Commercial Compliance Hub

14 permits · verified 2026-09-14

What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Sioux Falls?

In short

A restaurant in Sioux Falls, SD has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. South Dakota Secretary of State, Business Services charges $150 filed online; paper filing costs $165 for the articles of organization (llc). 6 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a restaurant in Sioux Falls

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Sioux Falls Planning and Development ServicesBy type and size: a wall sign, freestanding sign or electronic message center is $35.00 under 100 square feet and $50.00 over 100 square feet. A banner over 100 square feet is $35.00. An off-premise sign or billboard is $100.00 at any size. A temporary portable sign such as a wind feather or inflatable is $15.00. A window sign is free under 25 square feet and $15.00 over. Temporary reader board and sandwich board signs carry no fee.not stated in the published fee table2026-09-14
Food Service Establishment LicenseSioux Falls Health DepartmentBanded by floor area under §110.029: $181.00 up to 2,500 square feet, $271.00 from 2,501 to 5,000 and $362.00 at 5,001 and above. The annual fee covers one full service food preparation area and each additional preparation area is $92.00. Plan review for a new or remodelled establishment is $52.00 up to 2,500 square feet, $209.00 from 2,501 to 5,000 and $302.00 above. A grocery store selling prepackaged food is $181.00 above 250 square feet and $92.00 at or below. An annual renewal application received after December 31 carries a $75.00 late fee. A follow-up inspection is $92.00. A $30.00 discount applies where the establishment averaged 94 percent or above on the preceding year's routine inspections and the renewal application arrives before January 1. A fire inspection under §110.035 adds $28.00 for a restaurant without a beverage license.annual, effective January 1 through December 31 under §112.0152026-09-14
Food Service Manager CertificationSouth Dakota Department of Health, Office of Health ProtectionNo feeset by the accredited training provider rather than state regulation2026-09-04
Food Establishment LicenseSouth Dakota Department of Health, Office of Health Protection$140–$275 a year, banded by seating capacity; a new establishment adds a $100 initial fee on topannual — every license expires December 31 regardless of issue date, with a discounted half-year fee for openings after July 12026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Sioux Falls

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License — City of Sioux Falls position (enumerated licenses only)only if it applies to youCity of Sioux Falls Licensing Office, City Attorney's OfficeNo feenot applicable to a general license; under §110.011 all licenses take effect when issued and terminate on December 31 of the year for which issued unless otherwise provided2026-09-14
Commercial Building PermitCity of Sioux Falls Planning and Development ServicesVaries — formula on the Sioux Falls pagenot stated in the published tables2026-09-14
Certificate of Occupancy — Required; Fee Not Published Separately (Sioux Falls)City of Sioux Falls Planning and Development ServicesNo feeone-time, issued after final inspection2026-09-14
Conditional Use Permit / Zoning and Subdivision Feesonly if it applies to youCity of Sioux Falls Planning and Development ServicesVaries — formula on the Sioux Falls pageone-time per application2026-09-14
Annual Fire License (inspection included) and Fire PermitsSioux Falls Fire Rescue, Fire Prevention DivisionVaries — formula on the Sioux Falls pageannual for §110.033 licenses; per permit for §110.034 system permits2026-09-14

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

SD registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youSouth Dakota Secretary of State, Business Services$150 filed online; paper filing costs $165perpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youSouth Dakota Secretary of State, Business Services$150 filed online; paper filing costs $165perpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youSouth Dakota Secretary of State, Business Services$55 a year filed online; paper filing costs $70annual — due the first day of the entity's anniversary month of formation2026-09-04
General Business License — State of South Dakota positiononly if it applies to youSouth Dakota Secretary of State, Business ServicesNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Sales Tax LicenseSouth Dakota Department of RevenueNo feeno stated expiration2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Sioux Falls?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a restaurant in Sioux Falls, SD, 7 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

6 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit: By type and size: a wall sign, freestanding sign or electronic message center is $35.00 under 100 square feet and $50.00 over 100 square feet. A banner over 100 square feet is $35.00. An off-premise sign or billboard is $100.00 at any size. A temporary portable sign such as a wind feather or inflatable is $15.00. A window sign is free under 25 square feet and $15.00 over. Temporary reader board and sandwich board signs carry no fee.

