15 permits · verified 2026-09-11
What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Lincoln?
In short
A restaurant in Lincoln, NE has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Planning Division charges $82 per letter for the zoning confirmation letter. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a restaurant in Lincoln
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurant and Drinking Places Occupation Tax | City of Lincoln Finance Department, City Treasurer | 2% of total monthly gross receipts from the sale of food, to the extent those receipts are subject to city and state sales tax under LMC §3.16.010. A 10% penalty plus 1% interest per month (or part of a month) applies to a late-filed return, compounded quarterly. | ongoing — filed and remitted by the 25th of the following month (quarterly by written City Finance Director permission, due the 25th of April/July/October/January) | 2026-09-11 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Building & Safety Division | No fee | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-11 |
| Food Establishment Permit | Lincoln-Lancaster County Health Department, Environmental Public Health | $660.00 for a new Food Establishment Permit; $450.00 to renew; each additional food-preparation facility added to the same permit (including a second kitchen) costs $210.00 (amounts effective September 2026 per LLCHD's Rates, Fees and Other Charges page). | annual — specific expiration date not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-11 |
| Fire Code Operational Permit — Place of Assemblyonly if it applies to you | City of Lincoln Bureau of Fire Prevention | $100–$150 annual, banded by occupant load — 50 to 299 persons $100.00; 300 to 999 persons $125.00; 1,000 or more persons $150.00 | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-11 |
| Certified Food Protection Manageronly if it applies to you | Nebraska Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Consumer Protection | No fee | set by the accrediting programme | 2026-09-04 |
| Retail Food Establishment Permit | Nebraska Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Consumer Protection | $122 a year for a limited retail food establishment; further preparation areas add $61 each | annual — renewal payments are due by 1 August | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Lincoln
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of Occupancy | City of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Building & Safety Division | Varies — formula on the Lincoln page | one-time, per project — the permit becomes invalid if work is not commenced within 180 days of issuance | 2026-09-11 |
| General Business License — City of Lincoln Positiononly if it applies to you | City of Lincoln Finance Department, City Treasurer | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-11 |
| Zoning Confirmation Letteronly if it applies to you | City of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Planning Division | $82 per letter | one-time, per request | 2026-09-11 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
NE registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sales and Use Tax Permit | Nebraska Department of Revenue | No fee | no renewal required | 2026-09-04 |
| Notice of Formation Publication | Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division | Varies — formula on the NE page | a one-time notice, published for three successive weeks | 2026-09-04 |
| Biennial Reportonly if it applies to you | Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division | Varies — formula on the NE page | an LLC reports in odd-numbered years by 1 April, delinquent 16 June; a corporation reports in even-numbered years by 1 March, delinquent 15 April | 2026-09-04 |
| Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $100 filed online; $110 in person or by mail | perpetual, but a biennial report is due in odd-numbered years | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $100 filed online; $110 in person or by mail | perpetual, but a biennial occupation tax report is due in even-numbered years | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — State of Nebraska positiononly if it applies to you | Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Lincoln?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a restaurant in Lincoln, NE, 6 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $122.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Restaurant and Drinking Places Occupation Tax: 2% of total monthly gross receipts from the sale of food, to the extent those receipts are subject to city and state sales tax under LMC §3.16.010. A 10% penalty plus 1% interest per month (or part of a month) applies to a late-filed return, compounded quarterly.
Food Establishment Permit: $660.00 for a new Food Establishment Permit; $450.00 to renew; each additional food-preparation facility added to the same permit (including a second kitchen) costs $210.00 (amounts effective September 2026 per LLCHD's Rates, Fees and Other Charges page).
Fire Code Operational Permit — Place of Assembly: $100–$150 annual, banded by occupant load — 50 to 299 persons $100.00; 300 to 999 persons $125.00; 1,000 or more persons $150.00
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Lincoln permits page and the NE state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Lincoln?
Permits for a restaurant in Lincoln, NE come from 8 separate offices: City of Lincoln Finance Department, City Treasurer, City of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Building & Safety Division, Lincoln-Lancaster County Health Department, Environmental Public Health, City of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Planning Division, City of Lincoln Bureau of Fire Prevention, Nebraska Department of Revenue, Nebraska Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Consumer Protection, Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Lincoln Finance Department, City TreasurerIssues 2 permits on this page: Restaurant and Drinking Places Occupation Tax, General Business License — City of Lincoln Position555 South 10th Street, Lincoln, NE 68508 · (402) 441-7457www.lincoln.ne.gov/City/Departments/Finance/City-Treasurer/Occupation-Taxes
- City of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Building & Safety DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of Occupancy, Sign Permit555 South 10th Street, Suite 203, Lincoln, NE 68508 · (402) 441-7521www.lincoln.ne.gov/City/Departments/PDS/Building-Safety
- Lincoln-Lancaster County Health Department, Environmental Public HealthIssues 1 permit on this page: Food Establishment Permit3131 O Street, Lincoln, NE 68510 · (402) 441-6280www.lincoln.ne.gov/City/Departments/Health-Department
- City of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Planning DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Zoning Confirmation Letter555 South 10th Street, Lincoln, NE 68508 · (402) 441-7491www.lincoln.ne.gov/City/Departments/PDS/Planning
- City of Lincoln Bureau of Fire PreventionIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Code Operational Permit — Place of Assembly555 South 10th Street, Lincoln, NE 68508www.lincoln.ne.gov/City/Departments/PDS/Building-Safety/Bureau-of-Fire-Prevention
- Nebraska Department of RevenueIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales and Use Tax PermitPO Box 94818, Lincoln, NE 68509 · (402) 471-5729revenue.nebraska.gov/businesses/starting-business-nebraska
- Nebraska Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Consumer ProtectionIssues 2 permits on this page: Certified Food Protection Manager, Retail Food Establishment PermitPO Box 94947, Lincoln, NE 68509 · (402) 471-3422nda.nebraska.gov/fscp/foods/inspection_areas
- Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionIssues 5 permits on this page, including Notice of Formation Publication, Biennial Report, Certificate of Organization (LLC)1201 N Street, Suite 120, Lincoln, NE 68508 · (402) 471-4079sos.nebraska.gov/business-services
What does a restaurant need in Lincoln that other businesses do not?
