13 permits · verified 2026-09-09
What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Tulsa?
In short
A coffee shop in Tulsa, OK has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center charges $75 one-time, per permit — commercial construction or any commercial site with or without improvements for the zoning clearance permit. 6 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a coffee shop in Tulsa
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permit | City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center | Minimum sign fee $65.00, with a $65.00 application fee counted toward that total. Business sign zoning-clearance-and-plan-review fee: $160.00. Outdoor advertising sign zoning-clearance-and-plan-review fee: $400.00. Interior electrical sign: $160.00. Border neon sign: $160.00. Inflatable non-rigid or tethered balloon: $105.00. A promotional business sign, a remove-and-rehang-in-same-location, or a temporary sign each carry only the flat $65.00 fee with no separate application/minimum fee. | one-time, per sign; permit validity/renewal cycle for temporary and promotional sign categories is not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-09 |
| Fire Suppression / Fire Alarm / Commercial Hood Suppression System Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center | Fire suppression (sprinkler) system: $50.00 application fee, plus a permit fee from $85.00 (1-5 heads) up to $620.00 (601-750 heads), plus $0.85 per additional head above 750 (§307-308). Fire suppression HOOD permit — the fee most relevant to a restaurant or coffee shop's commercial-kitchen exhaust hood — is a flat $65.00 per hood (§309). Fire alarm system: $50.00 application fee, plus a permit fee from $85.00 (1-5 devices) up to $1,235.00 (601-750 devices), plus $1.65 per additional device above 750 (§310-311). A surety bond of $2,500.00 is required on file with the City before a fire suppression system permit is issued. | one-time, per system installation, remodel or renovation | 2026-09-09 |
| Food Service Establishment License (City of Tulsa) | City of Tulsa Finance Department, License Center (Business Licensing) | No fee | annual | 2026-09-09 |
| Certified Food Protection Manager (optional, not mandatory)only if it applies to you | Oklahoma State Department of Health, Consumer Health Service | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
| Food Establishment License | Oklahoma State Department of Health, Consumer Health Service | $425 to open, plus a $425 plan review; renewal is $335 a year | annual | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Tulsa
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center | Varies — formula on the Tulsa page | one-time, per project | 2026-09-09 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center | Varies — formula on the Tulsa page | Standard COO: one-time, no expiration. Temporary/Partial COO: temporary, pending final inspections. | 2026-09-09 |
| Zoning Clearance Permit | City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center | $75 one-time, per permit — commercial construction or any commercial site with or without improvements | one-time, per permit | 2026-09-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
OK registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Oklahoma Secretary of State, Business Filing Department | Varies — formula on the OK page | perpetual — a domestic corporation files no recurring state report at all | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Oklahoma Secretary of State, Business Filing Department | $100 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual certificate is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Certificate (LLC) / No Recurring Filing (domestic corporation)only if it applies to you | Oklahoma Secretary of State, Business Filing Department | Varies — formula on the OK page | annual for an LLC, on the anniversary of its formation date | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Permit | Oklahoma Tax Commission | $20 for the primary location; $10 for each additional one | 3 years, then expires outright rather than renewing automatically | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Oklahoma Department of Commerce Positiononly if it applies to you | Oklahoma Secretary of State, Business Filing Department | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Tulsa?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a coffee shop in Tulsa, OK, 7 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 7 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $520.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Sign Permit: Minimum sign fee $65.00, with a $65.00 application fee counted toward that total. Business sign zoning-clearance-and-plan-review fee: $160.00. Outdoor advertising sign zoning-clearance-and-plan-review fee: $400.00. Interior electrical sign: $160.00. Border neon sign: $160.00. Inflatable non-rigid or tethered balloon: $105.00. A promotional business sign, a remove-and-rehang-in-same-location, or a temporary sign each carry only the flat $65.00 fee with no separate application/minimum fee.
Fire Suppression / Fire Alarm / Commercial Hood Suppression System Permit: Fire suppression (sprinkler) system: $50.00 application fee, plus a permit fee from $85.00 (1-5 heads) up to $620.00 (601-750 heads), plus $0.85 per additional head above 750 (§307-308). Fire suppression HOOD permit — the fee most relevant to a restaurant or coffee shop's commercial-kitchen exhaust hood — is a flat $65.00 per hood (§309). Fire alarm system: $50.00 application fee, plus a permit fee from $85.00 (1-5 devices) up to $1,235.00 (601-750 devices), plus $1.65 per additional device above 750 (§310-311). A surety bond of $2,500.00 is required on file with the City before a fire suppression system permit is issued.
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Tulsa permits page and the OK state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Tulsa?
