13 permits · verified 2026-09-14
What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Casper?
In short
A auto repair shop in Casper, WY has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Casper, Community Development Department — Planning Division charges $NaN per application for the conditional use permit / variance / site plan review. 2 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Casper
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permit (required; no published fee line)only if it applies to you | City of Casper, Community Development Department — Planning Division | No fee | not stated in any readable source | 2026-09-14 |
| Auto Repair Shop — City of Casper positiononly if it applies to you | City of Casper, City Clerk's Office | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-14 |
| Auto Repair Shop Licensing — Wyoming Positiononly if it applies to you | Wyoming Department of Transportation, Vehicle Business Regulation | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Casper
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Conditional Use Permit / Variance / Site Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | City of Casper, Community Development Department — Planning Division | $NaN per application | one-time per application | 2026-09-14 |
| Building Permit | City of Casper, Community Development Department — Building Inspection Division | Varies — formula on the Casper page | a permit is good for 180 days once issued | 2026-09-14 |
| Fire Inspection (self-inspection programme; fee not published) | Casper Fire-EMS, Community Risk Reduction Division | No fee | self-inspections are completed annually by December 31; on-site inspections run on a rotational basis averaging no more often than once every three years | 2026-09-14 |
| Certificate of Occupancy (required; no fee line in the published schedule) | City of Casper, Community Development Department — Building Inspection Division | No fee | one-time, issued on completion | 2026-09-14 |
| General Business License — City of Casper position (seven enumerated categories)only if it applies to you | City of Casper, City Clerk's Office | No fee | not applicable to a general license; the enumerated licenses run either the calendar year or the July 1 to June 30 fiscal year depending on category | 2026-09-14 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
WY registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General Business License — Wyoming Positiononly if it applies to you | Wyoming Secretary of State, Business Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Wyoming Secretary of State, Business Division | $100 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report license tax is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Wyoming Secretary of State, Business Division | $100 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report license tax is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Report License Taxonly if it applies to you | Wyoming Secretary of State, Business Division | Varies — formula on the WY page | annual — due in the entity's own anniversary month of formation; may be filed up to 120 days early | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Vendor License | Wyoming Department of Revenue, Excise Tax Division | $60 one-time — reinstating a forfeited license also costs $60 | no expiration — valid without further payment until the department revokes it | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Casper?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a auto repair shop in Casper, WY, 4 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 4 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $60.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 7 have no fee published at all.
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Casper permits page and the WY state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Casper?
Permits for a auto repair shop in Casper, WY come from 7 separate offices: City of Casper, Community Development Department — Planning Division, City of Casper, Community Development Department — Building Inspection Division, Casper Fire-EMS, Community Risk Reduction Division, City of Casper, City Clerk's Office, Wyoming Secretary of State, Business Division, Wyoming Department of Revenue, Excise Tax Division, Wyoming Department of Transportation, Vehicle Business Regulation. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Casper, Community Development Department — Planning DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Conditional Use Permit / Variance / Site Plan Review, Sign Permit (required; no published fee line)200 N David Street, Casper, WY 82601 · (307) 235-8241www.casperwy.gov/services/planning_and_zoning/index.php
- City of Casper, Community Development Department — Building Inspection DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy (required; no fee line in the published schedule)200 N David Street, Casper, WY 82601 · (307) 235-8254www.casperwy.gov/services/building_and_inspections/permit_requirements.php
- Casper Fire-EMS, Community Risk Reduction DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Inspection (self-inspection programme; fee not published)200 N David Street, Casper, WY 82601 · (307) 235-8278www.casperwy.gov/community/fire_ems/index.php
- City of Casper, City Clerk's OfficeIssues 2 permits on this page: General Business License — City of Casper position (seven enumerated categories), Auto Repair Shop — City of Casper position200 N David Street, Casper, WY 82601 · (307) 235-7568www.casperwy.gov/government/clerk/index.php
- Wyoming Secretary of State, Business DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: General Business License — Wyoming Position, Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, Annual Report License TaxHerschler Building East, Suite 101, 122 W 25th Street, Cheyenne, WY 82002 · (307) 777-7311sos.wyo.gov/Business/default.aspx
- Wyoming Department of Revenue, Excise Tax DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Vendor License122 West 25th Street, Suite E301, Cheyenne, WY 82002excise-tax-div.wyo.gov
- Wyoming Department of Transportation, Vehicle Business RegulationIssues 1 permit on this page: Auto Repair Shop Licensing — Wyoming Position(307) 777-3815www.dot.state.wy.us/home/vehicle_bus_regulation/vehicle-dealerships.html
What does a auto repair shop need in Casper that other businesses do not?
2 of the 3 permits particular to a auto repair shop here apply to no other business type we cover in Casper: Auto Repair Shop — City of Casper position and Auto Repair Shop Licensing — Wyoming Position.
Auto Repair Shop — City of Casper position
No fee applies: Casper's enumerated business license categories (§5.04.040) and health license classes (§8.04.020) include no auto repair entry — unlike Cheyenne, which charges $65.00 for a garage or car lot license. The nearest instruments are adjacent rather than applicable: a junk dealer license at $50.00 under §5.28.020 would reach a shop dealing in salvage, and Chapter 8.36 regulates wrecked and disabled vehicles as a nuisance matter without licensing anyone. A repair shop's Casper obligations are the building permit for fit-out, the sign permit, planning approvals where the district requires them, and fire inspection — which, for a low-hazard shop, may be self-certified annually under the Chapter 15.40 programme.
Auto Repair Shop Licensing — Wyoming Position
No fee applies at the state level. WYDOT's vehicle dealership page describes the state's motor-vehicle business license, the dealer license required of 'any person engaged in the business of selling or exchanging three or more vehicles in Wyoming in any consecutive 12-month period' (W.S. 31-16-103), and names no license for auto repair or body work; a shop that only repairs vehicles does not meet the dealer trigger. The same applies to body work and general mechanical repair, neither of which the page treats separately.
Shared with other businesses in Casper
- Sign Permit (required; no published fee line) — City of Casper, Community Development Department — Planning Division, No fee, not stated in any readable source. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Casper, WY; what each one involves is set out on the Casper permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across WY and are covered on the WY state page.
How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Casper?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs Auto Repair Shop — City of Casper position and Auto Repair Shop Licensing — Wyoming Position. A fitness studio needs Fitness Studio — Pool Health License Only Where a Pool Is Operated (Casper), which a auto repair shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a auto repair shop | Only a auto repair shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Restaurants | 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Salons and barbers | 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the salons and barbers page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Casper permits page and the WY state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Business Licenses — the City's own current table of the seven enumerated business licenses and their fees and terms, establishing that Casper has no general business licenseCity of Casper · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- Casper Municipal Code, Supplement 96, codified through Ordinance 03-26 (4-21-2026) — §5.04.040 (the seven enumerated license categories), §5.08.170 and §5.08.050 (alcohol fees), §5.38.020 (itinerant merchants), §8.04.010(B) (the mobile food vehicle exclusion added by Ordinance 06-25, 6-3-2025), §8.04.020 (health license fee classes), §8.04.030 (hardship license), §8.04.040 (fiscal year term), §8.12.020 and §8.12.040 (day-care standards and zoning), §10.36.031 (mobile vendor parking permits), §15.04.090 and §15.08.040 (certificate of occupancy), §15.04.100 (fees set by resolution), §15.12 (contractor licensing), §15.40.010 and §15.40.105 (fire code and self-inspection) and §17.96 (signs)City of Casper · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- Wyoming Department of Transportation — vehicle dealer licensing, confirming no auto repair shop license existsWyoming Department of Transportation · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
