27 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a restaurant in San Antonio?
In short
A restaurant in San Antonio, TX has 10 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 17 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. San Antonio Metropolitan Health District charges $150 per re-inspection for the food establishment re-inspection fee. 10 of the 27 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a restaurant in San Antonio
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food Establishment Re-inspection Feeonly if it applies to you | San Antonio Metropolitan Health District | $150 per re-inspection | per inspection | 2026-08-24 |
| Non-Conforming Use Registrationonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $350 new application, including letter | one year; annual renewal is $150 including the letter | 2026-08-24 |
| Coin-Operated Amusement Machine Decal | City of San Antonio Finance Department | $15 per machine, per year | expires 31 May each year | 2026-08-24 |
| Building and Fire Code Appealonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $155 per appeal | one-time, per appeal | 2026-08-24 |
| On-Premises Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $10.80 up to 32 sq ft of sign area, then $10.80 plus $0.22 per sq ft above 32; plus a height fee of $2.00 per foot of height | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Zoning Changeonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $795–$5,930 by site acreage | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Mixed Beverage Permit — City Fee | City of San Antonio Finance Department | No fee — for the first three years | three years free, then $1,125 for a one-year permit | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Establishment Permit | San Antonio Metropolitan Health District | $310–$928 per year, banded by gross annual food sales | annual | 2026-08-24 |
| Landscape Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $175–$1,000 by site acreage | one-time, per review | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Commercial Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $500 per certificate | extendable at $100 per extension | 2026-08-24 |
| Certificate of Occupancy — Tentonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $100 per tent | per event | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $100–$650 by number of storeys | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $350 per letter | one-time, per letter | 2026-08-24 |
| Conditional Use Authorisationonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $300 per application | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Alcohol Varianceonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $300 per application | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Wine and Beer Retailer's License — City Fee | City of San Antonio Finance Department | $750–$1,000 original or renewal, two years | two years | 2026-08-24 |
| School Food Permit | San Antonio Metropolitan Health District | $240 per year | one school year | 2026-08-24 |
| Health Licensing Inspection — Change of Ownershiponly if it applies to you | San Antonio Metropolitan Health District | $150 per inspection | one-time, per change of ownership | 2026-08-24 |
| Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)only if it applies to you | Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission | $2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal | every 2 years | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in San Antonio
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Plan Review | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the San Antonio page | a plan review extension costs 25% of the plan review fee | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the San Antonio page | an extension costs 50% of the permit, in addition to the permit cost | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Trade Permit — Mechanical, Electrical and Plumbing | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the San Antonio page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Certificate of Occupancy | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $200 per certificate | does not expire, but an expired certificate carries a $500 fine plus the certificate fee | 2026-08-24 |
| Re-inspection Feeonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $50 per re-inspection | per inspection | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in San Antonio?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 27 records listed for a restaurant in San Antonio, TX, 10 apply to every business of this type and 17 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 10 that always apply, 5 carry a flat fee, coming to $455.00. That is a floor, not a total. 10 of the 27 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
On-Premises Sign Permit: $10.80 up to 32 sq ft of sign area, then $10.80 plus $0.22 per sq ft above 32; plus a height fee of $2.00 per foot of height
Zoning Change: $795–$5,930 by site acreage
Food Establishment Permit: $310–$928 per year, banded by gross annual food sales
Landscape Plan Review: $175–$1,000 by site acreage
Commercial Demolition Permit: $100–$650 by number of storeys
Wine and Beer Retailer's License — City Fee: $750–$1,000 original or renewal, two years
Mixed Beverage Permit (MB): $2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the San Antonio permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in San Antonio?
Permits for a restaurant in San Antonio, TX come from 6 separate offices: San Antonio Metropolitan Health District, City of San Antonio Development Services Department, City of San Antonio Finance Department, Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- San Antonio Metropolitan Health DistrictIssues 4 permits on this page: Food Establishment Re-inspection Fee, Food Establishment Permit, School Food Permit, Health Licensing Inspection — Change of Ownershipwww.sa.gov/Directory/Departments/SAMHD/Licenses-Food-Permits
- City of San Antonio Development Services DepartmentIssues 16 permits on this page, including Non-Conforming Use Registration, Commercial Plan Review, Commercial Building Permit(210) 207-1111www.sa.gov/Directory/Departments/DSD/Resources/Fees
- City of San Antonio Finance DepartmentIssues 3 permits on this page: Coin-Operated Amusement Machine Decal, Mixed Beverage Permit — City Fee, Wine and Beer Retailer's License — City Fee(210) 207-5734www.sa.gov/Directory/Departments/Finance
- Texas Alcoholic Beverage CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)www.tabc.texas.gov
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a restaurant need in San Antonio that other businesses do not?