Permits for a coffee shop in Tulsa, OK come from 5 separate offices: City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center, City of Tulsa Finance Department, License Center (Business Licensing), Oklahoma Secretary of State, Business Filing Department, Oklahoma State Department of Health, Consumer Health Service, Oklahoma Tax Commission. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit CenterIssues 5 permits on this page, including Commercial Building Permit, Sign Permit, Fire Suppression / Fire Alarm / Commercial Hood Suppression System Permit175 E. 2nd Street, 4th Floor, Tulsa, OK 74103 · (918) 596-9456www.cityoftulsa.org/government/departments/development-services/permitting/permit-center
- City of Tulsa Finance Department, License Center (Business Licensing)Issues 1 permit on this page: Food Service Establishment License (City of Tulsa)175 E. 2nd Street, Ste. 255, Tulsa, OK 74103 · (918) 596-7640www.cityoftulsa.org/licensing
- Oklahoma Secretary of State, Business Filing DepartmentIssues 4 permits on this page: Certificate of Incorporation, Articles of Organization (LLC), Annual Certificate (LLC) / No Recurring Filing (domestic corporation), General Business License — Oklahoma Department of Commerce Position421 NW 13th Street, Suite 210, Oklahoma City, OK 73103 · (405) 521-3912www.sos.ok.gov/business/default.aspx
- Oklahoma State Department of Health, Consumer Health ServiceIssues 2 permits on this page: Certified Food Protection Manager (optional, not mandatory), Food Establishment License123 Robert S. Kerr Avenue, Suite 1702, Oklahoma City, OK 73102 · (405) 426-8250oklahoma.gov/health/services/licensing-inspections/consumer-health-service/licensure/food.html
- Oklahoma Tax CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Permit300 N Broadway Avenue, Oklahoma City, OK 73102oklahoma.gov/tax/businesses/sales-use-tax.html
What does a coffee shop need in Tulsa that other businesses do not?
Food Service Establishment License (City of Tulsa)
A City license fee genuinely applies and is mandatory — the City's own License Checklist confirms it exists ('License Fee (as stated on Food Application)') and that a 50% late penalty applies after 30 days — but the dollar amount is set by Tulsa Health Department (THD) directly on its own 'blue' food-application form at the time of the mandatory health inspection, not published in any fixed schedule. Every attempt to retrieve tulsa-health.org during this research, its HTML pages and PDFs alike, returned HTTP 403, so the figure could not be sourced to a document actually read and is recorded here as fee: none rather than guessed. THD confirms (on a City of Tulsa page directly retrieved) that this license 'needs to be renewed annually.' Requires a current Oklahoma Sales Tax Permit and an updated Certificate of Use and Occupancy (Zoning Clearance) for new issuance or change of use; separate from and additional to Oklahoma's own statewide Food Establishment License recorded at the state layer.
Shared with other businesses in Tulsa
- Sign Permit — City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center, Minimum sign fee $65.00, with a $65.00 application fee counted toward that total. Business sign zoning-clearance-and-plan-review fee: $160.00. Outdoor advertising sign zoning-clearance-and-plan-review fee: $400.00. Interior electrical sign: $160.00. Border neon sign: $160.00. Inflatable non-rigid or tethered balloon: $105.00. A promotional business sign, a remove-and-rehang-in-same-location, or a temporary sign each carry only the flat $65.00 fee with no separate application/minimum fee., one-time, per sign; permit validity/renewal cycle for temporary and promotional sign categories is not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
- Fire Suppression / Fire Alarm / Commercial Hood Suppression System Permit — City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center, Fire suppression (sprinkler) system: $50.00 application fee, plus a permit fee from $85.00 (1-5 heads) up to $620.00 (601-750 heads), plus $0.85 per additional head above 750 (§307-308). Fire suppression HOOD permit — the fee most relevant to a restaurant or coffee shop's commercial-kitchen exhaust hood — is a flat $65.00 per hood (§309). Fire alarm system: $50.00 application fee, plus a permit fee from $85.00 (1-5 devices) up to $1,235.00 (601-750 devices), plus $1.65 per additional device above 750 (§310-311). A surety bond of $2,500.00 is required on file with the City before a fire suppression system permit is issued., one-time, per system installation, remodel or renovation. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios, veterinary clinics, auto repair shops and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the childcare centres page.
- Certified Food Protection Manager (optional, not mandatory) — Oklahoma State Department of Health, Consumer Health Service, No fee, not applicable. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Food Establishment License — Oklahoma State Department of Health, Consumer Health Service, $425 to open, plus a $425 plan review; renewal is $335 a year, annual. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Tulsa, OK; what each one involves is set out on the Tulsa permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across OK and are covered on the OK state page.
How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Tulsa?
A coffee shop and a restaurant in Tulsa, OK need exactly the same 5 permits beyond the ones every business needs.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a coffee shop | Only a coffee shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 5 | 5 | 0 | 0 |
| Fitness studios | 3 | 2 | 3 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 2 | 3 | 1 |
| Retail stores | 3 | 2 | 3 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 4 | 2 | 3 | 2 |
| Auto repair shops | 5 | 2 | 3 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 1 | 4 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 1 | 4 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 6 | 0 | 5 | 6 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the veterinary clinics page, childcare centres page, restaurants page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Tulsa permits page and the OK state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- License Checklist (Food and Alcohol Occupational Licensing)City of Tulsa, License Center · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
- Mobile Vendor GuideCity of Tulsa · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
- Guide to Doing Business in TulsaCity of Tulsa, Mayor's Office of Economic Development · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
