Commercial Compliance Hub

13 permits · verified 2026-09-11

What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Lincoln?

In short

A salon or barber in Lincoln, NE has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Planning Division charges $82 per letter for the zoning confirmation letter. 4 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a salon or barber in Lincoln

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Building & Safety DivisionNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Salon/Barbershop-Specific Municipal License (not found)only if it applies to youCity of Lincoln Finance Department, City TreasurerNo feenot applicable2026-09-11
Cosmetology Salon LicenseNebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Licensure Unit$150 to open; renewal is $150 every two yearsbiennial — expires 30 September of even-numbered years2026-09-04
Barber Shop RegistrationNebraska Board of Barber ExaminersFee genuinely unpublished — the Board's own FAQ confirms a 'New Shop Application' requires 'the application fee' and its Applications page lists New Barber Shop, Change of Location, Transfer of Ownership and Mobile Barber Shop as separate application types, but neither page nor any form linked from them states a dollar amount for any of the fourbiennial, on the board's own cycle2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Lincoln

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of OccupancyCity of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Building & Safety DivisionVaries — formula on the Lincoln pageone-time, per project — the permit becomes invalid if work is not commenced within 180 days of issuance2026-09-11
General Business License — City of Lincoln Positiononly if it applies to youCity of Lincoln Finance Department, City TreasurerNo feenot applicable2026-09-11
Zoning Confirmation Letteronly if it applies to youCity of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Planning Division$82 per letterone-time, per request2026-09-11

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

NE registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sales and Use Tax PermitNebraska Department of RevenueNo feeno renewal required2026-09-04
Notice of Formation PublicationNebraska Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionVaries — formula on the NE pagea one-time notice, published for three successive weeks2026-09-04
Biennial Reportonly if it applies to youNebraska Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionVaries — formula on the NE pagean LLC reports in odd-numbered years by 1 April, delinquent 16 June; a corporation reports in even-numbered years by 1 March, delinquent 15 April2026-09-04
Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youNebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division$100 filed online; $110 in person or by mailperpetual, but a biennial report is due in odd-numbered years2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youNebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division$100 filed online; $110 in person or by mailperpetual, but a biennial occupation tax report is due in even-numbered years2026-09-04
General Business License — State of Nebraska positiononly if it applies to youNebraska Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Lincoln?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a salon or barber in Lincoln, NE, 5 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 5 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $150.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Barber Shop Registration: Fee genuinely unpublished — the Board's own FAQ confirms a 'New Shop Application' requires 'the application fee' and its Applications page lists New Barber Shop, Change of Location, Transfer of Ownership and Mobile Barber Shop as separate application types, but neither page nor any form linked from them states a dollar amount for any of the four

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Lincoln permits page and the NE state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Lincoln?

Permits for a salon or barber in Lincoln, NE come from 7 separate offices: City of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Building & Safety Division, City of Lincoln Finance Department, City Treasurer, City of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Planning Division, Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Licensure Unit, Nebraska Department of Revenue, Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Nebraska Board of Barber Examiners. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a salon or barber need in Lincoln that other businesses do not?

3 of the 4 permits particular to a salon or barber here apply to no other business type we cover in Lincoln: Salon/Barbershop-Specific Municipal License (not found), Cosmetology Salon License and Barber Shop Registration.

Salon/Barbershop-Specific Municipal License (not found)

No fee applies — the City Treasurer's own seven-tax occupation schedule and the Bureau of Fire Prevention's own operational-permit table list no additional salon- or barbershop-specific municipal product beyond the general permitting, zoning and fire requirements recorded elsewhere in this file. Nebraska's own DHHS cosmetology salon license and Board of Barber Examiners shop registration, both recorded at the state layer, remain the real trade-specific credentials for this industry.

Cosmetology Salon License

A hundred and fifty dollars to open a salon and the same figure to renew every two years, on a cycle shared statewide regardless of when a particular salon first opened. The application asks for proof of liability insurance and a sketch of the premises alongside the fee. Operating without an active license carries a real daily cost — an administrative penalty of $10 for each day, up to $1,000.

Barber Shop Registration

Barbering is regulated separately from cosmetology, by its own board, and a barbershop is required to register in its own right. What is confirmed is the individual barber's license: roughly $220 across an examination and a two-year license, then about $120 to renew, expiring 30 June of even-numbered years. The Board's own FAQ page states that opening a shop requires 'a completed "New Shop Application"...and the application fee,' and its Applications page separately lists New Barber Shop, Change of Location, Transfer of Ownership and Mobile Barber Shop as distinct shop-level filings — confirming the requirement and its documentation directly, while neither page nor any form linked from them prints a dollar figure for it. Confirm the current amount directly with the board before budgeting for it.

Shared with other businesses in Lincoln

  • Sign Permit — City of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Building & Safety Division, No fee, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.

The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Lincoln, NE; what each one involves is set out on the Lincoln permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across NE and are covered on the NE state page.

How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Lincoln?

The closest match is a retail store, which shares 1 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Salon/Barbershop-Specific Municipal License (not found), Cosmetology Salon License and Barber Shop Registration. A retail store needs nothing here that a salon or barber does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Lincoln, NE, compared with a salon or barber
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a salon or barberOnly a salon or barber needsOnly it needs
Retail stores1130
Fitness studios2131
Veterinary clinics2131
Auto repair shops3132
Coffee shops6135
Restaurants6135
Childcare centres3043
Contractors and trades4044
Food trucks5045

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Lincoln permits page and the NE state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Occupation Taxes — the complete list of seven occupation taxes the City Treasurer administers (car rental 4%, Gateway-Shops EEA 0.5%, hotel/motel 4%, restaurant/bar 2%, short-term rental 4%, SouthPointe Pavilions EEA 1%, telecommunications 4%), with no general business license mentionedCity of Lincoln Finance Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  2. Nebraska DHHS — cosmetology and esthetics salon license applicationNebraska Department of Health and Human Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  3. FAQs — the Board's own current page confirming a 'New Shop Application' and 'the application fee' are required to open a barbershop, without stating a dollar amountNebraska Board of Barber Examiners · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
  4. Applications — the Board's own current page listing New Barber Shop, Barber Shop Change of Location, Barber Shop Transfer of Ownership and Mobile Barber Shop as distinct shop-level application types, none priced on the page itselfNebraska Board of Barber Examiners · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.