15 permits · verified 2026-09-12
What permits do you need to open a contractor or trade in Billings?
In short
A contractor or trade in Billings, MT has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 12 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services Department charges $1,719 one-time, per application (FY26 rate, effective July 1, 2025, plus postage) for the zone change. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a contractor or trade in Billings
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General Contractor Local License (not found beyond state registration)only if it applies to you | City of Billings, Building Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-12 |
| Construction Contractor Licenseonly if it applies to you | Montana Department of Labor and Industry, Business Standards Division, Construction Contractor License Program | $70 application fee, and the same amount again at each renewal | 2 years | 2026-09-04 |
| Electrical Licenseonly if it applies to you | Montana State Electrical Board | $210 for an original contractor license; renewal is $210 for a contractor or $140 for a master, journeyman or residential license | 2 years — the cycle ends 15 July of even-numbered years | 2026-09-04 |
| Plumbing Licenseonly if it applies to you | Montana Board of Plumbers | $380 for a master plumber, being a $100 application and a $280 license fee | annual — every license expires 1 September | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Billings
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zoning Clarification (Zoning Verification)only if it applies to you | City/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services Department | Varies — formula on the Billings page | one-time, per request — not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Billings, Building Division | Varies — formula on the Billings page | one-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Zoning Variance (City Board of Adjustment)only if it applies to you | City of Billings, City Board of Adjustment | Varies — formula on the Billings page | one-time, per application | 2026-09-12 |
| City of Billings Business License | City of Billings, Department of Finance (Business License Division) | Varies — formula on the Billings page | annual — one year from the month the license is obtained | 2026-09-12 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Billings, Building Division | No fee | one-time — issued after required inspections confirm code compliance | 2026-09-12 |
| Zone Changeonly if it applies to you | City/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services Department | $1,719 one-time, per application (FY26 rate, effective July 1, 2025, plus postage) | one-time, per application | 2026-09-12 |
| Fire System Permit (Installation, Repair, or Replacement of Fire Protection/Alarm Systems)only if it applies to you | Billings Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau | Varies — formula on the Billings page | one-time, per system installation, repair, or replacement | 2026-09-12 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
MT registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Montana Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $35 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Montana Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $35 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Montana Secretary of State, Business Services Division | Varies — formula on the MT page | annual — due between 1 January and 15 April | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Montana Secretary of State Guidanceonly if it applies to you | Montana Secretary of State, Business Services Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a contractor or trade in Billings?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a contractor or trade in Billings, MT, 3 apply to every business of this type and 12 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
6 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all.
The other 6 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Billings permits page and the MT state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Billings?
Permits for a contractor or trade in Billings, MT come from 9 separate offices: City/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services Department, City of Billings, Building Division, City of Billings, City Board of Adjustment, City of Billings, Department of Finance (Business License Division), Billings Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau, Montana Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Montana Department of Labor and Industry, Business Standards Division, Construction Contractor License Program, Montana State Electrical Board, Montana Board of Plumbers. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services DepartmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Zoning Clarification (Zoning Verification), Zone Change2825 3rd Avenue North, Billings, MT 59101 · (406) 657-8247www.billingsmt.gov/103/Planning-Community-Services
- City of Billings, Building DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: Commercial Building Permit, General Contractor Local License (not found beyond state registration), Certificate of Occupancy316 North 26th Street, Billings, MT 59101 · (406) 657-8270www.billingsmt.gov/67/Building
- City of Billings, City Board of AdjustmentIssues 1 permit on this page: Zoning Variance (City Board of Adjustment)2825 3rd Avenue North, Billings, MT 59101 · (406) 657-8247www.billingsmt.gov/73/City-Board-of-Adjustment
- City of Billings, Department of Finance (Business License Division)Issues 1 permit on this page: City of Billings Business License316 North 26th Street, Billings, MT 59101 (P.O. Box 1178, Billings, MT 59103) · (406) 657-8364www.billingsmt.gov/981/Business-License-Information
- Billings Fire Department, Fire Prevention BureauIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire System Permit (Installation, Repair, or Replacement of Fire Protection/Alarm Systems)2305 8th Avenue North, Billings, MT 59101 · (406) 657-8422www.billingsmt.gov/453/Fire-Prevention-Bureau
- Montana Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: Articles of Incorporation, Articles of Organization (LLC), Annual Report, General Business License — Montana Secretary of State Guidance1301 6th Avenue, Room 260, Helena, MT 59620 · (406) 444-3665sosmt.gov/business
- Montana Department of Labor and Industry, Business Standards Division, Construction Contractor License ProgramIssues 1 permit on this page: Construction Contractor License301 South Park Avenue, Helena, MT 59601 · (406) 444-6880boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov/construction-contractor/index
- Montana State Electrical BoardIssues 1 permit on this page: Electrical License301 South Park Avenue, 4th Floor, Helena, MT 59620 · (406) 444-6880boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov/electrical
- Montana Board of PlumbersIssues 1 permit on this page: Plumbing License301 South Park Avenue, 4th Floor, Helena, MT 59620 · (406) 444-5711boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov/plumbers
What does a contractor or trade need in Billings that other businesses do not?
4 of the 4 permits particular to a contractor or trade here apply to no other business type we cover in Billings: General Contractor Local License (not found beyond state registration), Construction Contractor License, Electrical License and Plumbing License.
