshal's Office$50–$300 single event or annualannual permit expires 31 December of the year issued; single event permit per event2026-10-09
Licensed Facility Fire InspectionOdessa Fire Marshal's Office$50–$200 by facility typenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-10-09
Fire Alarm Permitonly if it applies to youOdessa Fire Marshal's Office$150 plus $0.03 per square footnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-10-09
Fire Operational Permitonly if it applies to youOdessa Fire Marshal's Office$100–$300 by permit typenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-10-09
Annual Fire Inspectiononly if it applies to youOdessa Fire Marshal's Office$150 per annual inspectionannual2026-10-09
Fire Construction Permitonly if it applies to youOdessa Fire Marshal's Office$100–$200 by permit typenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-10-09
False Alarm Feeonly if it applies to youOdessa Fire Marshal's Office$300–$500 after the third false alarm in a calendar yearcounted 1 January to 31 December2026-10-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

About each permit

Fire Sprinkler Permit

$150 plus three cents a square foot. Odessa's building schedule charges its own fire protection fees on top at $0.03 a square foot for sprinklers, $0.03 for alarms and $100 for suppression — read both schedules before assuming one covers the other.

Mobile Food Vendor Permit

Odessa Code § 6-6-6(a)(4) sets the fee at $300 for an annual permit, which may be prorated, or $50 per event for a single event permit; the city's Food Truck Vendor Information page publishes the same figures and describes the March 2025 amendment as making permitting much easier. Annual permits expire on 31 December of the year issued. The sequence matters more than the fee: the Ector County Health Department must permit the unit FIRST, then the application goes through the MGO Connect portal with the county permit, a notarised hold harmless and indemnification agreement, proof of liability insurance and a signed and notarised location and restroom agreement, and the unit must pass a Fire Marshal inspection before the operational permit is issued and service begins. Mobile food establishments are held to Chapter 319 of the 2021 International Fire Code. The Fire Marshal fee schedule separately lists a $150 mobile food preparation vehicle operational permit (IFC 105.5.32); the food truck page does not say whether that is covered by this permit or charged on top, so ask the Fire Marshal on 432-257-0524 before budgeting. Cash or cheque payers go to Billing and Collections at City Hall, 411 W. 8th Street, first, then take the receipt to the Fire Marshal at 307 N. Lee (2nd floor).

Licensed Facility Fire Inspection

A day care centre is $150, a private school $200, a foster home $50, and a private hospital or nursing home $150 plus $1 per bed. Public schools and jails or youth centres are inspected free. The per-bed charge is the one to model on a large facility: a 120-bed nursing home comes to $270.

Fire Alarm Permit

$150 plus three cents a square foot, and the schedule states what that buys: one plan review, a battery test and one acceptance test. The fire sprinkler permit is priced identically and includes one plan review, one underground hydrostatic test or flush and one above-ground hydrostatic test. A suppression system permit is a flat $150 with one plan review and one acceptance test. Fire pumps, standpipes and automatic extinguishing systems are all charged at the fire alarm rate.

Fire Operational Permit

Most operational permits are a flat $150: compressed gases, cutting and welding, dry cleaning, flammable and combustible liquids, hazardous materials, high-piled storage, hot work, industrial ovens, LP-gas, motor fuel dispensing, open burning, open flames and candles, places of assembly, pyrotechnic special effects material, refrigeration equipment, repair garages, spraying and dipping, scrap tyre storage, waste handling and wood products among them. The exceptions: carnivals and fairs are $300; amusement buildings, covered and open mall buildings, exhibits and trade shows, and explosives are $250; temporary membrane structures and tents are $200; and energy storage systems are $100.

Annual Fire Inspection

The Fire Marshal fee schedule lists an annual fire inspection for all commercial businesses at $150. The first re-inspection carries no fee; the second and each one after it are $100. Bars, night clubs and game rooms are listed separately at $300 under TABC license and after-hour establishments.

Fire Construction Permit

$100 for flammable and combustible liquids, fuel cell power systems, gas detection systems, industrial ovens, plant extraction systems, smoke control or exhaust systems and solar photovoltaic systems. $125 for emergency responder communication coverage, energy storage systems, gates and barricades across fire apparatus access roads, LP-gas and private hydrants. $150 for compressed gases, cryogenic fluids, hazardous materials, high-piled combustible storage and motor vehicle repair rooms and booths. A special event structure or a temporary membrane structure or tent is $200.

False Alarm Fee

The Fire Marshal fee schedule counts false alarms from 1 January to 31 December: the first three carry no fee, the fourth to seventh are listed at $300 and the eighth and over at $500. The count resets on 1 January.

Contact

Jurisdiction
Odessa
Phone
432-257-0524

Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.

Sources

Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.

  1. City of Odessa Code of Ordinances Article 6-6, Food Establishments (§ 6-6-6 Mobile food vendors; §§ 6-6-31 to 6-6-33 permits, fees and renewal), code current to 11 August 2026City of Odessa (eCode360) · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
  2. Fire Marshal Fee Schedule (2021 International Fire Code)Odessa Fire Marshal's Office · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24

Other offices serving Odessa

The full permit list for this jurisdiction

Industry permit lists that include this agency

Texas jurisdictions

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.