15 permits · verified 2026-09-11
What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Huntington?
In short
A childcare centre in Huntington, WV has 9 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Huntington, Finance Division charges $20 annual, flat for the general business license. 3 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a childcare centre in Huntington
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Home Occupation Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Huntington, Planning & Zoning Division | $30 one-time application fee | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-11 |
| Business and Occupation (B&O) Privilege Tax — Service and All Other Business | City of Huntington, Finance Division | 0.5% of gross income for Classification 12, 'Service and All Other Business,' on the City's own current fillable B&O Tax Return form — the most plausible classification for these industries, though the City's own materials do not map any specific business type to a named classification. Filed quarterly, 30 days after each quarter ends. | ongoing — quarterly filing (30 days after each calendar quarter ends) | 2026-09-11 |
| Conditional Use Permit / Special Permit (Board of Zoning Appeals)only if it applies to you | City of Huntington, Planning & Zoning Division | $160 one-time, per application | one-time, per application | 2026-09-11 |
| Daycare/Family Daycare Facility Plan Review (Cabell-Huntington Health Department) | Cabell-Huntington Health Department | No fee | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-11 |
| Child Care Centre License | West Virginia Department of Human Services | No fee | up to 2 years — a new service first receives a six-month initial license | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Huntington
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General Business License | City of Huntington, Finance Division | $20 annual, flat | annual — July 1 through June 30; renewal notices sent around June 1 | 2026-09-11 |
| Certificate of Occupancy Permit | City of Huntington, Planning & Zoning Division | $75 one-time | one-time — issued for a new occupancy or a change of business owner | 2026-09-11 |
| Building Permit Application | City of Huntington, Inspections & Permits | Varies — formula on the Huntington page | one-time, per project | 2026-09-11 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Huntington, Inspections & Permits | Varies — formula on the Huntington page | one-time, per sign | 2026-09-11 |
| City Service Fee | City of Huntington, Finance Division | $5 per week, per full-time/part-time employee or qualifying self-employed individual working in Huntington | ongoing — withheld each pay period by the employer, remitted per the employer's filing arrangement | 2026-09-11 |
| Fire Marshal Inspection (Certificate of Occupancy) | Huntington Fire Department | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-11 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
WV registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division | $100 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division | $100 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division | $25 a year; a late-filed report adds $50 for a profit entity or $25 for a nonprofit | annual — filed between 1 January and 30 June of the year after registration | 2026-09-04 |
| Business Registration Certificate | West Virginia State Tax Division | $30 one-time — the certificate never expires | permanent — valid until the business relocates, closes, or the certificate is suspended or revoked | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Huntington?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a childcare centre in Huntington, WV, 9 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 9 that always apply, 4 carry a flat fee, coming to $130.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Business and Occupation (B&O) Privilege Tax — Service and All Other Business: 0.5% of gross income for Classification 12, 'Service and All Other Business,' on the City's own current fillable B&O Tax Return form — the most plausible classification for these industries, though the City's own materials do not map any specific business type to a named classification. Filed quarterly, 30 days after each quarter ends.
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Huntington permits page and the WV state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Huntington?
Permits for a childcare centre in Huntington, WV come from 8 separate offices: City of Huntington, Finance Division, City of Huntington, Planning & Zoning Division, City of Huntington, Inspections & Permits, Huntington Fire Department, Cabell-Huntington Health Department, West Virginia Department of Human Services, West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division, West Virginia State Tax Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Huntington, Finance DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: General Business License, City Service Fee, Business and Occupation (B&O) Privilege Tax — Service and All Other Business800 5th Avenue, Room 103, Huntington, WV 25701 (mail: P.O. Box 1659, Huntington, WV 25717) · (304) 696-5540www.cityofhuntington.com/business/taxes-and-fees/b-o-tax
- City of Huntington, Planning & Zoning DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: Certificate of Occupancy Permit, Home Occupation Permit, Conditional Use Permit / Special Permit (Board of Zoning Appeals)800 5th Avenue, Room 100, Huntington, WV 25701 · (304) 696-5540www.cityofhuntington.com/city-government/city-departments/planning-zoning
- City of Huntington, Inspections & PermitsIssues 2 permits on this page: Building Permit Application, Sign Permit800 5th Avenue, Room 103, Huntington, WV 25701 · (304) 696-5540www.cityofhuntington.com/city-government/city-departments/inspections-permits
- Huntington Fire DepartmentIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Marshal Inspection (Certificate of Occupancy)6 stations citywide; administration via City Hall, 800 5th Avenue, Huntington, WV 25701 · (304) 696-5950www.cityofhuntington.com/city-government/city-departments/fire-1
- Cabell-Huntington Health DepartmentIssues 1 permit on this page: Daycare/Family Daycare Facility Plan Review (Cabell-Huntington Health Department)703 7th Avenue, Huntington, WV 25701 · (304) 523-6483cabellhealth.org
- West Virginia Department of Human ServicesIssues 1 permit on this page: Child Care Centre Licensedhhr.wv.gov/bcf/Childcare
- West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: Articles of Incorporation, Articles of Organization (LLC), Annual Report1900 Kanawha Boulevard East, Building 1, Charleston, WV 25305 · (304) 558-8000sos.wv.gov
- West Virginia State Tax DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Business Registration Certificate(304) 558-3333tax.wv.gov
What does a childcare centre need in Huntington that other businesses do not?
