12 permits · verified 2026-09-11
What permits do you need to open a food truck in Huntington?
In short
A food truck in Huntington, WV has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 4 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Huntington, Finance Division charges $20 annual, flat for the general business license. 2 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a food truck in Huntington
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mobile / Temporary Food Vendor Permit (Cabell-Huntington Health Department) | Cabell-Huntington Health Department | No fee | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-11 |
| Business and Occupation (B&O) Privilege Tax — Retailers, Restaurants, and Others | City of Huntington, Finance Division | 0% of gross sales for Classification 5, 'Retailers, Restaurants, and Others,' on the City's own current fillable B&O Tax Return form, reflecting a mayoral waiver of this classification effective September 13, 2021. Still filed quarterly (30 days after each quarter ends) even at a 0% rate; a separate older Fee Schedule PDF on the City's own site lists this same classification at 0.25%, a figure now superseded by the current 0% rate confirmed on the actively-used tax return form. | ongoing — quarterly filing (30 days after each calendar quarter ends) | 2026-09-11 |
| Mobile Food Vendor Permit (City) | City of Huntington, Planning & Zoning Division | $50 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-11 |
| Food Manufacturing Facility Permit | West Virginia Bureau for Public Health | $35–$1,000 a year, banded by the facility's gross sales | annual — expires 30 June | 2026-09-04 |
| Food Handler Permit | West Virginia Bureau for Public Health | $10 capped by statute; the exact fee is set by the local county health department | 1 to 3 years, set locally within that statutory range | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Huntington
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General Business License | City of Huntington, Finance Division | $20 annual, flat | annual — July 1 through June 30; renewal notices sent around June 1 | 2026-09-11 |
| City Service Fee | City of Huntington, Finance Division | $5 per week, per full-time/part-time employee or qualifying self-employed individual working in Huntington | ongoing — withheld each pay period by the employer, remitted per the employer's filing arrangement | 2026-09-11 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
WV registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division | $100 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division | $100 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division | $25 a year; a late-filed report adds $50 for a profit entity or $25 for a nonprofit | annual — filed between 1 January and 30 June of the year after registration | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales and Use Tax Registration — West Virginia position (through the Business Registration Certificate)only if it applies to you | West Virginia State Tax Division | No fee | not applicable — no separate permit exists | 2026-09-04 |
| Business Registration Certificate | West Virginia State Tax Division | $30 one-time — the certificate never expires | permanent — valid until the business relocates, closes, or the certificate is suspended or revoked | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a food truck in Huntington?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a food truck in Huntington, WV, 8 apply to every business of this type and 4 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 8 that always apply, 5 carry a flat fee, coming to $115.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Business and Occupation (B&O) Privilege Tax — Retailers, Restaurants, and Others: 0% of gross sales for Classification 5, 'Retailers, Restaurants, and Others,' on the City's own current fillable B&O Tax Return form, reflecting a mayoral waiver of this classification effective September 13, 2021. Still filed quarterly (30 days after each quarter ends) even at a 0% rate; a separate older Fee Schedule PDF on the City's own site lists this same classification at 0.25%, a figure now superseded by the current 0% rate confirmed on the actively-used tax return form.
Food Manufacturing Facility Permit: $35–$1,000 a year, banded by the facility's gross sales
Which offices issue these permits in Huntington?
Permits for a food truck in Huntington, WV come from 6 separate offices: City of Huntington, Finance Division, Cabell-Huntington Health Department, City of Huntington, Planning & Zoning Division, West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division, West Virginia State Tax Division, West Virginia Bureau for Public Health. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Huntington, Finance DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: General Business License, Business and Occupation (B&O) Privilege Tax — Retailers, Restaurants, and Others, City Service Fee800 5th Avenue, Room 103, Huntington, WV 25701 (mail: P.O. Box 1659, Huntington, WV 25717) · (304) 696-5540www.cityofhuntington.com/business/taxes-and-fees/b-o-tax
- Cabell-Huntington Health DepartmentIssues 1 permit on this page: Mobile / Temporary Food Vendor Permit (Cabell-Huntington Health Department)703 7th Avenue, Huntington, WV 25701 · (304) 523-6483cabellhealth.org
- City of Huntington, Planning & Zoning DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Mobile Food Vendor Permit (City)800 5th Avenue, Room 100, Huntington, WV 25701 · (304) 696-5540www.cityofhuntington.com/city-government/city-departments/planning-zoning
- West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: Articles of Incorporation, Articles of Organization (LLC), Annual Report1900 Kanawha Boulevard East, Building 1, Charleston, WV 25305 · (304) 558-8000sos.wv.gov
- West Virginia State Tax DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Sales and Use Tax Registration — West Virginia position (through the Business Registration Certificate), Business Registration Certificate(304) 558-3333tax.wv.gov
- West Virginia Bureau for Public HealthIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Manufacturing Facility Permit, Food Handler Permitoehs.wvdhhr.org/phs/food-safety
What does a food truck need in Huntington that other businesses do not?