Food Service Establishment License: Banded by floor area under §110.029: $181.00 up to 2,500 square feet, $271.00 from 2,501 to 5,000 and $362.00 at 5,001 and above. The annual fee covers one full service food preparation area and each additional preparation area is $92.00. Plan review for a new or remodelled establishment is $52.00 up to 2,500 square feet, $209.00 from 2,501 to 5,000 and $302.00 above. A grocery store selling prepackaged food is $181.00 above 250 square feet and $92.00 at or below. An annual renewal application received after December 31 carries a $75.00 late fee. A follow-up inspection is $92.00. A $30.00 discount applies where the establishment averaged 94 percent or above on the preceding year's routine inspections and the renewal application arrives before January 1. A fire inspection under §110.035 adds $28.00 for a restaurant without a beverage license.

Food Establishment License: $140–$275 a year, banded by seating capacity; a new establishment adds a $100 initial fee on top

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Sioux Falls permits page and the SD state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Sioux Falls?

Permits for a restaurant in Sioux Falls, SD come from 7 separate offices: City of Sioux Falls Licensing Office, City Attorney's Office, City of Sioux Falls Planning and Development Services, Sioux Falls Fire Rescue, Fire Prevention Division, Sioux Falls Health Department, South Dakota Secretary of State, Business Services, South Dakota Department of Health, Office of Health Protection, South Dakota Department of Revenue. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a restaurant need in Sioux Falls that other businesses do not?

Shared with other businesses in Sioux Falls

  • Sign Permit — City of Sioux Falls Planning and Development Services, By type and size: a wall sign, freestanding sign or electronic message center is $35.00 under 100 square feet and $50.00 over 100 square feet. A banner over 100 square feet is $35.00. An off-premise sign or billboard is $100.00 at any size. A temporary portable sign such as a wind feather or inflatable is $15.00. A window sign is free under 25 square feet and $15.00 over. Temporary reader board and sandwich board signs carry no fee., not stated in the published fee table. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
  • Food Service Establishment License — Sioux Falls Health Department, Banded by floor area under §110.029: $181.00 up to 2,500 square feet, $271.00 from 2,501 to 5,000 and $362.00 at 5,001 and above. The annual fee covers one full service food preparation area and each additional preparation area is $92.00. Plan review for a new or remodelled establishment is $52.00 up to 2,500 square feet, $209.00 from 2,501 to 5,000 and $302.00 above. A grocery store selling prepackaged food is $181.00 above 250 square feet and $92.00 at or below. An annual renewal application received after December 31 carries a $75.00 late fee. A follow-up inspection is $92.00. A $30.00 discount applies where the establishment averaged 94 percent or above on the preceding year's routine inspections and the renewal application arrives before January 1. A fire inspection under §110.035 adds $28.00 for a restaurant without a beverage license., annual, effective January 1 through December 31 under §112.015. Also required for coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Food Service Manager Certification — South Dakota Department of Health, Office of Health Protection, No fee, set by the accredited training provider rather than state regulation. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
  • Food Establishment License — South Dakota Department of Health, Office of Health Protection, $140–$275 a year, banded by seating capacity; a new establishment adds a $100 initial fee on top, annual — every license expires December 31 regardless of issue date, with a discounted half-year fee for openings after July 1. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Sioux Falls, SD; what each one involves is set out on the Sioux Falls permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across SD and are covered on the SD state page.

How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Sioux Falls?

A restaurant and a coffee shop in Sioux Falls, SD need exactly the same 4 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Sioux Falls, SD, compared with a restaurant
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a restaurantOnly a restaurant needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops4400
Retail stores2220
Food trucks3221
Fitness studios2131
Auto repair shops3132
Veterinary clinics3132
Salons and barbers4133
Childcare centres2042
Contractors and trades4044

Sources

Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the fitness studios page, coffee shops page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Sioux Falls permits page and the SD state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

    Related

    Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.