Food Establishment Permit
The Lincoln-Lancaster County Health Department, not the Nebraska Department of Agriculture, is the food-permitting authority in Lincoln — LLCHD's own brochure states plainly that most food establishments in the City of Lincoln need an LLCHD permit on top of the state license LLCHD itself administers, and its own fee page prices the permit entirely independently of NDA's statewide $122 figure covered at the Nebraska state level. A Food Protection Manager permit ($30.00, per LLCHD's own fee page) is required for at least one person in charge before opening, on top of this establishment permit. All food establishment permits are non-transferable between owners or locations.
Fire Code Operational Permit — Place of Assembly
Lincoln's Bureau of Fire Prevention — organizationally part of Building & Safety, not a standalone fire department division the way Omaha's is — prices its operational permits by named activity or hazard category rather than charging every commercial business a blanket annual inspection fee. A restaurant, bar or larger fitness studio with a gathering space qualifying as a 'place of assembly' under the fire code triggers this permit at a rate below Omaha's comparable $108-$162 range; a small retail store, salon or office that does not fall into an assembly, hazardous-materials or similarly named category triggers no fee under this schedule at all. A plan-review fee of $1.40 per $1,000 of proposed improvement value (minimum $40.00) applies separately for new construction requiring fire prevention approval.
Retail Food Establishment Permit
The agriculture department's own fee schedule bands by establishment type and can change from year to year, but its published limited-retail figure sits at $122 for the initial permit and the same $122 annually after that, with each additional food preparation area adding $61. An establishment already operating before applying pays a further $60. This is not a statewide-only programme: applications for Lancaster, Douglas or Hall counties are forwarded to those counties' own delegated health departments — Lincoln-Lancaster County Health Department and Douglas County Health Department in Omaha each run their own inspection and permitting programme rather than the state administering it directly.
Shared with other businesses in Lincoln
- Restaurant and Drinking Places Occupation Tax — City of Lincoln Finance Department, City Treasurer, 2% of total monthly gross receipts from the sale of food, to the extent those receipts are subject to city and state sales tax under LMC §3.16.010. A 10% penalty plus 1% interest per month (or part of a month) applies to a late-filed return, compounded quarterly., ongoing — filed and remitted by the 25th of the following month (quarterly by written City Finance Director permission, due the 25th of April/July/October/January). Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Sign Permit — City of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Building & Safety Division, No fee, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Certified Food Protection Manager — Nebraska Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Consumer Protection, No fee, set by the accrediting programme. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Lincoln, NE; what each one involves is set out on the Lincoln permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across NE and are covered on the NE state page.
How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Lincoln?
A restaurant and a coffee shop in Lincoln, NE need exactly the same 6 permits beyond the ones every business needs.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a restaurant | Only a restaurant needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 6 | 6 | 0 | 0 |
| Food trucks | 5 | 3 | 3 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 2 | 4 | 0 |
| Retail stores | 1 | 1 | 5 | 0 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 1 | 5 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 5 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 4 | 1 | 5 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 0 | 6 | 3 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 6 | 4 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Lincoln permits page and the NE state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Rates, Fees and Other Charges — the Health Department's own food-program fee table, re-read September 2026: New Food Establishment Permit $660.00, Renewal $450.00, each additional food-preparation facility (including a Mobile Food Unit or Food Catering Service) $210.00, effective September 2026 per the page's own per-line date column (Food Handler Permit $20.00, Food Protection Manager $30.00 unchanged)Lincoln-Lancaster County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- Food Establishment Requirements — states that all food establishments in Lancaster County need a Nebraska Department of Agriculture license through LLCHD, and that most food establishments in the City of Lincoln also need LLCHD permits, plus the licensing checklist (zoning, LLCHD plan review, building permit, occupancy permit, LLCHD inspection)Lincoln-Lancaster County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- Lincoln Municipal Code §19.03.113 (Section 107.2 Amended; Schedule of Permit Fees) — the fire-code operational permit fee table, including Places of Assembly ($100.00/$125.00/$150.00 banded by occupant load), Hazardous Materials, LP-Gas, Flammable/Combustible Liquids, Temporary Membrane Structures and Hotels/MotelsCity of Lincoln (Lincoln Municipal Code, via online.encodeplus.com) · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- Nebraska Department of Agriculture — retail food inspection areas, and the counties with their own delegated programmeNebraska Department of Agriculture · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Nebraska Department of Agriculture — retail food permit renewal, due by 1 AugustNebraska Department of Agriculture · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
