Commercial Compliance Hub

15 permits · verified 2026-09-11

What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Lincoln?

In short

A coffee shop in Lincoln, NE has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Planning Division charges $82 per letter for the zoning confirmation letter. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a coffee shop in Lincoln

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Restaurant and Drinking Places Occupation TaxCity of Lincoln Finance Department, City Treasurer2% of total monthly gross receipts from the sale of food, to the extent those receipts are subject to city and state sales tax under LMC §3.16.010. A 10% penalty plus 1% interest per month (or part of a month) applies to a late-filed return, compounded quarterly.ongoing — filed and remitted by the 25th of the following month (quarterly by written City Finance Director permission, due the 25th of April/July/October/January)2026-09-11
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Building & Safety DivisionNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Food Establishment PermitLincoln-Lancaster County Health Department, Environmental Public Health$660.00 for a new Food Establishment Permit; $450.00 to renew; each additional food-preparation facility added to the same permit (including a second kitchen) costs $210.00 (amounts effective September 2026 per LLCHD's Rates, Fees and Other Charges page).annual — specific expiration date not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Fire Code Operational Permit — Place of Assemblyonly if it applies to youCity of Lincoln Bureau of Fire Prevention$100–$150 annual, banded by occupant load — 50 to 299 persons $100.00; 300 to 999 persons $125.00; 1,000 or more persons $150.00not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Certified Food Protection Manageronly if it applies to youNebraska Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Consumer ProtectionNo feeset by the accrediting programme2026-09-04
Retail Food Establishment PermitNebraska Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Consumer Protection$122 a year for a limited retail food establishment; further preparation areas add $61 eachannual — renewal payments are due by 1 August2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Lincoln

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of OccupancyCity of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Building & Safety DivisionVaries — formula on the Lincoln pageone-time, per project — the permit becomes invalid if work is not commenced within 180 days of issuance2026-09-11
General Business License — City of Lincoln Positiononly if it applies to youCity of Lincoln Finance Department, City TreasurerNo feenot applicable2026-09-11
Zoning Confirmation Letteronly if it applies to youCity of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Planning Division$82 per letterone-time, per request2026-09-11

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

NE registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sales and Use Tax PermitNebraska Department of RevenueNo feeno renewal required2026-09-04
Notice of Formation PublicationNebraska Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionVaries — formula on the NE pagea one-time notice, published for three successive weeks2026-09-04
Biennial Reportonly if it applies to youNebraska Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionVaries — formula on the NE pagean LLC reports in odd-numbered years by 1 April, delinquent 16 June; a corporation reports in even-numbered years by 1 March, delinquent 15 April2026-09-04
Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youNebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division$100 filed online; $110 in person or by mailperpetual, but a biennial report is due in odd-numbered years2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youNebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division$100 filed online; $110 in person or by mailperpetual, but a biennial occupation tax report is due in even-numbered years2026-09-04
General Business License — State of Nebraska positiononly if it applies to youNebraska Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Lincoln?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a coffee shop in Lincoln, NE, 6 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 6 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $122.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Restaurant and Drinking Places Occupation Tax: 2% of total monthly gross receipts from the sale of food, to the extent those receipts are subject to city and state sales tax under LMC §3.16.010. A 10% penalty plus 1% interest per month (or part of a month) applies to a late-filed return, compounded quarterly.

Food Establishment Permit: $660.00 for a new Food Establishment Permit; $450.00 to renew; each additional food-preparation facility added to the same permit (including a second kitchen) costs $210.00 (amounts effective September 2026 per LLCHD's Rates, Fees and Other Charges page).

Fire Code Operational Permit — Place of Assembly: $100–$150 annual, banded by occupant load — 50 to 299 persons $100.00; 300 to 999 persons $125.00; 1,000 or more persons $150.00

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Lincoln permits page and the NE state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Lincoln?

Permits for a coffee shop in Lincoln, NE come from 8 separate offices: City of Lincoln Finance Department, City Treasurer, City of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Building & Safety Division, Lincoln-Lancaster County Health Department, Environmental Public Health, City of Lincoln Planning & Development Services, Planning Division, City of Lincoln Bureau of Fire Prevention, Nebraska Department of Revenue, Nebraska Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Consumer Protection, Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a coffee shop need in Lincoln that other businesses do not?

