13 permits · verified 2026-09-14
What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Rapid City?
In short
A auto repair shop in Rapid City, SD has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. South Dakota Secretary of State, Business Services charges $150 filed online; paper filing costs $165 for the articles of organization (llc). 4 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Rapid City
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Rapid City Community Development Department | Resolution No. 2023-088 states in terms that a sign permit, including electrical and outline lighting signs, is priced from Table 100-C, Commercial Permit Fees — the same valuation table used for commercial building, gas and plumbing permits, running from $37.00 at $1.00–$1,600.00 up to $5,608.75 for the first $1,000,000.00 plus $3.15 per additional $1,000.00 above that (see the Rapid City Commercial Building Permit record for the full table). A temporary sign permit, valid up to twice a year for no longer than 30 days, is priced the same way. Electrical and outline lighting signs are additionally subject to the adopted State Wiring Bulletin. | not stated for a standard sign permit; a temporary sign permit runs for no longer than 30 days and may be used up to twice a year | 2026-09-14 |
| Auto Repair Shop Licensing — City of Rapid City positiononly if it applies to you | City of Rapid City Finance Office, Licensing Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-14 |
| Auto Repair Shop — Dealer Licensing Covers Vehicle Sales Only (South Dakota)only if it applies to you | South Dakota Department of Revenue | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Rapid City
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General Business License — City of Rapid City positiononly if it applies to you | City of Rapid City Finance Office, Licensing Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-14 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Rapid City Community Development Department | No fee | one-time, issued after final inspection | 2026-09-14 |
| Fire Code Inspection and Permits | Rapid City Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division | Varies — formula on the Rapid City page | per permit; routine inspections recur on the department's own cycle | 2026-09-14 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Rapid City Community Development Department | Varies — formula on the Rapid City page | a renewed permit is valid for not more than 1 year and may be renewed only once without the Building Official’s approval | 2026-09-14 |
| Conditional Use Permit and Zoning Applicationsonly if it applies to you | City of Rapid City Community Development Department | Varies — formula on the Rapid City page | the permit runs with the approved use unless conditioned otherwise | 2026-09-14 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
SD registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | South Dakota Secretary of State, Business Services | $150 filed online; paper filing costs $165 | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | South Dakota Secretary of State, Business Services | $150 filed online; paper filing costs $165 | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | South Dakota Secretary of State, Business Services | $55 a year filed online; paper filing costs $70 | annual — due the first day of the entity's anniversary month of formation | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — State of South Dakota positiononly if it applies to you | South Dakota Secretary of State, Business Services | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax License | South Dakota Department of Revenue | No fee | no stated expiration | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Rapid City?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a auto repair shop in Rapid City, SD, 4 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
4 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 6 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Sign Permit: Resolution No. 2023-088 states in terms that a sign permit, including electrical and outline lighting signs, is priced from Table 100-C, Commercial Permit Fees — the same valuation table used for commercial building, gas and plumbing permits, running from $37.00 at $1.00–$1,600.00 up to $5,608.75 for the first $1,000,000.00 plus $3.15 per additional $1,000.00 above that (see the Rapid City Commercial Building Permit record for the full table). A temporary sign permit, valid up to twice a year for no longer than 30 days, is priced the same way. Electrical and outline lighting signs are additionally subject to the adopted State Wiring Bulletin.
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Rapid City permits page and the SD state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Rapid City?
Permits for a auto repair shop in Rapid City, SD come from 5 separate offices: City of Rapid City Finance Office, Licensing Division, City of Rapid City Community Development Department, Rapid City Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, South Dakota Secretary of State, Business Services, South Dakota Department of Revenue. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Rapid City Finance Office, Licensing DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: General Business License — City of Rapid City position, Auto Repair Shop Licensing — City of Rapid City position300 Sixth Street, Rapid City, SD 57701 · (605) 394-4143www.rcgov.org/how-to/how-to-apply-for/licenses-permits-157.html
- City of Rapid City Community Development DepartmentIssues 4 permits on this page: Sign Permit, Certificate of Occupancy, Commercial Building Permit, Conditional Use Permit and Zoning Applications300 Sixth Street, Rapid City, SD 57701 · (605) 394-4120www.rcgov.org/departments/community-planning-development.html
- Rapid City Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Code Inspection and Permits10 Main Street, Rapid City, SD 57701 · (605) 394-4180www.rcgov.org/departments/fire-department.html
- South Dakota Secretary of State, Business ServicesIssues 4 permits on this page: Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, Annual Report, General Business License — State of South Dakota position500 E Capitol Ave, Pierre, SD 57501 · (605) 773-4845sdsos.gov/business-services/default.aspx
- South Dakota Department of RevenueIssues 2 permits on this page: Sales Tax License, Auto Repair Shop — Dealer Licensing Covers Vehicle Sales Only (South Dakota)445 East Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501 · 1-800-829-9188dor.sd.gov
What does a auto repair shop need in Rapid City that other businesses do not?