General Contractor Local License (not found beyond state registration)
No fee applies at the city level beyond Montana's own state contractor registration. The City's own Public Works Department maintains a Contractor & Permit Services page, but it describes only a Request-for-Qualifications/Statement-of-Qualifications prequalification program for firms bidding on the City's own public-works construction contracts — a government-procurement mechanism, not a general business-licensing requirement — so it is not recorded here as an industry-wide contractor license. A Billings contractor's obligation is instead the same Building, Electrical, Mechanical, and Plumbing permit process recorded elsewhere in this file, pulled per project.
Construction Contractor License
The Department's CCL Program FAQ describes the license's purpose as protecting public health, safety and welfare through the regulation of construction contractors — enforcing standards of conduct, workers' compensation and unemployment coverage, and business-entity compliance — and the FAQ describes no trade examination. It also quotes MCA 37-45-202: a person who engages a contractor licensed on the date of the contract is not liable as an employer for workers' compensation coverage, unemployment insurance coverage, or wages and fringe benefits of that contractor, its employees or its subcontractors. House Bill 239, enacted as Chapter 644, Laws of 2025 and effective January 1, 2026, converted this from a plain registration into a genuine license — the old registration statute (39-9-101 and the rest of Title 39, chapter 9) is now repealed and renumbered, replaced by Title 37, chapter 45, administered by DLI's Business Standards Division as the 'Construction Contractor License (CCL) Program' rather than the old Registration Section. Existing registrants as of December 31, 2025 were automatically converted to the new license. Confirmed directly from the Department's own current CCL Program FAQ (revised May 19, 2026): the fee is unchanged at $70, for both the application and each renewal, per Administrative Rule 24.227.401 — the same figure the old registration charged. The license requirement now also expressly reaches corporations and manager-managed LLCs 'regardless of employee count,' not only contractors who have employees. A genuinely separate credential often confused with it is the Independent Contractor Exemption Certificate, $125 for a two-year term, which exists to prove someone works as a true independent contractor rather than an employee for workers' compensation purposes — a contracting business commonly needs both, for different legal reasons.
Electrical License
A contractor license costs more to obtain than to renew is not the pattern here — $210 either way — but master, journeyman and residential licenses each renew more cheaply than a fresh application, at $140 against an original examination-based fee of $190. Sixteen hours of continuing education are required each two-year cycle. The board has temporarily abated its FY2026 renewal fees by half, a discretionary reduction layered on top of the statutory figures above rather than a change to the underlying rule.
Plumbing License
Plumbing renews every single year here rather than on the two-year cycle electrical work uses — a genuine difference between Montana's two major trade boards worth not assuming away. A master plumber pays $380 in total to get licensed, split between a $100 application and a $280 license fee, with a temporary work permit available for a further $100 if needed while the full license is pending. Four hours of continuing education are required each cycle, waived for a licensee's first year. The board has temporarily abated its FY2026 renewal fee entirely, a discretionary reduction on top of the statutory figure rather than a change to the underlying rule. Montana licenses no HVAC or mechanical contractor separately at state level; that trade registers through the same construction contractor pathway as other unlicensed trades.
The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Billings, MT; what each one involves is set out on the Billings permits page. The 4 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across MT and are covered on the MT state page.
How does a contractor or trade compare with other businesses in Billings?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A contractor or trade also needs General Contractor Local License (not found beyond state registration), Construction Contractor License, Electrical License and Plumbing License. A auto repair shop needs Sign Permit, Industry-Specific Municipal License (not found beyond the general Business License), Special Review (functional Conditional Use Permit) and Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Montana Dealer Statute Scope, which a contractor or trade does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a contractor or trade | Only a contractor or trade needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 4 | 0 | 4 | 4 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 0 | 4 | 3 |
| Coffee shops | 6 | 0 | 4 | 6 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 7 | 0 | 4 | 7 |
| Restaurants | 8 | 0 | 4 | 8 |
| Retail stores | 3 | 0 | 4 | 3 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 0 | 4 | 3 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 0 | 4 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Billings permits page and the MT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Contractor & Permit Services — the Public Works Department's own page describing its RFQ/SOQ contractor prequalification program for City construction contractsCity of Billings, Montana, Public Works Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- Construction Contractor License (CCL) Program FAQ, rev. 5/19/2026 — 'Fees per 24.227.401 are $70 for application and renewal'; confirms the license also reaches corporations and manager-managed LLCs 'regardless of employee count'Montana Department of Labor and Industry, Business Standards Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
- ARM 24.35.121 — the $125 independent contractor exemption certificate fee and two-year termMontana Department of Labor and Industry · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Montana Construction Contractor License (CCL) Program — 'Effective January 1, 2026... Construction Contractors that had an active Montana registration as of December 31, 2025, have been converted to the new license,' per House Bill 239 (2025), which 'transitioned the state's construction contractor system from a basic registration framework to an official licensing program'Montana Department of Labor and Industry, Business Standards Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
- Montana House Bill 239, Chapter 644, Laws of 2025 — enacted the Construction Contractor License program, codified at MCA Title 37, chapter 45, replacing the repealed and renumbered Title 39, chapter 9 registration statuteMontana Legislature · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
- ARM 24.141.405 — Montana State Electrical Board fee scheduleMontana State Electrical Board · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Montana Board of Plumbers — master plumber application, fees and annual 1 September expiryMontana Board of Plumbers · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
