Commercial Compliance Hub

13 permits · verified 2026-09-09

What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Tulsa?

In short

A restaurant in Tulsa, OK has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center charges $75 one-time, per permit — commercial construction or any commercial site with or without improvements for the zoning clearance permit. 6 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a restaurant in Tulsa

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign PermitCity of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit CenterMinimum sign fee $65.00, with a $65.00 application fee counted toward that total. Business sign zoning-clearance-and-plan-review fee: $160.00. Outdoor advertising sign zoning-clearance-and-plan-review fee: $400.00. Interior electrical sign: $160.00. Border neon sign: $160.00. Inflatable non-rigid or tethered balloon: $105.00. A promotional business sign, a remove-and-rehang-in-same-location, or a temporary sign each carry only the flat $65.00 fee with no separate application/minimum fee.one-time, per sign; permit validity/renewal cycle for temporary and promotional sign categories is not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
Fire Suppression / Fire Alarm / Commercial Hood Suppression System Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit CenterFire suppression (sprinkler) system: $50.00 application fee, plus a permit fee from $85.00 (1-5 heads) up to $620.00 (601-750 heads), plus $0.85 per additional head above 750 (§307-308). Fire suppression HOOD permit — the fee most relevant to a restaurant or coffee shop's commercial-kitchen exhaust hood — is a flat $65.00 per hood (§309). Fire alarm system: $50.00 application fee, plus a permit fee from $85.00 (1-5 devices) up to $1,235.00 (601-750 devices), plus $1.65 per additional device above 750 (§310-311). A surety bond of $2,500.00 is required on file with the City before a fire suppression system permit is issued.one-time, per system installation, remodel or renovation2026-09-09
Food Service Establishment License (City of Tulsa)City of Tulsa Finance Department, License Center (Business Licensing)No feeannual2026-09-09
Certified Food Protection Manager (optional, not mandatory)only if it applies to youOklahoma State Department of Health, Consumer Health ServiceNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Food Establishment LicenseOklahoma State Department of Health, Consumer Health Service$425 to open, plus a $425 plan review; renewal is $335 a yearannual2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Tulsa

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Building PermitCity of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit CenterVaries — formula on the Tulsa pageone-time, per project2026-09-09
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit CenterVaries — formula on the Tulsa pageStandard COO: one-time, no expiration. Temporary/Partial COO: temporary, pending final inspections.2026-09-09
Zoning Clearance PermitCity of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center$75 one-time, per permit — commercial construction or any commercial site with or without improvementsone-time, per permit2026-09-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

OK registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Incorporationonly if it applies to youOklahoma Secretary of State, Business Filing DepartmentVaries — formula on the OK pageperpetual — a domestic corporation files no recurring state report at all2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youOklahoma Secretary of State, Business Filing Department$100 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual certificate is due every year2026-09-04
Annual Certificate (LLC) / No Recurring Filing (domestic corporation)only if it applies to youOklahoma Secretary of State, Business Filing DepartmentVaries — formula on the OK pageannual for an LLC, on the anniversary of its formation date2026-09-04
Sales Tax PermitOklahoma Tax Commission$20 for the primary location; $10 for each additional one3 years, then expires outright rather than renewing automatically2026-09-04
General Business License — Oklahoma Department of Commerce Positiononly if it applies to youOklahoma Secretary of State, Business Filing DepartmentNo feenot applicable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Tulsa?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a restaurant in Tulsa, OK, 7 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 7 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $520.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit: Minimum sign fee $65.00, with a $65.00 application fee counted toward that total. Business sign zoning-clearance-and-plan-review fee: $160.00. Outdoor advertising sign zoning-clearance-and-plan-review fee: $400.00. Interior electrical sign: $160.00. Border neon sign: $160.00. Inflatable non-rigid or tethered balloon: $105.00. A promotional business sign, a remove-and-rehang-in-same-location, or a temporary sign each carry only the flat $65.00 fee with no separate application/minimum fee.

