11 permits · verified 2026-09-09
What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Tulsa?
In short
A salon or barber in Tulsa, OK has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 5 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center charges $75 one-time, per permit — commercial construction or any commercial site with or without improvements for the zoning clearance permit. 5 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a salon or barber in Tulsa
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permit | City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center | Minimum sign fee $65.00, with a $65.00 application fee counted toward that total. Business sign zoning-clearance-and-plan-review fee: $160.00. Outdoor advertising sign zoning-clearance-and-plan-review fee: $400.00. Interior electrical sign: $160.00. Border neon sign: $160.00. Inflatable non-rigid or tethered balloon: $105.00. A promotional business sign, a remove-and-rehang-in-same-location, or a temporary sign each carry only the flat $65.00 fee with no separate application/minimum fee. | one-time, per sign; permit validity/renewal cycle for temporary and promotional sign categories is not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-09 |
| Salon/Barbershop Licensing — State Board License Applies (Tulsa)only if it applies to you | City of Tulsa Finance Department, License Center (Business Licensing) | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-09 |
| Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License | Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering | $120 to open; renewal is $90 | the board's own rule book contradicts itself — one section says annual, the fee schedule two sections later labels the same fees biennial | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Tulsa
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center | Varies — formula on the Tulsa page | one-time, per project | 2026-09-09 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center | Varies — formula on the Tulsa page | Standard COO: one-time, no expiration. Temporary/Partial COO: temporary, pending final inspections. | 2026-09-09 |
| Zoning Clearance Permit | City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center | $75 one-time, per permit — commercial construction or any commercial site with or without improvements | one-time, per permit | 2026-09-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
OK registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Oklahoma Secretary of State, Business Filing Department | Varies — formula on the OK page | perpetual — a domestic corporation files no recurring state report at all | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Oklahoma Secretary of State, Business Filing Department | $100 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual certificate is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Certificate (LLC) / No Recurring Filing (domestic corporation)only if it applies to you | Oklahoma Secretary of State, Business Filing Department | Varies — formula on the OK page | annual for an LLC, on the anniversary of its formation date | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Permit | Oklahoma Tax Commission | $20 for the primary location; $10 for each additional one | 3 years, then expires outright rather than renewing automatically | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Oklahoma Department of Commerce Positiononly if it applies to you | Oklahoma Secretary of State, Business Filing Department | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Tulsa?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a salon or barber in Tulsa, OK, 6 apply to every business of this type and 5 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $215.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Sign Permit: Minimum sign fee $65.00, with a $65.00 application fee counted toward that total. Business sign zoning-clearance-and-plan-review fee: $160.00. Outdoor advertising sign zoning-clearance-and-plan-review fee: $400.00. Interior electrical sign: $160.00. Border neon sign: $160.00. Inflatable non-rigid or tethered balloon: $105.00. A promotional business sign, a remove-and-rehang-in-same-location, or a temporary sign each carry only the flat $65.00 fee with no separate application/minimum fee.
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Tulsa permits page and the OK state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Tulsa?
Permits for a salon or barber in Tulsa, OK come from 5 separate offices: City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center, City of Tulsa Finance Department, License Center (Business Licensing), Oklahoma Secretary of State, Business Filing Department, Oklahoma Tax Commission, Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit CenterIssues 4 permits on this page: Commercial Building Permit, Sign Permit, Certificate of Occupancy, Zoning Clearance Permit175 E. 2nd Street, 4th Floor, Tulsa, OK 74103 · (918) 596-9456www.cityoftulsa.org/government/departments/development-services/permitting/permit-center
- City of Tulsa Finance Department, License Center (Business Licensing)Issues 1 permit on this page: Salon/Barbershop Licensing — State Board License Applies (Tulsa)175 E. 2nd Street, Ste. 255, Tulsa, OK 74103 · (918) 596-7640www.cityoftulsa.org/licensing
- Oklahoma Secretary of State, Business Filing DepartmentIssues 4 permits on this page: Certificate of Incorporation, Articles of Organization (LLC), Annual Certificate (LLC) / No Recurring Filing (domestic corporation), General Business License — Oklahoma Department of Commerce Position421 NW 13th Street, Suite 210, Oklahoma City, OK 73103 · (405) 521-3912www.sos.ok.gov/business/default.aspx
- Oklahoma Tax CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Permit300 N Broadway Avenue, Oklahoma City, OK 73102oklahoma.gov/tax/businesses/sales-use-tax.html
- Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and BarberingIssues 1 permit on this page: Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License2401 NW 23rd Street, Suite 74, Oklahoma City, OK 73107oklahoma.gov/cosmo.html
What does a salon or barber need in Tulsa that other businesses do not?
2 of the 3 permits particular to a salon or barber here apply to no other business type we cover in Tulsa: Salon/Barbershop Licensing — State Board License Applies (Tulsa) and Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License.
Salon/Barbershop Licensing — State Board License Applies (Tulsa)
The City's current Business Licensing page and the 'Doing Business in Tulsa' guide's license-type table list no hairdresser-, barber-, beauty-shop- or cosmetology-specific municipal license, so no fee applies at city level. (Title 2's 'Commercial Animal Establishment' Type A definition does include a 'grooming or bathing facility,' but that means animal grooming, not a human hair/nail salon, and is not a match.) A salon here owes only whatever building, sign and zoning requirements its premises trigger, on top of the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology's own state shop license.
Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License
A hundred and twenty dollars to open a cosmetology establishment, a barber establishment, a cosmetic studio or a nail salon, and $90 to renew — the fee is the same across every establishment category. The board's own current rule book states the term two ways: one rule states an establishment license issued to a licensee expires on the last day of the applicant's birthday month each year, while the very next rule labels the identical fee line items biennial, twice over. Confirm the actual cycle with the board directly rather than assuming either reading. A renewal filed more than two months late carries a flat $10 penalty, and reprinting a license after an address or name change costs $5.
Shared with other businesses in Tulsa
- Sign Permit — City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center, Minimum sign fee $65.00, with a $65.00 application fee counted toward that total. Business sign zoning-clearance-and-plan-review fee: $160.00. Outdoor advertising sign zoning-clearance-and-plan-review fee: $400.00. Interior electrical sign: $160.00. Border neon sign: $160.00. Inflatable non-rigid or tethered balloon: $105.00. A promotional business sign, a remove-and-rehang-in-same-location, or a temporary sign each carry only the flat $65.00 fee with no separate application/minimum fee., one-time, per sign; permit validity/renewal cycle for temporary and promotional sign categories is not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Tulsa, OK; what each one involves is set out on the Tulsa permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across OK and are covered on the OK state page.
How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Tulsa?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Salon/Barbershop Licensing — State Board License Applies (Tulsa) and Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License. A fitness studio needs Fire Suppression / Fire Alarm / Commercial Hood Suppression System Permit and General Business License — City of Tulsa Position, which a salon or barber does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a salon or barber | Only a salon or barber needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Retail stores | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Auto repair shops | 5 | 1 | 2 | 4 |
| Coffee shops | 5 | 1 | 2 | 4 |
| Restaurants | 5 | 1 | 2 | 4 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Contractors and trades | 6 | 0 | 3 | 6 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the veterinary clinics page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Tulsa permits page and the OK state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Licensing (current business license application listing)City of Tulsa · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
- Oklahoma Administrative Code title 175 — Board of Cosmetology and Barbering rule book, effective 1 December 2025Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
