13 permits · verified 2026-09-09
What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Tulsa?
In short
A auto repair shop in Tulsa, OK has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center charges $65 per operational permit for the repair garages and motor fuel-dispensing facilities operational permit. 6 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Tulsa
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permit | City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center | Minimum sign fee $65.00, with a $65.00 application fee counted toward that total. Business sign zoning-clearance-and-plan-review fee: $160.00. Outdoor advertising sign zoning-clearance-and-plan-review fee: $400.00. Interior electrical sign: $160.00. Border neon sign: $160.00. Inflatable non-rigid or tethered balloon: $105.00. A promotional business sign, a remove-and-rehang-in-same-location, or a temporary sign each carry only the flat $65.00 fee with no separate application/minimum fee. | one-time, per sign; permit validity/renewal cycle for temporary and promotional sign categories is not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-09 |
| Fire Suppression / Fire Alarm / Commercial Hood Suppression System Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center | Fire suppression (sprinkler) system: $50.00 application fee, plus a permit fee from $85.00 (1-5 heads) up to $620.00 (601-750 heads), plus $0.85 per additional head above 750 (§307-308). Fire suppression HOOD permit — the fee most relevant to a restaurant or coffee shop's commercial-kitchen exhaust hood — is a flat $65.00 per hood (§309). Fire alarm system: $50.00 application fee, plus a permit fee from $85.00 (1-5 devices) up to $1,235.00 (601-750 devices), plus $1.65 per additional device above 750 (§310-311). A surety bond of $2,500.00 is required on file with the City before a fire suppression system permit is issued. | one-time, per system installation, remodel or renovation | 2026-09-09 |
| Auto Repair Shop Licensing — City of Tulsa Positiononly if it applies to you | City of Tulsa Finance Department, License Center (Business Licensing) | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-09 |
| Repair Garages and Motor Fuel-Dispensing Facilities Operational Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center | $65 per operational permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-09 |
| Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Oklahoma Dealer Statute Positiononly if it applies to you | Oklahoma New Motor Vehicle Commission | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Tulsa
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center | Varies — formula on the Tulsa page | one-time, per project | 2026-09-09 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center | Varies — formula on the Tulsa page | Standard COO: one-time, no expiration. Temporary/Partial COO: temporary, pending final inspections. | 2026-09-09 |
| Zoning Clearance Permit | City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center | $75 one-time, per permit — commercial construction or any commercial site with or without improvements | one-time, per permit | 2026-09-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
OK registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Oklahoma Secretary of State, Business Filing Department | Varies — formula on the OK page | perpetual — a domestic corporation files no recurring state report at all | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Oklahoma Secretary of State, Business Filing Department | $100 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual certificate is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Certificate (LLC) / No Recurring Filing (domestic corporation)only if it applies to you | Oklahoma Secretary of State, Business Filing Department | Varies — formula on the OK page | annual for an LLC, on the anniversary of its formation date | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Permit | Oklahoma Tax Commission | $20 for the primary location; $10 for each additional one | 3 years, then expires outright rather than renewing automatically | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Oklahoma Department of Commerce Positiononly if it applies to you | Oklahoma Secretary of State, Business Filing Department | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Tulsa?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a auto repair shop in Tulsa, OK, 5 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 5 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $95.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Sign Permit: Minimum sign fee $65.00, with a $65.00 application fee counted toward that total. Business sign zoning-clearance-and-plan-review fee: $160.00. Outdoor advertising sign zoning-clearance-and-plan-review fee: $400.00. Interior electrical sign: $160.00. Border neon sign: $160.00. Inflatable non-rigid or tethered balloon: $105.00. A promotional business sign, a remove-and-rehang-in-same-location, or a temporary sign each carry only the flat $65.00 fee with no separate application/minimum fee.
Fire Suppression / Fire Alarm / Commercial Hood Suppression System Permit: Fire suppression (sprinkler) system: $50.00 application fee, plus a permit fee from $85.00 (1-5 heads) up to $620.00 (601-750 heads), plus $0.85 per additional head above 750 (§307-308). Fire suppression HOOD permit — the fee most relevant to a restaurant or coffee shop's commercial-kitchen exhaust hood — is a flat $65.00 per hood (§309). Fire alarm system: $50.00 application fee, plus a permit fee from $85.00 (1-5 devices) up to $1,235.00 (601-750 devices), plus $1.65 per additional device above 750 (§310-311). A surety bond of $2,500.00 is required on file with the City before a fire suppression system permit is issued.
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Tulsa permits page and the OK state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Tulsa?
