Commercial Compliance Hub

14 permits · verified 2026-09-14

What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Casper?

In short

A coffee shop in Casper, WY has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Casper, Community Development Department — Planning Division charges $NaN per application for the conditional use permit / variance / site plan review. 3 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a coffee shop in Casper

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permit (required; no published fee line)only if it applies to youCity of Casper, Community Development Department — Planning DivisionNo feenot stated in any readable source2026-09-14
Health License — Restaurant and Food ServiceCity of Casper, City Clerk's OfficeBy class under CMC §8.04.020(A). A restaurant is $100.00, with an additional $25.00 where it provides alcoholic liquor or malt beverage. A bar is $100.00, with an additional $25.00 where food is served. Groceries, supermarkets, food manufacturers, distributors, processors, bakeries, meat markets and delicatessens are $75.00 base, with a grocery or supermarket charged $25.00 more for each of a meat market, bakery and delicatessen operated within it. Swimming pools are $75.00, campgrounds, motels, hotels, bed and breakfasts and body art and permanent cosmetic establishments $25.00, and child day care facilities $50.00. The City's Health Licenses page lists food service facilities on parochial, private or public school property at 'No license fee'. Section 8.04.030 allows a hardship license at $1.00.the City's fiscal year, July 1 to June 30, under CMC §8.04.0402026-09-14
Food Establishment PermitWyoming Department of Agriculture, Consumer Health Services$200 initial license; annual renewal is $100; a temporary permit of up to 14 days is $50annual2026-09-04
Food Handler / Manager Certification — Wyoming Food Safety Ruleonly if it applies to youWyoming Department of Agriculture, Consumer Health ServicesNo feenot applicable statewide2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Casper

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Conditional Use Permit / Variance / Site Plan Reviewonly if it applies to youCity of Casper, Community Development Department — Planning Division$NaN per applicationone-time per application2026-09-14
Building PermitCity of Casper, Community Development Department — Building Inspection DivisionVaries — formula on the Casper pagea permit is good for 180 days once issued2026-09-14
Fire Inspection (self-inspection programme; fee not published)Casper Fire-EMS, Community Risk Reduction DivisionNo feeself-inspections are completed annually by December 31; on-site inspections run on a rotational basis averaging no more often than once every three years2026-09-14
Certificate of Occupancy (required; no fee line in the published schedule)City of Casper, Community Development Department — Building Inspection DivisionNo feeone-time, issued on completion2026-09-14
General Business License — City of Casper position (seven enumerated categories)only if it applies to youCity of Casper, City Clerk's OfficeNo feenot applicable to a general license; the enumerated licenses run either the calendar year or the July 1 to June 30 fiscal year depending on category2026-09-14

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

WY registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License — Wyoming Positiononly if it applies to youWyoming Secretary of State, Business DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youWyoming Secretary of State, Business Division$100 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report license tax is due every year2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youWyoming Secretary of State, Business Division$100 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report license tax is due every year2026-09-04
Annual Report License Taxonly if it applies to youWyoming Secretary of State, Business DivisionVaries — formula on the WY pageannual — due in the entity's own anniversary month of formation; may be filed up to 120 days early2026-09-04
Sales Tax Vendor LicenseWyoming Department of Revenue, Excise Tax Division$60 one-time — reinstating a forfeited license also costs $60no expiration — valid without further payment until the department revokes it2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Casper?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a coffee shop in Casper, WY, 6 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 6 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $260.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 6 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Health License — Restaurant and Food Service: By class under CMC §8.04.020(A). A restaurant is $100.00, with an additional $25.00 where it provides alcoholic liquor or malt beverage. A bar is $100.00, with an additional $25.00 where food is served. Groceries, supermarkets, food manufacturers, distributors, processors, bakeries, meat markets and delicatessens are $75.00 base, with a grocery or supermarket charged $25.00 more for each of a meat market, bakery and delicatessen operated within it. Swimming pools are $75.00, campgrounds, motels, hotels, bed and breakfasts and body art and permanent cosmetic establishments $25.00, and child day care facilities $50.00. The City's Health Licenses page lists food service facilities on parochial, private or public school property at 'No license fee'. Section 8.04.030 allows a hardship license at $1.00.

The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Casper permits page and the WY state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Casper?

Permits for a coffee shop in Casper, WY come from 7 separate offices: City of Casper, Community Development Department — Planning Division, City of Casper, Community Development Department — Building Inspection Division, Casper Fire-EMS, Community Risk Reduction Division, City of Casper, City Clerk's Office, Wyoming Department of Agriculture, Consumer Health Services, Wyoming Secretary of State, Business Division, Wyoming Department of Revenue, Excise Tax Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a coffee shop need in Casper that other businesses do not?