2 of the 3 permits particular to a auto repair shop here apply to no other business type we cover in Rapid City: Auto Repair Shop Licensing — City of Rapid City position and Auto Repair Shop — Dealer Licensing Covers Vehicle Sales Only (South Dakota).
Auto Repair Shop Licensing — City of Rapid City position
The City's Licenses, Permits, Parking & Land Use Applications page lists the business types the Finance Office licenses, names no auto repair category, and states that other businesses need no Finance Office license, so no city fee applies to a repair shop as such — a contrast with Sioux Falls, which charges an annual fire license of $46.00 or $58.00 by bay count for the same premises. What still binds a Rapid City shop is the zoning and environmental layer rather than a license: repair uses are conditional in several districts, so check the use table before leasing; waste oil, solvents and parts washers bring the shop under South Dakota Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources rules; and a spray booth triggers fire permits and mechanical review. A shop that sells vehicles as well as repairing them crosses into dealer licensing under SDCL ch. 32-6B, which is a state credential with bonding and premises requirements of its own.
Auto Repair Shop — Dealer Licensing Covers Vehicle Sales Only (South Dakota)
No fee applies. The Department of Revenue's dealer-licensing page requires a motor vehicle dealer license of 'people who engage in the business of selling vehicles', and every dealer-license trigger in the motor vehicle statutes cited is tied to selling, exchanging or offering vehicles for sale, not to repairing them. A shop that only services and repairs vehicles, without buying or selling them, falls entirely outside the Division of Motor Vehicles' dealer-licensing requirements; a shop that also sells several used vehicles a year would separately cross into needing a Used Vehicle Dealer license for that distinct activity.
Shared with other businesses in Rapid City
- Sign Permit — City of Rapid City Community Development Department, Resolution No. 2023-088 states in terms that a sign permit, including electrical and outline lighting signs, is priced from Table 100-C, Commercial Permit Fees — the same valuation table used for commercial building, gas and plumbing permits, running from $37.00 at $1.00–$1,600.00 up to $5,608.75 for the first $1,000,000.00 plus $3.15 per additional $1,000.00 above that (see the Rapid City Commercial Building Permit record for the full table). A temporary sign permit, valid up to twice a year for no longer than 30 days, is priced the same way. Electrical and outline lighting signs are additionally subject to the adopted State Wiring Bulletin., not stated for a standard sign permit; a temporary sign permit runs for no longer than 30 days and may be used up to twice a year. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Rapid City, SD; what each one involves is set out on the Rapid City permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across SD and are covered on the SD state page.
How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Rapid City?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs Auto Repair Shop Licensing — City of Rapid City position and Auto Repair Shop — Dealer Licensing Covers Vehicle Sales Only (South Dakota). A fitness studio needs Fitness Studio Licensing — City of Rapid City position, which a auto repair shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a auto repair shop | Only a auto repair shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Restaurants | 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Salons and barbers | 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the veterinary clinics page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Rapid City permits page and the SD state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Licenses, Permits, Parking & Land Use Applications — the City's own current page enumerating the business types the Finance Office licenses and stating that 'If you DO NOT have one of these businesses, the Finance Office does not require you to have a business license through their office'City of Rapid City · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- Rapid City Municipal Code, current through Ordinance 6733 and legislation passed through July 20, 2026, hosted by ICC Code Solutions — Title 5 (Business Regulations and Licenses, including §5.04 business licenses generally, §5.48.010 prohibiting sales from a vehicle on a public street, ch. 5.50 mobile ice cream vendors and ch. 5.56 sidewalk vendors, with ch. 5.44 repealed), Title 6 (Animals, including §6.08.050 kennel licence and the veterinary exemption), Title 8 (Health and Safety, including §8.32.020 food establishments), Title 15 (Buildings and Construction, including §15.04.070 certificate of occupancy and §15.04.140 contractor licenses) and Title 17 (Zoning)City of Rapid City, codified by ICC Code Solutions · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- South Dakota Department of Revenue — motor vehicle dealer licensing, triggered by selling vehicles rather than repairing themSouth Dakota Department of Revenue · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
