Commercial Compliance Hub

14 permits · verified 2026-09-14

What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Rapid City?

In short

A restaurant in Rapid City, SD has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. South Dakota Secretary of State, Business Services charges $150 filed online; paper filing costs $165 for the articles of organization (llc). 6 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a restaurant in Rapid City

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Food Service Establishment License (State-issued under municipal delegation)South Dakota Department of Health, Office of Health ProtectionSet by statute at SDCL 34-18-11 rather than by the City, and banded by seating: $90.00 for a food service establishment with no seating, $120.00 for one to fifty seats, $180.00 for fifty-one to one hundred seats and $225.00 for one hundred one or more seats. SDCL 34-18-10.4 adds a one-time initial license fee of $100.00 for a new food service establishment. A temporary food service establishment license is $38.00 under SDCL 34-18-17. Plan review for a new or extensively remodelled establishment is charged separately by the Department of Health. Rapid City itself charges nothing for the food license.annual, on the South Dakota Department of Health's license year2026-09-14
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Rapid City Community Development DepartmentResolution No. 2023-088 states in terms that a sign permit, including electrical and outline lighting signs, is priced from Table 100-C, Commercial Permit Fees — the same valuation table used for commercial building, gas and plumbing permits, running from $37.00 at $1.00–$1,600.00 up to $5,608.75 for the first $1,000,000.00 plus $3.15 per additional $1,000.00 above that (see the Rapid City Commercial Building Permit record for the full table). A temporary sign permit, valid up to twice a year for no longer than 30 days, is priced the same way. Electrical and outline lighting signs are additionally subject to the adopted State Wiring Bulletin.not stated for a standard sign permit; a temporary sign permit runs for no longer than 30 days and may be used up to twice a year2026-09-14
Food Service Manager CertificationSouth Dakota Department of Health, Office of Health ProtectionNo feeset by the accredited training provider rather than state regulation2026-09-04
Food Establishment LicenseSouth Dakota Department of Health, Office of Health Protection$140–$275 a year, banded by seating capacity; a new establishment adds a $100 initial fee on topannual — every license expires December 31 regardless of issue date, with a discounted half-year fee for openings after July 12026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Rapid City

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License — City of Rapid City positiononly if it applies to youCity of Rapid City Finance Office, Licensing DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-14
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Rapid City Community Development DepartmentNo feeone-time, issued after final inspection2026-09-14
Fire Code Inspection and PermitsRapid City Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionVaries — formula on the Rapid City pageper permit; routine inspections recur on the department's own cycle2026-09-14
Commercial Building PermitCity of Rapid City Community Development DepartmentVaries — formula on the Rapid City pagea renewed permit is valid for not more than 1 year and may be renewed only once without the Building Official’s approval2026-09-14
Conditional Use Permit and Zoning Applicationsonly if it applies to youCity of Rapid City Community Development DepartmentVaries — formula on the Rapid City pagethe permit runs with the approved use unless conditioned otherwise2026-09-14

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

SD registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youSouth Dakota Secretary of State, Business Services$150 filed online; paper filing costs $165perpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youSouth Dakota Secretary of State, Business Services$150 filed online; paper filing costs $165perpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youSouth Dakota Secretary of State, Business Services$55 a year filed online; paper filing costs $70annual — due the first day of the entity's anniversary month of formation2026-09-04
General Business License — State of South Dakota positiononly if it applies to youSouth Dakota Secretary of State, Business ServicesNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Sales Tax LicenseSouth Dakota Department of RevenueNo feeno stated expiration2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Rapid City?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a restaurant in Rapid City, SD, 7 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

6 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Food Service Establishment License (State-issued under municipal delegation): Set by statute at SDCL 34-18-11 rather than by the City, and banded by seating: $90.00 for a food service establishment with no seating, $120.00 for one to fifty seats, $180.00 for fifty-one to one hundred seats and $225.00 for one hundred one or more seats. SDCL 34-18-10.4 adds a one-time initial license fee of $100.00 for a new food service establishment. A temporary food service establishment license is $38.00 under SDCL 34-18-17. Plan review for a new or extensively remodelled establishment is charged separately by the Department of Health. Rapid City itself charges nothing for the food license.

