Commercial Compliance Hub

10 permits · verified 2026-09-09

What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Las Vegas?

In short

A fitness studio in Las Vegas, NV has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 4 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Las Vegas Department of Planning charges $100 one-time, per request for the zoning verification letter. 5 of the 10 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

The permits at a glance

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business Licence — Health and Fitness ClubCity of Las Vegas Department of Community Development, Business Licensing Division$200 licence fee plus a $50 processing fee ($250 total) due at application — a different, higher figure than the $150 standard structure most categories use.not stated beyond the initial application fee2026-09-09
Building Permit (Commercial)City of Las Vegas Department of Building and SafetyPriced by ICC occupancy classification and project square footage on Table 3-A of the Building & Safety fee schedule, combining a separate Plan Check Fee and an Inspection/Permit Fee for each size band. Representative 'Complete' (new-construction) examples: a small Restaurant (under 50 occupants, up to 1,500 sq ft) is $964 plan check + $2,074 inspection/permit; a 500 sq ft Office is $325 + $1,249; a 1,000 sq ft General Retail (Mercantile) space is $442 + $1,167; a 250 sq ft Day Care Facility is $168 + $453; a 5,000 sq ft Repair Garage/Service Station is $1,175 + $2,920. Tenant-improvement work on existing space is priced on separate, generally lower TI bands for the same occupancy. A companion table (3-B/3-C) scales the same figures further by the building's fire-resistance construction type. A $55 Permit Issuance fee and, for most occupancies, a $220 (or $132 for some smaller TI categories) Fire Plan Review fee (Table 3-G) apply on top of the base building-permit fee.one-time, per project2026-09-09
Sign PermitCity of Las Vegas Department of Building and Safety$102 plan check plus $139 inspection/permit fee ($241 total) for the first sign at an address (pole/monument, wall/roof, or free-standing outdoor advertising); $66 plan check plus $72 inspection ($138 total) for each additional sign at the same address; a political sign is $22 plan check only.one-time, per sign2026-09-09
Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to youCity of Las Vegas Department of Planning$100 one-time, per requestone-time, no stated expiration2026-09-09
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Las Vegas Department of Building and SafetyNo feeone-time, no expiration2026-09-09
Sales and Use Tax PermitNevada Department of Taxation$15 for each location, one timeno expiration — valid until suspended or revoked2026-09-04
State Business LicenceNevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings Division$200 a year for most entity types; a corporation pays $500annual — due on the last day of the anniversary month the licence was first filed2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youNevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings Division$225 $75 to file plus a $150 initial list, filed togetherperpetual, but an annual list and the state business licence are both due every year2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youNevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings Division$75 for authorised shares valued at $75,000 or less, rising in tiers to $375 for $1 million, then $275 for every further $500,000 authorised, capped at $35,000perpetual, but an annual list and the state business licence are both due every year2026-09-04
Annual Listonly if it applies to youNevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings Division$150 a year for an LLC; a corporation pays the same tiered schedule as its formation fee, from $150 up to a $11,125 ceilingannual, filed alongside the state business licence renewal2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in Las Vegas?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 10 records listed for a fitness studio in Las Vegas, NV, 6 apply to every business of this type and 4 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 6 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $215.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 10 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones that vary:

General Business Licence — Health and Fitness Club: $200 licence fee plus a $50 processing fee ($250 total) due at application — a different, higher figure than the $150 standard structure most categories use.

Building Permit (Commercial): Priced by ICC occupancy classification and project square footage on Table 3-A of the Building & Safety fee schedule, combining a separate Plan Check Fee and an Inspection/Permit Fee for each size band. Representative 'Complete' (new-construction) examples: a small Restaurant (under 50 occupants, up to 1,500 sq ft) is $964 plan check + $2,074 inspection/permit; a 500 sq ft Office is $325 + $1,249; a 1,000 sq ft General Retail (Mercantile) space is $442 + $1,167; a 250 sq ft Day Care Facility is $168 + $453; a 5,000 sq ft Repair Garage/Service Station is $1,175 + $2,920. Tenant-improvement work on existing space is priced on separate, generally lower TI bands for the same occupancy. A companion table (3-B/3-C) scales the same figures further by the building's fire-resistance construction type. A $55 Permit Issuance fee and, for most occupancies, a $220 (or $132 for some smaller TI categories) Fire Plan Review fee (Table 3-G) apply on top of the base building-permit fee.

