Commercial Compliance Hub

15 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Billings?

In short

A fitness studio in Billings, MT has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 11 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services Department charges $1,719 one-time, per application (FY26 rate, effective July 1, 2025, plus postage) for the zone change. 7 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a fitness studio in Billings

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services DepartmentA $2.50-per-square-foot Sign application fee plus a $1.50-per-square-foot Sign permit fee (FY26 rates, effective July 1, 2025).one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Industry-Specific Municipal License (not found beyond the general Business License)only if it applies to youCity of Billings, Department of Finance (Business License Division)No feenot applicable2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Billings

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Zoning Clarification (Zoning Verification)only if it applies to youCity/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services DepartmentVaries — formula on the Billings pageone-time, per request — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Commercial Building PermitCity of Billings, Building DivisionVaries — formula on the Billings pageone-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Zoning Variance (City Board of Adjustment)only if it applies to youCity of Billings, City Board of AdjustmentVaries — formula on the Billings pageone-time, per application2026-09-12
City of Billings Business LicenseCity of Billings, Department of Finance (Business License Division)Varies — formula on the Billings pageannual — one year from the month the license is obtained2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Billings, Building DivisionNo feeone-time — issued after required inspections confirm code compliance2026-09-12
Zone Changeonly if it applies to youCity/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services Department$1,719 one-time, per application (FY26 rate, effective July 1, 2025, plus postage)one-time, per application2026-09-12
Fire Prevention Business Inspection (City fee not published)Billings Fire Department, Fire Prevention BureauNo feenot applicable2026-09-12
Fire System Permit (Installation, Repair, or Replacement of Fire Protection/Alarm Systems)only if it applies to youBillings Fire Department, Fire Prevention BureauVaries — formula on the Billings pageone-time, per system installation, repair, or replacement2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

MT registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youMontana Secretary of State, Business Services Division$35 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youMontana Secretary of State, Business Services Division$35 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youMontana Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionVaries — formula on the MT pageannual — due between 1 January and 15 April2026-09-04
Sales Tax Registration — Montana Department of Revenue Positiononly if it applies to youMontana Department of Revenue, Business Tax UnitNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
General Business License — Montana Secretary of State Guidanceonly if it applies to youMontana Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in Billings?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a fitness studio in Billings, MT, 4 apply to every business of this type and 11 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

7 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit: A $2.50-per-square-foot Sign application fee plus a $1.50-per-square-foot Sign permit fee (FY26 rates, effective July 1, 2025).

The other 6 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Billings permits page and the MT state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Billings?

Permits for a fitness studio in Billings, MT come from 7 separate offices: City/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services Department, City of Billings, Building Division, City of Billings, City Board of Adjustment, City of Billings, Department of Finance (Business License Division), Billings Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau, Montana Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Montana Department of Revenue, Business Tax Unit. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a fitness studio need in Billings that other businesses do not?

Industry-Specific Municipal License (not found beyond the general Business License)

No fee applies beyond the general Business License already recorded above. There is no Billings-specific ordinance comparable to Nampa, Idaho's Massage Establishment License or any dedicated local product for a retail store, an auto repair shop, a veterinary practice, or a fitness studio — each of these industries' Billings-specific obligations are instead the general Business License, the same commercial Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy, Sign Permit (where applicable), and Special Review/Variance approvals recorded elsewhere in this file, on top of whatever trade-specific state professional license already applies (recorded at the Montana state layer).

Shared with other businesses in Billings

  • Sign Permit — City/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services Department, A $2.50-per-square-foot Sign application fee plus a $1.50-per-square-foot Sign permit fee (FY26 rates, effective July 1, 2025)., one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.

The other 8 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Billings, MT; what each one involves is set out on the Billings permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across MT and are covered on the MT state page.

How does a fitness studio compare with other businesses in Billings?

The closest match is a retail store, which shares 2 of these permits. A retail store needs Special Review (functional Conditional Use Permit), which a fitness studio does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Billings, MT, compared with a fitness studio
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a fitness studioOnly a fitness studio needsOnly it needs
Retail stores3201
Salons and barbers3201
Veterinary clinics3201
Auto repair shops4202
Coffee shops6115
Restaurants8117
Childcare centres3023
Contractors and trades4024
Food trucks7027

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the veterinary clinics page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Billings permits page and the MT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Business License Information — the City's own page confirming every business operating in or based in the City must hold a Business LicenseCity of Billings, Montana, Department of Finance · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.