Commercial Compliance Hub

19 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Billings?

In short

A coffee shop in Billings, MT has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 12 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services Department charges $1,719 one-time, per application (FY26 rate, effective July 1, 2025, plus postage) for the zone change. 10 of the 19 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a coffee shop in Billings

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services DepartmentA $2.50-per-square-foot Sign application fee plus a $1.50-per-square-foot Sign permit fee (FY26 rates, effective July 1, 2025).one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Food Establishment Plan Review Fee (Retail Food)RiverStone Health (Yellowstone City-County Health Department), Environmental Health Services$250.00 (small) or $350.00 (large) for a new fixed restaurant/retail food establishment plan review, or $150.00 for a minor remodel or change of ownership. A Food Manufacturing establishment plan review is separately priced at $250.00 (small) or $350.00 (large).one-time, prior to construction/remodeling2026-09-12
Special Review (functional Conditional Use Permit)only if it applies to youCity/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services Department$1,299–$1,776 one-time, per application: $1,299.00 (residential) or $1,776.00 (commercial), FY26 rates effective July 1, 2025, plus postageone-time, per application; an approval expires one year after issuance unless substantial work has commenced, or once the use has ceased for more than six months (BMCC Sec. 27-1623.H)2026-09-12
Retail Food Establishment License (administered locally by RiverStone Health)RiverStone Health (Yellowstone City-County Health Department), Environmental Health ServicesNo feeannual — every Montana food license expires December 31 (Montana state license)2026-09-12
Certified Food Protection Manageronly if it applies to youMontana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Environmental Health and Food Safety SectionNo feeset by the accrediting programme2026-09-04
Retail Food Establishment LicenseMontana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Environmental Health and Food Safety Section$150–$275 a year, banded by peak employee countannual — renew before 31 December2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Billings

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Zoning Clarification (Zoning Verification)only if it applies to youCity/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services DepartmentVaries — formula on the Billings pageone-time, per request — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Commercial Building PermitCity of Billings, Building DivisionVaries — formula on the Billings pageone-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Zoning Variance (City Board of Adjustment)only if it applies to youCity of Billings, City Board of AdjustmentVaries — formula on the Billings pageone-time, per application2026-09-12
City of Billings Business LicenseCity of Billings, Department of Finance (Business License Division)Varies — formula on the Billings pageannual — one year from the month the license is obtained2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Billings, Building DivisionNo feeone-time — issued after required inspections confirm code compliance2026-09-12
Zone Changeonly if it applies to youCity/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services Department$1,719 one-time, per application (FY26 rate, effective July 1, 2025, plus postage)one-time, per application2026-09-12
Fire Prevention Business Inspection (City fee not published)Billings Fire Department, Fire Prevention BureauNo feenot applicable2026-09-12
Fire System Permit (Installation, Repair, or Replacement of Fire Protection/Alarm Systems)only if it applies to youBillings Fire Department, Fire Prevention BureauVaries — formula on the Billings pageone-time, per system installation, repair, or replacement2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

MT registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youMontana Secretary of State, Business Services Division$35 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youMontana Secretary of State, Business Services Division$35 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youMontana Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionVaries — formula on the MT pageannual — due between 1 January and 15 April2026-09-04
Sales Tax Registration — Montana Department of Revenue Positiononly if it applies to youMontana Department of Revenue, Business Tax UnitNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
General Business License — Montana Secretary of State Guidanceonly if it applies to youMontana Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Billings?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 19 records listed for a coffee shop in Billings, MT, 7 apply to every business of this type and 12 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

10 of the 19 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 6 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit: A $2.50-per-square-foot Sign application fee plus a $1.50-per-square-foot Sign permit fee (FY26 rates, effective July 1, 2025).

Food Establishment Plan Review Fee (Retail Food): $250.00 (small) or $350.00 (large) for a new fixed restaurant/retail food establishment plan review, or $150.00 for a minor remodel or change of ownership. A Food Manufacturing establishment plan review is separately priced at $250.00 (small) or $350.00 (large).

Special Review (functional Conditional Use Permit): $1,299–$1,776 one-time, per application: $1,299.00 (residential) or $1,776.00 (commercial), FY26 rates effective July 1, 2025, plus postage

Retail Food Establishment License: $150–$275 a year, banded by peak employee count

The other 6 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Billings permits page and the MT state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Billings?

Permits for a coffee shop in Billings, MT come from 9 separate offices: City/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services Department, City of Billings, Building Division, City of Billings, City Board of Adjustment, City of Billings, Department of Finance (Business License Division), RiverStone Health (Yellowstone City-County Health Department), Environmental Health Services, Billings Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau, Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Environmental Health and Food Safety Section, Montana Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Montana Department of Revenue, Business Tax Unit. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a coffee shop need in Billings that other businesses do not?

Food Establishment Plan Review Fee (Retail Food)

Submitted to RiverStone Health at least 30 days prior to construction, per the Department's own current application. This is a genuine, additional local charge on top of the State of Montana's own Retail Food (Purveyor) License fee, collected separately at the pre-opening inspection and recorded below. A coffee shop preparing and serving food or drink to the public falls under this plan review alongside a restaurant.

Certified Food Protection Manager

No state fee — the health department's own training page states plainly that only food manager certification is required by the state, purchased from an ANSI-CFP accredited provider at that provider's own price. There is no separate general food handler card requirement layered on top. A low-risk establishment, and certain temporary establishments conducting specific limited activities, are exempt from needing a certified manager at all under the state's own published exemption criteria.

Shared with other businesses in Billings

  • Sign Permit — City/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services Department, A $2.50-per-square-foot Sign application fee plus a $1.50-per-square-foot Sign permit fee (FY26 rates, effective July 1, 2025)., one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
  • Special Review (functional Conditional Use Permit) — City/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services Department, $1,299–$1,776 one-time, per application: $1,299.00 (residential) or $1,776.00 (commercial), FY26 rates effective July 1, 2025, plus postage, one-time, per application; an approval expires one year after issuance unless substantial work has commenced, or once the use has ceased for more than six months (BMCC Sec. 27-1623.H). Also required for restaurants, retail stores, childcare centres and auto repair shops; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Retail Food Establishment License (administered locally by RiverStone Health) — RiverStone Health (Yellowstone City-County Health Department), Environmental Health Services, No fee, annual — every Montana food license expires December 31 (Montana state license). Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Retail Food Establishment License — Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Environmental Health and Food Safety Section, $150–$275 a year, banded by peak employee count, annual — renew before 31 December. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 8 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Billings, MT; what each one involves is set out on the Billings permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across MT and are covered on the MT state page.

How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Billings?

The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 6 of these permits. A restaurant needs Temporary Food Service Plan Review & Permit and HACCP Plan Review / Variance Request Fee, which a coffee shop does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Billings, MT, compared with a coffee shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a coffee shopOnly a coffee shop needsOnly it needs
Restaurants8602
Food trucks7334
Retail stores3241
Auto repair shops4242
Fitness studios2151
Childcare centres3152
Salons and barbers3152
Veterinary clinics3152
Contractors and trades4064

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the veterinary clinics page, retail stores page and restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Billings permits page and the MT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Plan Review Application, Retail Food, Food Manufacturers and Food Wholesalers (version 11/20/2025) — RiverStone Health's own current fixed-establishment Plan Review Fees ($250.00/$350.00/$150.00; Manufacturing $250.00/$350.00) and the current, correct $150.00-$275.00 state Retail Food Establishment License figureRiverStone Health (Yellowstone City-County Health Department) · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  2. Montana DPHHS — certified food protection manager exemption guidanceMontana Department of Public Health and Human Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.