Permits for a auto repair shop in Tulsa, OK come from 5 separate offices: City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center, City of Tulsa Finance Department, License Center (Business Licensing), Oklahoma Secretary of State, Business Filing Department, Oklahoma Tax Commission, Oklahoma New Motor Vehicle Commission. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit CenterIssues 6 permits on this page, including Commercial Building Permit, Sign Permit, Fire Suppression / Fire Alarm / Commercial Hood Suppression System Permit175 E. 2nd Street, 4th Floor, Tulsa, OK 74103 · (918) 596-9456www.cityoftulsa.org/government/departments/development-services/permitting/permit-center
- City of Tulsa Finance Department, License Center (Business Licensing)Issues 1 permit on this page: Auto Repair Shop Licensing — City of Tulsa Position175 E. 2nd Street, Ste. 255, Tulsa, OK 74103 · (918) 596-7640www.cityoftulsa.org/licensing
- Oklahoma Secretary of State, Business Filing DepartmentIssues 4 permits on this page: Certificate of Incorporation, Articles of Organization (LLC), Annual Certificate (LLC) / No Recurring Filing (domestic corporation), General Business License — Oklahoma Department of Commerce Position421 NW 13th Street, Suite 210, Oklahoma City, OK 73103 · (405) 521-3912www.sos.ok.gov/business/default.aspx
- Oklahoma Tax CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Permit300 N Broadway Avenue, Oklahoma City, OK 73102oklahoma.gov/tax/businesses/sales-use-tax.html
- Oklahoma New Motor Vehicle CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Oklahoma Dealer Statute Position4334 NW Expressway, Suite 183, Oklahoma City, OK 73116 · (405) 607-8227oklahoma.gov/onmvc.html
What does a auto repair shop need in Tulsa that other businesses do not?
3 of the 5 permits particular to a auto repair shop here apply to no other business type we cover in Tulsa: Auto Repair Shop Licensing — City of Tulsa Position, Repair Garages and Motor Fuel-Dispensing Facilities Operational Permit and Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Oklahoma Dealer Statute Position.
Auto Repair Shop Licensing — City of Tulsa Position
The City's current Business Licensing page and the 'Doing Business in Tulsa' guide's license-type table list no automotive-repair-specific municipal business license, so no fee applies to this trade specifically at city level, on top of the state licenses recorded at the state layer — though see the separate Repair Garage Fire Prevention Code operational-permit record below, which does apply.
Repair Garages and Motor Fuel-Dispensing Facilities Operational Permit
Unlike Oklahoma City, which has no fire-code line item for auto-repair shops at all, Tulsa's Fire Prevention Code fee schedule does price an operational permit specifically for 'operation of repair garages and automotive, marine and fleet motor fuel-dispensing facilities,' at a flat $65.00 — but the ordinance's own text conditions it on 'special circumstances as determined by the Fire Code Official,' so it is not automatically triggered for every auto-repair shop. Confirm applicability with the Development Services Permit Center (918-596-9456) for a specific facility.
Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Oklahoma Dealer Statute Position
Under 47 Oklahoma Statutes sections 562 and 564, there is no state license fee for a shop that only repairs vehicles: the statute's list of businesses that must hold a dealer license runs to new and used dealers, powersports dealers, manufacturers and distributors, with repair appearing only in a narrow carve-in for a franchised dealer's own warranty service department performing repairs under a manufacturer's warranty — not a general repair-shop requirement. The used vehicle regulator's own rule goes further and states explicitly that an automotive dismantler need not separately license as an automobile garage or shop. A repair shop that also buys or sells used vehicles crosses into dealer licensing at that point, but repair work alone does not.
Shared with other businesses in Tulsa
- Sign Permit — City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center, Minimum sign fee $65.00, with a $65.00 application fee counted toward that total. Business sign zoning-clearance-and-plan-review fee: $160.00. Outdoor advertising sign zoning-clearance-and-plan-review fee: $400.00. Interior electrical sign: $160.00. Border neon sign: $160.00. Inflatable non-rigid or tethered balloon: $105.00. A promotional business sign, a remove-and-rehang-in-same-location, or a temporary sign each carry only the flat $65.00 fee with no separate application/minimum fee., one-time, per sign; permit validity/renewal cycle for temporary and promotional sign categories is not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
- Fire Suppression / Fire Alarm / Commercial Hood Suppression System Permit — City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center, Fire suppression (sprinkler) system: $50.00 application fee, plus a permit fee from $85.00 (1-5 heads) up to $620.00 (601-750 heads), plus $0.85 per additional head above 750 (§307-308). Fire suppression HOOD permit — the fee most relevant to a restaurant or coffee shop's commercial-kitchen exhaust hood — is a flat $65.00 per hood (§309). Fire alarm system: $50.00 application fee, plus a permit fee from $85.00 (1-5 devices) up to $1,235.00 (601-750 devices), plus $1.65 per additional device above 750 (§310-311). A surety bond of $2,500.00 is required on file with the City before a fire suppression system permit is issued., one-time, per system installation, remodel or renovation. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, veterinary clinics and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the childcare centres page.
The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Tulsa, OK; what each one involves is set out on the Tulsa permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across OK and are covered on the OK state page.
How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Tulsa?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 2 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs Auto Repair Shop Licensing — City of Tulsa Position, Repair Garages and Motor Fuel-Dispensing Facilities Operational Permit and Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Oklahoma Dealer Statute Position. A fitness studio needs General Business License — City of Tulsa Position, which a auto repair shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a auto repair shop | Only a auto repair shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 3 | 2 | 3 | 1 |
| Retail stores | 3 | 2 | 3 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 4 | 2 | 3 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 5 | 2 | 3 | 3 |
| Restaurants | 5 | 2 | 3 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 1 | 4 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 1 | 4 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 6 | 0 | 5 | 6 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 5 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the veterinary clinics page and childcare centres page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Tulsa permits page and the OK state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Licensing (current business license application listing)City of Tulsa · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
- Title 49, Tulsa Revised Ordinances — Administrative, Permit, and License FeesCity of Tulsa · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
- 47 Oklahoma Statutes sections 562 and 564 — motor vehicle dealer licensing definitions, which do not reach repair-only shopsOklahoma New Motor Vehicle Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