Fire Suppression / Fire Alarm / Commercial Hood Suppression System Permit: Fire suppression (sprinkler) system: $50.00 application fee, plus a permit fee from $85.00 (1-5 heads) up to $620.00 (601-750 heads), plus $0.85 per additional head above 750 (§307-308). Fire suppression HOOD permit — the fee most relevant to a restaurant or coffee shop's commercial-kitchen exhaust hood — is a flat $65.00 per hood (§309). Fire alarm system: $50.00 application fee, plus a permit fee from $85.00 (1-5 devices) up to $1,235.00 (601-750 devices), plus $1.65 per additional device above 750 (§310-311). A surety bond of $2,500.00 is required on file with the City before a fire suppression system permit is issued.

The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Tulsa permits page and the OK state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Tulsa?

Permits for a restaurant in Tulsa, OK come from 5 separate offices: City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center, City of Tulsa Finance Department, License Center (Business Licensing), Oklahoma Secretary of State, Business Filing Department, Oklahoma State Department of Health, Consumer Health Service, Oklahoma Tax Commission. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a restaurant need in Tulsa that other businesses do not?

Certified Food Protection Manager (optional, not mandatory)

No fee, because Oklahoma runs no mandatory statewide food handler card or food manager certification programme — and this is worth stating plainly because it contradicts what a business owner might expect from a neighbouring state. The rule gives the person in charge three separate ways to demonstrate knowledge at inspection: having no priority violations that day, being a certified food protection manager, or simply answering the inspector's questions correctly. Certification is one option among three, not a requirement. Local ordinances in individual cities and counties may impose their own food handler card programmes, but those are municipal choices rather than a state mandate.

Shared with other businesses in Tulsa

  • Sign Permit — City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center, Minimum sign fee $65.00, with a $65.00 application fee counted toward that total. Business sign zoning-clearance-and-plan-review fee: $160.00. Outdoor advertising sign zoning-clearance-and-plan-review fee: $400.00. Interior electrical sign: $160.00. Border neon sign: $160.00. Inflatable non-rigid or tethered balloon: $105.00. A promotional business sign, a remove-and-rehang-in-same-location, or a temporary sign each carry only the flat $65.00 fee with no separate application/minimum fee., one-time, per sign; permit validity/renewal cycle for temporary and promotional sign categories is not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
  • Fire Suppression / Fire Alarm / Commercial Hood Suppression System Permit — City of Tulsa Development Services Department, Permit Center, Fire suppression (sprinkler) system: $50.00 application fee, plus a permit fee from $85.00 (1-5 heads) up to $620.00 (601-750 heads), plus $0.85 per additional head above 750 (§307-308). Fire suppression HOOD permit — the fee most relevant to a restaurant or coffee shop's commercial-kitchen exhaust hood — is a flat $65.00 per hood (§309). Fire alarm system: $50.00 application fee, plus a permit fee from $85.00 (1-5 devices) up to $1,235.00 (601-750 devices), plus $1.65 per additional device above 750 (§310-311). A surety bond of $2,500.00 is required on file with the City before a fire suppression system permit is issued., one-time, per system installation, remodel or renovation. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, veterinary clinics, auto repair shops and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the childcare centres page.
  • Food Service Establishment License (City of Tulsa) — City of Tulsa Finance Department, License Center (Business Licensing), No fee, annual. Also required for coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Food Establishment License — Oklahoma State Department of Health, Consumer Health Service, $425 to open, plus a $425 plan review; renewal is $335 a year, annual. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.

The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Tulsa, OK; what each one involves is set out on the Tulsa permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across OK and are covered on the OK state page.

How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Tulsa?

A restaurant and a coffee shop in Tulsa, OK need exactly the same 5 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Tulsa, OK, compared with a restaurant
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a restaurantOnly a restaurant needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops5500
Fitness studios3231
Food trucks3231
Retail stores3231
Veterinary clinics4232
Auto repair shops5233
Childcare centres3142
Salons and barbers3142
Contractors and trades6056

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the veterinary clinics page, childcare centres page, coffee shops page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Tulsa permits page and the OK state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Oklahoma Administrative Code 310:257-3-2 — the person-in-charge demonstration of knowledge rule, of which certification is only one optionOklahoma State Department of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.