2 of the 19 permits particular to a restaurant here apply to no other business type we cover in San Antonio: Mixed Beverage Permit — City Fee and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB).
Food Establishment Re-inspection Fee
$150 for any food establishment or food vendor requiring inspection beyond the normal schedule. Half what Fort Worth charges for the same thing.
Non-Conforming Use Registration
$350 to register a new non-conforming use including the letter, then $150 every year to renew it. This is the recurring obligation that catches long-established businesses whose zoning changed around them — the registration is not one-and-done, and letting it lapse puts the protected status at risk. Eligible for the city Fee Waiver Programme.
Mixed Beverage Permit — City Fee
San Antonio charges NOTHING for a mixed beverage permit for the first three years — the exemption under Alcoholic Beverage Code Sec. 11.38(d). After the third year it is $1,125 for a one-year permit, then $1,500 at the second renewal and $750 at the third and subsequent renewals, each covering two years. A new restaurant opening a bar in San Antonio therefore pays no city alcohol fee at all until year four, which is a genuine and time-limited saving worth planning around.
Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)
Read directly from the TABC two-year licensing fee schedule: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB) $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal, charged on a two-year cycle. A Wine and Malt Beverage Retailer's Permit (BG) is $1,900 if you do not need spirits. Note a widely-cited competitor lists $6,006 for this permit, which does not appear in the TABC schedule.
Shared with other businesses in San Antonio
- Coin-Operated Amusement Machine Decal — City of San Antonio Finance Department, $15 per machine, per year, expires 31 May each year. Also required for retail stores and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Building and Fire Code Appeal — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $155 per appeal, one-time, per appeal. Also required for retail stores, fitness studios and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- On-Premises Sign Permit — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $10.80 up to 32 sq ft of sign area, then $10.80 plus $0.22 per sq ft above 32; plus a height fee of $2.00 per foot of height, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores, coffee shops, salons and barbers, auto repair shops, fitness studios and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
- Zoning Change — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $795–$5,930 by site acreage, one-time, per application. Also required for retail stores, auto repair shops, fitness studios and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Food Establishment Permit — San Antonio Metropolitan Health District, $310–$928 per year, banded by gross annual food sales, annual. Also required for coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Landscape Plan Review — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $175–$1,000 by site acreage, one-time, per review. Also required for retail stores, fitness studios and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
- Temporary Commercial Certificate of Occupancy — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $500 per certificate, extendable at $100 per extension. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- Certificate of Occupancy — Tent — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $100 per tent, per event. Also required for retail stores, food trucks and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Commercial Demolition Permit — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $100–$650 by number of storeys, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
- Zoning Verification Letter — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $350 per letter, one-time, per letter. Also required for retail stores, auto repair shops, fitness studios, childcare centres, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
- Conditional Use Authorisation — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $300 per application, one-time, per application. Also required for retail stores, auto repair shops, childcare centres, veterinary clinics and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
- Alcohol Variance — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $300 per application, one-time, per application. Also required for retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Wine and Beer Retailer's License — City Fee — City of San Antonio Finance Department, $750–$1,000 original or renewal, two years, two years. Also required for coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- School Food Permit — San Antonio Metropolitan Health District, $240 per year, one school year. Also required for childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the childcare centres page.
- Health Licensing Inspection — Change of Ownership — San Antonio Metropolitan Health District, $150 per inspection, one-time, per change of ownership. Also required for coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in San Antonio, TX; what each one involves is set out on the San Antonio permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in San Antonio?
The closest match is a retail store, which shares 16 of these permits. A restaurant also needs Mixed Beverage Permit — City Fee, School Food Permit and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB). A retail store needs Credit Access Business License, Short-Term Rental Registration, Vacant Structure Registration and 2 more, which a restaurant does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a restaurant | Only a restaurant needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail stores | 21 | 16 | 3 | 5 |
| Fitness studios | 10 | 9 | 10 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 7 | 7 | 12 | 0 |
| Auto repair shops | 5 | 5 | 14 | 0 |
| Contractors and trades | 9 | 4 | 15 | 5 |
| Childcare centres | 4 | 3 | 16 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 4 | 3 | 16 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 2 | 17 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 2 | 1 | 18 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page, fitness studios page, auto repair shops page, contractors and trades page, coffee shops page, veterinary clinics page and childcare centres page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the San Antonio permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of San Antonio Fee Schedule — Food Establishment PermitCity of San Antonio (via Texas DSHS Local Ordinance Registry) · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
- Development Fee Schedule, rev. October 2025City of San Antonio Development Services Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Finance Compliance & Resolution FeesCity of San Antonio Finance Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Two-Year Licensing Fees — TABCTexas Alcoholic Beverage Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