Restaurant and Drinking Places Occupation Tax

This tax, not a license fee, is Lincoln's local charge on prepared-food sales. The City's Restaurant Occupation Tax FAQ states that the tax reaches catering (whether the food is served by the seller or merely provided to the purchaser for consumption, so long as the catered event occurs within the City of Lincoln) and golf-course concession sales of prepared food, and that it is imposed upon "each and every person operating a drinking place or restaurant business or providing the services within the City"; that wording reaches coffee shops and food trucks selling prepared food as well as restaurants proper, although the FAQ, unlike Omaha's equivalent Q&A, does not use the words "coffee shop" or "food truck". Wholesale-only sales, off-sale liquor, cover charges, gift-certificate sales themselves, and food provided free to employees are excluded from the taxable base; a mandatory gratuity is included.

Sign Permit

The City's Permanent, Mobile, or Inflatable Signs page publishes its 'Fees and Inspection' table for the per-sign permit only as an image, and the per-sign fee is not published in text on that page; contact Building & Safety at 402-441-7521 for the current amount. The same page states a $50.00 annual Sign Contractor Registration fee, but that fee is paid by the licensed sign company a business hires (bonded and insured), not by the business itself, so it is disclosed here as context rather than as the permit fee. A business owner who owns a mobile or inflatable sign placed on their own property may apply for their own permit; mobile signs are capped at 60 days per calendar year and inflatable signs at 10 days (each inflatable day counting as 6 days against the mobile allowance), permitted only in B, H and I zoning districts.

Shared with other businesses in Lincoln

  • Food Establishment Permit — Lincoln-Lancaster County Health Department, Environmental Public Health, $660.00 for a new Food Establishment Permit; $450.00 to renew; each additional food-preparation facility added to the same permit (including a second kitchen) costs $210.00 (amounts effective September 2026 per LLCHD's Rates, Fees and Other Charges page)., annual — specific expiration date not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Fire Code Operational Permit — Place of Assembly — City of Lincoln Bureau of Fire Prevention, $100–$150 annual, banded by occupant load — 50 to 299 persons $100.00; 300 to 999 persons $125.00; 1,000 or more persons $150.00, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Certified Food Protection Manager — Nebraska Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Consumer Protection, No fee, set by the accrediting programme. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
  • Retail Food Establishment Permit — Nebraska Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Consumer Protection, $122 a year for a limited retail food establishment; further preparation areas add $61 each, annual — renewal payments are due by 1 August. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Lincoln, NE; what each one involves is set out on the Lincoln permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across NE and are covered on the NE state page.

How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Lincoln?

A coffee shop and a restaurant in Lincoln, NE need exactly the same 6 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Lincoln, NE, compared with a coffee shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a coffee shopOnly a coffee shop needsOnly it needs
Restaurants6600
Food trucks5332
Fitness studios2240
Retail stores1150
Veterinary clinics2151
Auto repair shops3152
Salons and barbers4153
Childcare centres3063
Contractors and trades4064

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Lincoln permits page and the NE state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. City of Lincoln Restaurant Occupation Tax FAQs (rev. 9/30/2019) — states the 2% tax rate effective January 1, 2011, monthly/quarterly filing deadlines, 1%/month interest plus a discretionary 10% penalty, and confirms catering, golf-course concessions and other prepared-food sales are taxableCity of Lincoln Finance Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  2. Occupation Taxes — the complete list of seven occupation taxes the City Treasurer administers (car rental 4%, Gateway-Shops EEA 0.5%, hotel/motel 4%, restaurant/bar 2%, short-term rental 4%, SouthPointe Pavilions EEA 1%, telecommunications 4%), with no general business license mentionedCity of Lincoln Finance Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  3. Permanent, Mobile, or Inflatable Signs — confirms a $50.00 annual Sign Contractor Registration fee and references a fees-and-inspection table (published only as an image) for the permit itselfCity of Lincoln Building & Safety Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.