Commercial Compliance Hub

12 permits · verified 2026-09-11

What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Lincoln?

In short

A auto repair shop in Lincoln, NE has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Planning Division charges $82 per letter for the zoning confirmation letter. 3 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Lincoln

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Building & Safety DivisionNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Repair Garage Fire Permit (not found in Lincoln's fee schedule)only if it applies to youCity of Lincoln Bureau of Fire PreventionNo feenot applicable2026-09-11
Automotive Repair Shop — Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board Categories (Nebraska)only if it applies to youNebraska Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing BoardNo feenot applicable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Lincoln

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of OccupancyCity of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Building & Safety DivisionVaries — formula on the Lincoln pageone-time, per project — the permit becomes invalid if work is not commenced within 180 days of issuance2026-09-11
General Business License — City of Lincoln Positiononly if it applies to youCity of Lincoln Finance Department, City TreasurerNo feenot applicable2026-09-11
Zoning Confirmation Letteronly if it applies to youCity of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Planning Division$82 per letterone-time, per request2026-09-11

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

NE registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sales and Use Tax PermitNebraska Department of RevenueNo feeno renewal required2026-09-04
Notice of Formation PublicationNebraska Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionVaries — formula on the NE pagea one-time notice, published for three successive weeks2026-09-04
Biennial Reportonly if it applies to youNebraska Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionVaries — formula on the NE pagean LLC reports in odd-numbered years by 1 April, delinquent 16 June; a corporation reports in even-numbered years by 1 March, delinquent 15 April2026-09-04
Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youNebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division$100 filed online; $110 in person or by mailperpetual, but a biennial report is due in odd-numbered years2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youNebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division$100 filed online; $110 in person or by mailperpetual, but a biennial occupation tax report is due in even-numbered years2026-09-04
General Business License — State of Nebraska positiononly if it applies to youNebraska Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Lincoln?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a auto repair shop in Lincoln, NE, 3 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

3 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 6 have no fee published at all.

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Lincoln permits page and the NE state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Lincoln?

Permits for a auto repair shop in Lincoln, NE come from 7 separate offices: City of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Building & Safety Division, City of Lincoln Finance Department, City Treasurer, City of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Planning Division, City of Lincoln Bureau of Fire Prevention, Nebraska Department of Revenue, Nebraska Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board, Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a auto repair shop need in Lincoln that other businesses do not?

2 of the 3 permits particular to a auto repair shop here apply to no other business type we cover in Lincoln: Repair Garage Fire Permit (not found in Lincoln's fee schedule) and Automotive Repair Shop — Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board Categories (Nebraska).

Repair Garage Fire Permit (not found in Lincoln's fee schedule)

No fee applies — unlike Omaha's fire code, which prices a named 'Repair garages and motor fuel-dispensing facilities' operational permit at $108.00, Lincoln's own §19.03.113 fee table and Bureau of Fire Prevention operational-permits list contain no repair-garage or auto-service category. Nebraska's own Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board, recorded at the state layer, likewise licenses only dealers, wreckers and salvage operations with no repair-shop category, so an auto repair shop's local obligations in Lincoln are the same generic building, zoning and sign requirements recorded elsewhere in this file rather than any trade-specific municipal product.

Automotive Repair Shop — Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board Categories (Nebraska)

No fee, because the motor vehicle industry board's own complete list of license categories runs to dealer, auction dealer, wrecker or salvage dealer, finance company, manufacturer and distributor representative — with no repair-shop entry among them. A licensed dealer is separately required to maintain adequate repair facilities or contract for warranty service, but that obligation attaches to holding a dealer license. The Board's published license categories name no license for running a standalone repair shop.

Shared with other businesses in Lincoln

  • Sign Permit — City of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Building & Safety Division, No fee, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.

The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Lincoln, NE; what each one involves is set out on the Lincoln permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across NE and are covered on the NE state page.

How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Lincoln?

The closest match is a retail store, which shares 1 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs Repair Garage Fire Permit (not found in Lincoln's fee schedule) and Automotive Repair Shop — Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board Categories (Nebraska). A retail store needs nothing here that a auto repair shop does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Lincoln, NE, compared with a auto repair shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a auto repair shopOnly a auto repair shop needsOnly it needs
Retail stores1120
Fitness studios2121
Veterinary clinics2121
Salons and barbers4123
Coffee shops6125
Restaurants6125
Childcare centres3033
Contractors and trades4034
Food trucks5035

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Lincoln permits page and the NE state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Lincoln Municipal Code §19.03.113 (Section 107.2 Amended; Schedule of Permit Fees) — the fire-code operational permit fee table, including Places of Assembly ($100.00/$125.00/$150.00 banded by occupant load), Hazardous Materials, LP-Gas, Flammable/Combustible Liquids, Temporary Membrane Structures and Hotels/MotelsCity of Lincoln (Lincoln Municipal Code, via online.encodeplus.com) · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  2. Nebraska Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board — the complete list of license types it issues, with no repair-shop categoryNebraska Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.