2 of the 5 permits particular to a food truck here apply to no other business type we cover in Huntington: Mobile / Temporary Food Vendor Permit (Cabell-Huntington Health Department) and Mobile Food Vendor Permit (City).
Mobile / Temporary Food Vendor Permit (Cabell-Huntington Health Department)
This Health Department permit is the food-safety credential for a Huntington food truck, distinct from — and required in addition to — the City's own $50.00 Mobile Food Vendor Permit recorded separately above. No fee is published: the Department's own current Temporary Events page and Forms & Regulations index (which lists an 'SF-5B Application for Temporary Food Establishment' among its current forms) publish no fee amount. A food truck operator also needs a Huntington Fire Department inspection of the vehicle (see the separate Fire Marshal Inspection record on this page).
Mobile Food Vendor Permit (City)
A real, confirmed $50.00 City permit through the Planning Department, layered on top of — not instead of — the $20.00 city General Business License, a Fire Department inspection of the truck, trailer, cart, or tent (an in-state vendor already holding a WV State Fire Marshal sticker may substitute it), the Cabell-Huntington Health Department's own separate health permit and food handler's permit (recorded separately below, both fee: none because no CHHD fee schedule is published), and parking approval from the Huntington Municipal Parking Board or the relevant venue (parks, Pullman Square, Marshall University, or a private lot owner). In-state vendors already holding a county health permit are exempt from re-permitting by CHHD but must give 72 hours' notice before operating in Huntington.
Food Manufacturing Facility Permit
This is the state's own directly priced food fee, and it applies specifically to a food manufacturing facility rather than an ordinary restaurant — twelve gross-sales bands running from $35 for a facility under $7,500 a year up to $1,000 for one over $50 million. An ordinary restaurant, coffee shop or food truck is not priced by this schedule at all: the rule that used to set a uniform statewide fee for those establishments has been repealed, and county health departments now set their own restaurant permit fees independently. Confirm the fee with the specific county health department for anything other than food manufacturing.
Shared with other businesses in Huntington
- Business and Occupation (B&O) Privilege Tax — Retailers, Restaurants, and Others — City of Huntington, Finance Division, 0% of gross sales for Classification 5, 'Retailers, Restaurants, and Others,' on the City's own current fillable B&O Tax Return form, reflecting a mayoral waiver of this classification effective September 13, 2021. Still filed quarterly (30 days after each quarter ends) even at a 0% rate; a separate older Fee Schedule PDF on the City's own site lists this same classification at 0.25%, a figure now superseded by the current 0% rate confirmed on the actively-used tax return form., ongoing — quarterly filing (30 days after each calendar quarter ends). Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Food Handler Permit — West Virginia Bureau for Public Health, $10 capped by statute; the exact fee is set by the local county health department, 1 to 3 years, set locally within that statutory range. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The other 2 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Huntington, WV; what each one involves is set out on the Huntington permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across WV and are covered on the WV state page.
How does a food truck compare with other businesses in Huntington?
The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 3 of these permits. A food truck also needs Mobile / Temporary Food Vendor Permit (Cabell-Huntington Health Department) and Mobile Food Vendor Permit (City). A coffee shop needs Food Service Establishment Permit (Cabell-Huntington Health Department), which a food truck does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a food truck | Only a food truck needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 4 | 3 | 2 | 1 |
| Restaurants | 4 | 3 | 2 | 1 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 1 | 4 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 4 | 0 | 5 | 4 |
| Childcare centres | 5 | 0 | 5 | 5 |
| Contractors and trades | 6 | 0 | 5 | 6 |
| Fitness studios | 3 | 0 | 5 | 3 |
| Salons and barbers | 4 | 0 | 5 | 4 |
| Veterinary clinics | 4 | 0 | 5 | 4 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page and restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Huntington permits page and the WV state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Temporary Events — the Department's own current page for temporary/mobile food vendor requirements, with no fee amount published anywhere on the pageCabell-Huntington Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- Forms & Regulations — the Department's own current index of applications and regulations, listing an 'SG-99 Childcare Plan Review' form (confirming the Department's childcare plan-review role) among dozens of other forms, none of which is a fee scheduleCabell-Huntington Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- Mobile Food Vendor Information — the City's own current page pricing the Mobile Food Vendor Permit at $50.00 and naming the required Fire Department inspection and Cabell-Huntington Health Department health permitCity of Huntington, Planning Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- 64 CSR 51 appendix B — food manufacturing facility permit fees, banded by gross salesWest Virginia Bureau for Public Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- 64 CSR 30, Fees for Permits — repealed, leaving ordinary restaurant permit fees to local health departmentsState of West Virginia · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