Sign Permit: $102 plan check plus $139 inspection/permit fee ($241 total) for the first sign at an address (pole/monument, wall/roof, or free-standing outdoor advertising); $66 plan check plus $72 inspection ($138 total) for each additional sign at the same address; a political sign is $22 plan check only.

Articles of Incorporation: $75 for authorised shares valued at $75,000 or less, rising in tiers to $375 for $1 million, then $275 for every further $500,000 authorised, capped at $35,000

Annual List: $150 a year for an LLC; a corporation pays the same tiered schedule as its formation fee, from $150 up to a $11,125 ceiling

Which offices issue these permits in Las Vegas?

Permits for a fitness studio in Las Vegas, NV come from 5 separate offices: City of Las Vegas Department of Community Development, Business Licensing Division, City of Las Vegas Department of Building and Safety, City of Las Vegas Department of Planning, Nevada Department of Taxation, Nevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

  • City of Las Vegas Department of Community Development, Business Licensing DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: General Business Licence — Health and Fitness Club495 S. Main St., Las Vegas, NV 89101 · (702) 229-6281www.lasvegasnevada.gov/Business/Business-License
  • City of Las Vegas Department of Building and SafetyIssues 3 permits on this page: Building Permit (Commercial), Sign Permit, Certificate of Occupancy495 S. Main St., Las Vegas, NV 89101 · (702) 229-6251www.lasvegasnevada.gov/Business/Permits-Licenses/Building-Permits
  • City of Las Vegas Department of PlanningIssues 1 permit on this page: Zoning Verification Letter495 S. Main St., Las Vegas, NV 89101 · (702) 229-6301www.lasvegasnevada.gov/Business/Planning-Zoning
  • Nevada Department of TaxationIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales and Use Tax Permit3850 Arrowhead Drive, Carson City, NV 89706 · (775) 684-2000tax.nv.gov
  • Nevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: State Business Licence, Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, Annual List401 North Carson Street, Carson City, NV 89701 · (775) 684-5708www.nvsos.gov

Is anything about these requirements changing?

STALE SOURCE: this figure comes from the only Internet Archive capture of this category page this project could find, dated 7 March 2012 — the Wayback Machine never crawled it again, and the live host blocks automated retrieval outright, so this fee could not be independently reconfirmed against a more recent snapshot. Applies to any business open to the public providing equipment or facilities for physical fitness or weight control; also requires a Southern Nevada Health District permit if the facility has a pool or spa. Confirm the current figure directly with Business Licensing (702-229-6281) before relying on it.

Only a Nevada-licensed contractor may obtain a commercial building permit; electronic plan submission through the Citizen Portal/ProjectDox has been required since January 1, 2020. A childcare facility providing overnight (24-hour) care for more than 5 children under 2.5 years is classified I-2 rather than the ordinary I-4 Day Care Facility category, and is priced on a separate, higher table. This fee schedule, though dated 2021, remains the current document the City's own site links to as of this research.

This is the Building & Safety Department's structural/electrical sign permit. Separately, the Department of Planning's own 2008 fee schedule prices an on-premise Sign Certificate (a zoning-compliance layer) at $0.50 per square foot — or no fee for an on-premise sign installed without seeking that certificate — a different, additional requirement from this structural permit.

An advisory letter confirming a property's zoning and permitted use, most often requested by lenders, buyers or new tenants rather than required to open every business — several LCAT category instructions do separately reference 'Conditional Use Verification from Planning' as a mandatory step for a specific setup (e.g., an Open Air Vendor site). This fee schedule, though dated 2008, is still the current document the City's own Business Licensing forms page links to as of this research.