2 of the 5 permits particular to a childcare centre here apply to no other business type we cover in Huntington: Daycare/Family Daycare Facility Plan Review (Cabell-Huntington Health Department) and Child Care Centre License.
Daycare/Family Daycare Facility Plan Review (Cabell-Huntington Health Department)
The Department's own current Forms & Regulations index lists an 'SG-99 Childcare Plan Review' form among its current documents, confirming the Department does perform childcare facility plan review in Cabell County — a local layer on top of West Virginia's own state Child Care Centre Licensing recorded at the state layer. No fee is published, however: the Department's own current Daycare & Family Daycare page publishes no dollar figure for this review, a difference from Charleston's Kanawha-Charleston Health Department, which publishes banded Daycare Facility permit fees from $60.00 to $185.00.
Child Care Centre License
No fee, because the governing rule contains no fee provision anywhere in its text for a child care centre license — a genuine absence rather than an unpublished figure. A brand-new service is first issued a six-month initial license before qualifying for the regular license, which then runs for up to two years at the department's discretion, or is downgraded to provisional status if standards slip.
Shared with other businesses in Huntington
- Home Occupation Permit — City of Huntington, Planning & Zoning Division, $30 one-time application fee, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.
- Business and Occupation (B&O) Privilege Tax — Service and All Other Business — City of Huntington, Finance Division, 0.5% of gross income for Classification 12, 'Service and All Other Business,' on the City's own current fillable B&O Tax Return form — the most plausible classification for these industries, though the City's own materials do not map any specific business type to a named classification. Filed quarterly, 30 days after each quarter ends., ongoing — quarterly filing (30 days after each calendar quarter ends). Also required for fitness studios, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
- Conditional Use Permit / Special Permit (Board of Zoning Appeals) — City of Huntington, Planning & Zoning Division, $160 one-time, per application, one-time, per application. Also required for auto repair shops, veterinary clinics, retail stores and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Huntington, WV; what each one involves is set out on the Huntington permits page. The 4 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across WV and are covered on the WV state page.
How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in Huntington?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 2 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs Home Occupation Permit, Daycare/Family Daycare Facility Plan Review (Cabell-Huntington Health Department) and Child Care Centre License. A fitness studio needs Fitness Studio/Gym Municipal License (not found), which a childcare centre does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a childcare centre | Only a childcare centre needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 3 | 2 | 3 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 4 | 2 | 3 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 4 | 2 | 3 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 4 | 2 | 3 | 2 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 1 | 4 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 4 | 0 | 5 | 4 |
| Contractors and trades | 6 | 0 | 5 | 6 |
| Food trucks | 5 | 0 | 5 | 5 |
| Restaurants | 4 | 0 | 5 | 4 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the salons and barbers page, auto repair shops page and retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Huntington permits page and the WV state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Daycare & Family Daycare — the Department's own current program page, with no fee amount published anywhere on the pageCabell-Huntington Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- Forms & Regulations — the Department's own current index of applications and regulations, listing an 'SG-99 Childcare Plan Review' form (confirming the Department's childcare plan-review role) among dozens of other forms, none of which is a fee scheduleCabell-Huntington Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- 78 CSR 1 — child care centre licensing, up to a two-year termWest Virginia Department of Human Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
