12 permits · verified 2026-09-14
What permits do you need to open a retail store in Casper?
In short
A retail store in Casper, WY has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Casper, Community Development Department — Planning Division charges $NaN per application for the conditional use permit / variance / site plan review. 3 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a retail store in Casper
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permit (required; no published fee line)only if it applies to you | City of Casper, Community Development Department — Planning Division | No fee | not stated in any readable source | 2026-09-14 |
| Health License — Restaurant and Food Service | City of Casper, City Clerk's Office | By class under CMC §8.04.020(A). A restaurant is $100.00, with an additional $25.00 where it provides alcoholic liquor or malt beverage. A bar is $100.00, with an additional $25.00 where food is served. Groceries, supermarkets, food manufacturers, distributors, processors, bakeries, meat markets and delicatessens are $75.00 base, with a grocery or supermarket charged $25.00 more for each of a meat market, bakery and delicatessen operated within it. Swimming pools are $75.00, campgrounds, motels, hotels, bed and breakfasts and body art and permanent cosmetic establishments $25.00, and child day care facilities $50.00. The City's Health Licenses page lists food service facilities on parochial, private or public school property at 'No license fee'. Section 8.04.030 allows a hardship license at $1.00. | the City's fiscal year, July 1 to June 30, under CMC §8.04.040 | 2026-09-14 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Casper
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Conditional Use Permit / Variance / Site Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | City of Casper, Community Development Department — Planning Division | $NaN per application | one-time per application | 2026-09-14 |
| Building Permit | City of Casper, Community Development Department — Building Inspection Division | Varies — formula on the Casper page | a permit is good for 180 days once issued | 2026-09-14 |
| Fire Inspection (self-inspection programme; fee not published) | Casper Fire-EMS, Community Risk Reduction Division | No fee | self-inspections are completed annually by December 31; on-site inspections run on a rotational basis averaging no more often than once every three years | 2026-09-14 |
| Certificate of Occupancy (required; no fee line in the published schedule) | City of Casper, Community Development Department — Building Inspection Division | No fee | one-time, issued on completion | 2026-09-14 |
| General Business License — City of Casper position (seven enumerated categories)only if it applies to you | City of Casper, City Clerk's Office | No fee | not applicable to a general license; the enumerated licenses run either the calendar year or the July 1 to June 30 fiscal year depending on category | 2026-09-14 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
WY registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General Business License — Wyoming Positiononly if it applies to you | Wyoming Secretary of State, Business Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Wyoming Secretary of State, Business Division | $100 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report license tax is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Wyoming Secretary of State, Business Division | $100 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report license tax is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Report License Taxonly if it applies to you | Wyoming Secretary of State, Business Division | Varies — formula on the WY page | annual — due in the entity's own anniversary month of formation; may be filed up to 120 days early | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Vendor License | Wyoming Department of Revenue, Excise Tax Division | $60 one-time — reinstating a forfeited license also costs $60 | no expiration — valid without further payment until the department revokes it | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Casper?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a retail store in Casper, WY, 5 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 5 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $60.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Health License — Restaurant and Food Service: By class under CMC §8.04.020(A). A restaurant is $100.00, with an additional $25.00 where it provides alcoholic liquor or malt beverage. A bar is $100.00, with an additional $25.00 where food is served. Groceries, supermarkets, food manufacturers, distributors, processors, bakeries, meat markets and delicatessens are $75.00 base, with a grocery or supermarket charged $25.00 more for each of a meat market, bakery and delicatessen operated within it. Swimming pools are $75.00, campgrounds, motels, hotels, bed and breakfasts and body art and permanent cosmetic establishments $25.00, and child day care facilities $50.00. The City's Health Licenses page lists food service facilities on parochial, private or public school property at 'No license fee'. Section 8.04.030 allows a hardship license at $1.00.
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Casper permits page and the WY state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Casper?
Permits for a retail store in Casper, WY come from 6 separate offices: City of Casper, Community Development Department — Planning Division, City of Casper, Community Development Department — Building Inspection Division, Casper Fire-EMS, Community Risk Reduction Division, City of Casper, City Clerk's Office, Wyoming Secretary of State, Business Division, Wyoming Department of Revenue, Excise Tax Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Casper, Community Development Department — Planning DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Conditional Use Permit / Variance / Site Plan Review, Sign Permit (required; no published fee line)200 N David Street, Casper, WY 82601 · (307) 235-8241www.casperwy.gov/services/planning_and_zoning/index.php
- City of Casper, Community Development Department — Building Inspection DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy (required; no fee line in the published schedule)200 N David Street, Casper, WY 82601 · (307) 235-8254www.casperwy.gov/services/building_and_inspections/permit_requirements.php
- Casper Fire-EMS, Community Risk Reduction DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Inspection (self-inspection programme; fee not published)200 N David Street, Casper, WY 82601 · (307) 235-8278www.casperwy.gov/community/fire_ems/index.php
- City of Casper, City Clerk's OfficeIssues 2 permits on this page: Health License — Restaurant and Food Service, General Business License — City of Casper position (seven enumerated categories)200 N David Street, Casper, WY 82601 · (307) 235-7568www.casperwy.gov/government/clerk/index.php
- Wyoming Secretary of State, Business DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: General Business License — Wyoming Position, Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, Annual Report License TaxHerschler Building East, Suite 101, 122 W 25th Street, Cheyenne, WY 82002 · (307) 777-7311sos.wyo.gov/Business/default.aspx
- Wyoming Department of Revenue, Excise Tax DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Vendor License122 West 25th Street, Suite E301, Cheyenne, WY 82002excise-tax-div.wyo.gov
What does a retail store need in Casper that other businesses do not?
Shared with other businesses in Casper
- Sign Permit (required; no published fee line) — City of Casper, Community Development Department — Planning Division, No fee, not stated in any readable source. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, fitness studios, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.
- Health License — Restaurant and Food Service — City of Casper, City Clerk's Office, By class under CMC §8.04.020(A). A restaurant is $100.00, with an additional $25.00 where it provides alcoholic liquor or malt beverage. A bar is $100.00, with an additional $25.00 where food is served. Groceries, supermarkets, food manufacturers, distributors, processors, bakeries, meat markets and delicatessens are $75.00 base, with a grocery or supermarket charged $25.00 more for each of a meat market, bakery and delicatessen operated within it. Swimming pools are $75.00, campgrounds, motels, hotels, bed and breakfasts and body art and permanent cosmetic establishments $25.00, and child day care facilities $50.00. The City's Health Licenses page lists food service facilities on parochial, private or public school property at 'No license fee'. Section 8.04.030 allows a hardship license at $1.00., the City's fiscal year, July 1 to June 30, under CMC §8.04.040. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Casper, WY; what each one involves is set out on the Casper permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across WY and are covered on the WY state page.
How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Casper?
The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 2 of these permits. A coffee shop needs Food Establishment Permit and Food Handler / Manager Certification — Wyoming Food Safety Rule, which a retail store does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a retail store | Only a retail store needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 4 | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Restaurants | 4 | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 4 | 1 | 1 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
Sources
Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the salons and barbers page and coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Casper permits page and the WY state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