No fee is separately published for the standard, first-issuance Certificate of Occupancy: the Building & Safety fee schedule names only a Certificate of Occupancy — Duplicate ($174) and a Temporary Certificate of Occupancy ($22 admin plus $357 inspection). The original certificate's cost is most likely folded into the building permit's own Inspection/Permit Fee already paid, but that is not stated explicitly, so this fee is recorded as unpublished rather than assumed. Confirm treatment for a specific project directly with Building & Safety (702-229-6251).

A genuinely unusual combination: Nevada charges a fee where many states charge nothing, fifteen dollars for each place of business, but then never asks for it again — the permit stays valid until the tax department suspends or revokes it, with no renewal cycle at all. Each location's permit must be displayed conspicuously at the address it names.

Unlike most of the states covered here, Nevada genuinely does issue a statewide general business licence, and a corporation pays more for it than anything else — $500 a year against $200 for an LLC, a partnership or a sole proprietorship. It is filed alongside formation and renews every year on the anniversary month rather than a fixed calendar date. A handful of exemptions exist: government bodies, most Nevada nonprofits, licensed insurance companies, film companies registered with the state's motion picture division, and a home-based sole proprietor whose net earnings fall below a threshold tied to two-thirds of the state's average annual wage — that threshold moves with wage data each year rather than being published as a flat dollar figure, so confirm the current number rather than assuming a fixed exemption line.

Filing the articles themselves is $75, but Nevada requires an initial list of managers or members to be filed at the same time, at a further $150, and the state business licence application on top of both — so opening an LLC costs $75 plus $150 plus at least $200 for the licence, $425 in total before any expedited service. A corporation follows the same three-part structure at different prices; see the corporate registration record.

Priced by the value of the shares the corporation authorises rather than a flat figure, starting at $75 for the smallest tier and climbing through $175, $275 and $375 as authorised capital passes $75,000, $200,000 and $500,000, then $275 for every further $500,000 above a million, up to a $35,000 ceiling. An initial list of officers and directors is a further $150, filed at the same time, and the state business licence sits on top of both — a small corporation opens for at least $725 once every piece is added together.

An LLC's annual list is a flat $150 regardless of size. A corporation instead pays on the same tiered scale used at formation, keyed to its authorised share value, and that scale can run all the way to an $11,125 ceiling for the largest corporations — a genuine cost of scale that a small LLC never faces. Missing the filing adds a flat $75 default penalty under either statute, and an entity left in default or revoked status for five consecutive years cannot be reinstated at all.

Sources

Every figure above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Business License Instructions — Health and Fitness Club (Category H08): fees due at application (Internet Archive capture, 7 March 2012 — the only surviving capture; the live host returns an automated-access challenge)City of Las Vegas, Business Licensing Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  2. 2020 Building User Fees (Tables 3-A through 3-H), effective July 1, 2021 — building permit, plan check, sign, and other construction fee schedulesCity of Las Vegas, Department of Building and Safety · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  3. Department of Planning Fee Schedule, Resolution R-21-2008 (adopted April 16, 2008; fees effective July 1, 2008)City of Las Vegas, Department of Planning · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  4. Nevada Department of Taxation — sales and use tax general information, the $15 per-location feeNevada Department of Taxation · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  5. Nevada Secretary of State — state business licence FAQ, fees and renewalNevada Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  6. Nevada Revised Statutes section 86.561 — LLC articles of organization feeState of Nevada · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  7. Nevada Revised Statutes section 78.150 — corporation articles of incorporation and initial list feesState of Nevada · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  8. Nevada Revised Statutes section 86.263 — LLC initial and annual list feesState of Nevada · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  9. Nevada Revised Statutes section 86.272 — the $75 default penalty for a late LLC listState of Nevada · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.