Sign Permit: Resolution No. 2023-088 states in terms that a sign permit, including electrical and outline lighting signs, is priced from Table 100-C, Commercial Permit Fees — the same valuation table used for commercial building, gas and plumbing permits, running from $37.00 at $1.00–$1,600.00 up to $5,608.75 for the first $1,000,000.00 plus $3.15 per additional $1,000.00 above that (see the Rapid City Commercial Building Permit record for the full table). A temporary sign permit, valid up to twice a year for no longer than 30 days, is priced the same way. Electrical and outline lighting signs are additionally subject to the adopted State Wiring Bulletin.

Food Establishment License: $140–$275 a year, banded by seating capacity; a new establishment adds a $100 initial fee on top

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Rapid City permits page and the SD state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Rapid City?

Permits for a restaurant in Rapid City, SD come from 6 separate offices: City of Rapid City Finance Office, Licensing Division, South Dakota Department of Health, Office of Health Protection, City of Rapid City Community Development Department, Rapid City Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, South Dakota Secretary of State, Business Services, South Dakota Department of Revenue. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a restaurant need in Rapid City that other businesses do not?

Shared with other businesses in Rapid City

  • Food Service Establishment License (State-issued under municipal delegation) — South Dakota Department of Health, Office of Health Protection, Set by statute at SDCL 34-18-11 rather than by the City, and banded by seating: $90.00 for a food service establishment with no seating, $120.00 for one to fifty seats, $180.00 for fifty-one to one hundred seats and $225.00 for one hundred one or more seats. SDCL 34-18-10.4 adds a one-time initial license fee of $100.00 for a new food service establishment. A temporary food service establishment license is $38.00 under SDCL 34-18-17. Plan review for a new or extensively remodelled establishment is charged separately by the Department of Health. Rapid City itself charges nothing for the food license., annual, on the South Dakota Department of Health's license year. Also required for coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Sign Permit — City of Rapid City Community Development Department, Resolution No. 2023-088 states in terms that a sign permit, including electrical and outline lighting signs, is priced from Table 100-C, Commercial Permit Fees — the same valuation table used for commercial building, gas and plumbing permits, running from $37.00 at $1.00–$1,600.00 up to $5,608.75 for the first $1,000,000.00 plus $3.15 per additional $1,000.00 above that (see the Rapid City Commercial Building Permit record for the full table). A temporary sign permit, valid up to twice a year for no longer than 30 days, is priced the same way. Electrical and outline lighting signs are additionally subject to the adopted State Wiring Bulletin., not stated for a standard sign permit; a temporary sign permit runs for no longer than 30 days and may be used up to twice a year. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
  • Food Service Manager Certification — South Dakota Department of Health, Office of Health Protection, No fee, set by the accredited training provider rather than state regulation. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
  • Food Establishment License — South Dakota Department of Health, Office of Health Protection, $140–$275 a year, banded by seating capacity; a new establishment adds a $100 initial fee on top, annual — every license expires December 31 regardless of issue date, with a discounted half-year fee for openings after July 1. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Rapid City, SD; what each one involves is set out on the Rapid City permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across SD and are covered on the SD state page.

How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Rapid City?

A restaurant and a coffee shop in Rapid City, SD need exactly the same 4 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Rapid City, SD, compared with a restaurant
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a restaurantOnly a restaurant needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops4400
Retail stores2220
Food trucks3221
Fitness studios2131
Auto repair shops3132
Veterinary clinics3132
Salons and barbers4133
Childcare centres2042
Contractors and trades4044

Sources

Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page, veterinary clinics page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Rapid City permits page and the SD state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

    Related

    Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.