Health License — Restaurant and Food Service

Casper's restaurant obligation is a health license rather than a business license, issued by the City Clerk after Casper-Natrona County Health Department inspection, and it runs the City's fiscal year rather than a rolling twelve months. One classification point genuinely remains open at city level, and this record states plainly what the primary source does and does not say rather than guessing: the City's own Health Licenses page lists its complete business-type table verbatim as Body Art/Tattoo, Swimming Pools, Child Day Cares, Hotels/Motels/Bed & Breakfasts/Roominghouses & Campgrounds, a grocery/supermarket/food-manufacturer/distributor/processor/bakery/meat-market/delicatessen class at $75.00, a bar class at $100.00, a restaurant class at $100.00, and school food service at no charge — with neither 'coffee shop' nor 'cafe' appearing anywhere on that page as its own category. The choice between the $100.00 restaurant line and the $75.00 grocery/bakery line is therefore left to the City Clerk's own classification judgment at application, not resolved by the ordinance's own text. The county level is settled, which narrows the question usefully: the Casper-Natrona County Health Department's own Food License Procedure chart puts a coffee shop in its Specialty class, at $125.00 for plan review, and charges inspections by class at $110.00 multi-venue, $85.00 full service, $60.00 fast food and $60.00 pre-packaged, with additional follow-up inspections $60.00, a remodel $75.00, a change of ownership $75.00 and a HACCP review $175.00. So a coffee shop's county treatment is clear even though its city license class is not. A separate county layer applies on top and is genuinely significant: Natrona County is one of only six Wyoming counties running its own health programme, and the Casper-Natrona County Health Department charges $200.00 for a new food license and $100.00 annually to renew, with plan review at $325.00 multi-venue, $225.00 full service, $175.00 fast food and $125.00 specialty, mobile or coffee shop, and inspections at $110.00, $85.00 and $60.00 respectively, plus $75.00 for a remodel and $60.00 for additional follow-up inspections. The county form sets out the sequence: obtain the city health or business license, then apply for the food license at the health department, with the license itself issued by the Wyoming Department of Agriculture.

Shared with other businesses in Casper

  • Sign Permit (required; no published fee line) — City of Casper, Community Development Department — Planning Division, No fee, not stated in any readable source. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.
  • Food Establishment Permit — Wyoming Department of Agriculture, Consumer Health Services, $200 initial license; annual renewal is $100; a temporary permit of up to 14 days is $50, annual. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
  • Food Handler / Manager Certification — Wyoming Food Safety Rule — Wyoming Department of Agriculture, Consumer Health Services, No fee, not applicable statewide. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Casper, WY; what each one involves is set out on the Casper permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across WY and are covered on the WY state page.

How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Casper?

A coffee shop and a restaurant in Casper, WY need exactly the same 4 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Casper, WY, compared with a coffee shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a coffee shopOnly a coffee shop needsOnly it needs
Restaurants4400
Retail stores2220
Food trucks3221
Fitness studios2131
Auto repair shops3132
Veterinary clinics3132
Salons and barbers4133
Childcare centres2042
Contractors and trades4044

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the salons and barbers page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Casper permits page and the WY state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Health Licenses — the City's own current fee table for businesses affecting the public health, listing restaurants at $100 plus $25 with alcohol, bars at $100 plus $25 with food, groceries and food processors at $75 with $25 additions, child day cares at $50, swimming pools at $75, body art at $25, lodging at $25 and school food service at no feeCity of Casper · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
  2. Casper Municipal Code, Supplement 96, codified through Ordinance 03-26 (4-21-2026) — §5.04.040 (the seven enumerated license categories), §5.08.170 and §5.08.050 (alcohol fees), §5.38.020 (itinerant merchants), §8.04.010(B) (the mobile food vehicle exclusion added by Ordinance 06-25, 6-3-2025), §8.04.020 (health license fee classes), §8.04.030 (hardship license), §8.04.040 (fiscal year term), §8.12.020 and §8.12.040 (day-care standards and zoning), §10.36.031 (mobile vendor parking permits), §15.04.090 and §15.08.040 (certificate of occupancy), §15.04.100 (fees set by resolution), §15.12 (contractor licensing), §15.40.010 and §15.40.105 (fire code and self-inspection) and §17.96 (signs)City of Casper · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
  3. Licensing — the Casper-Natrona County Health Department's own current page and food service plan review application, giving the $200 new food license and $100 annual renewal, plan review at $325 multi-venue, $225 full service, $175 fast food and $125 specialty, mobile or coffee shop, and inspection fees at $110, $85 and $60Casper-Natrona County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
  4. Wyoming Department of Agriculture — food establishment initial and annual renewal fees, and local delegationWyoming Department of Agriculture · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.