16 permits · verified 2026-09-12
What permits do you need to open a retail store in Billings?
In short
A retail store in Billings, MT has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 12 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services Department charges $1,719 one-time, per application (FY26 rate, effective July 1, 2025, plus postage) for the zone change. 8 of the 16 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a retail store in Billings
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services Department | A $2.50-per-square-foot Sign application fee plus a $1.50-per-square-foot Sign permit fee (FY26 rates, effective July 1, 2025). | one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Industry-Specific Municipal License (not found beyond the general Business License)only if it applies to you | City of Billings, Department of Finance (Business License Division) | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-12 |
| Special Review (functional Conditional Use Permit)only if it applies to you | City/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services Department | $1,299–$1,776 one-time, per application: $1,299.00 (residential) or $1,776.00 (commercial), FY26 rates effective July 1, 2025, plus postage | one-time, per application; an approval expires one year after issuance unless substantial work has commenced, or once the use has ceased for more than six months (BMCC Sec. 27-1623.H) | 2026-09-12 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Billings
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zoning Clarification (Zoning Verification)only if it applies to you | City/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services Department | Varies — formula on the Billings page | one-time, per request — not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Billings, Building Division | Varies — formula on the Billings page | one-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Zoning Variance (City Board of Adjustment)only if it applies to you | City of Billings, City Board of Adjustment | Varies — formula on the Billings page | one-time, per application | 2026-09-12 |
| City of Billings Business License | City of Billings, Department of Finance (Business License Division) | Varies — formula on the Billings page | annual — one year from the month the license is obtained | 2026-09-12 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Billings, Building Division | No fee | one-time — issued after required inspections confirm code compliance | 2026-09-12 |
| Zone Changeonly if it applies to you | City/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services Department | $1,719 one-time, per application (FY26 rate, effective July 1, 2025, plus postage) | one-time, per application | 2026-09-12 |
| Fire Prevention Business Inspection (City fee not published) | Billings Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-12 |
| Fire System Permit (Installation, Repair, or Replacement of Fire Protection/Alarm Systems)only if it applies to you | Billings Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau | Varies — formula on the Billings page | one-time, per system installation, repair, or replacement | 2026-09-12 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
MT registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Montana Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $35 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Montana Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $35 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Montana Secretary of State, Business Services Division | Varies — formula on the MT page | annual — due between 1 January and 15 April | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Registration — Montana Department of Revenue Positiononly if it applies to you | Montana Department of Revenue, Business Tax Unit | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Montana Secretary of State Guidanceonly if it applies to you | Montana Secretary of State, Business Services Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Billings?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 16 records listed for a retail store in Billings, MT, 4 apply to every business of this type and 12 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
8 of the 16 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Sign Permit: A $2.50-per-square-foot Sign application fee plus a $1.50-per-square-foot Sign permit fee (FY26 rates, effective July 1, 2025).
Special Review (functional Conditional Use Permit): $1,299–$1,776 one-time, per application: $1,299.00 (residential) or $1,776.00 (commercial), FY26 rates effective July 1, 2025, plus postage
The other 6 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Billings permits page and the MT state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Billings?
Permits for a retail store in Billings, MT come from 7 separate offices: City/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services Department, City of Billings, Building Division, City of Billings, City Board of Adjustment, City of Billings, Department of Finance (Business License Division), Billings Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau, Montana Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Montana Department of Revenue, Business Tax Unit. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services DepartmentIssues 4 permits on this page: Sign Permit, Zoning Clarification (Zoning Verification), Special Review (functional Conditional Use Permit), Zone Change2825 3rd Avenue North, Billings, MT 59101 · (406) 657-8247www.billingsmt.gov/103/Planning-Community-Services
- City of Billings, Building DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Commercial Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy316 North 26th Street, Billings, MT 59101 · (406) 657-8270www.billingsmt.gov/67/Building
- City of Billings, City Board of AdjustmentIssues 1 permit on this page: Zoning Variance (City Board of Adjustment)2825 3rd Avenue North, Billings, MT 59101 · (406) 657-8247www.billingsmt.gov/73/City-Board-of-Adjustment
- City of Billings, Department of Finance (Business License Division)Issues 2 permits on this page: Industry-Specific Municipal License (not found beyond the general Business License), City of Billings Business License316 North 26th Street, Billings, MT 59101 (P.O. Box 1178, Billings, MT 59103) · (406) 657-8364www.billingsmt.gov/981/Business-License-Information
- Billings Fire Department, Fire Prevention BureauIssues 2 permits on this page: Fire Prevention Business Inspection (City fee not published), Fire System Permit (Installation, Repair, or Replacement of Fire Protection/Alarm Systems)2305 8th Avenue North, Billings, MT 59101 · (406) 657-8422www.billingsmt.gov/453/Fire-Prevention-Bureau
- Montana Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: Articles of Incorporation, Articles of Organization (LLC), Annual Report, General Business License — Montana Secretary of State Guidance1301 6th Avenue, Room 260, Helena, MT 59620 · (406) 444-3665sosmt.gov/business
- Montana Department of Revenue, Business Tax UnitIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Registration — Montana Department of Revenue Position(406) 444-6900revenue.mt.gov/taxes/general-sales-tax
What does a retail store need in Billings that other businesses do not?
Special Review (functional Conditional Use Permit)
Billings calls this process 'Special Review' rather than 'Conditional Use Permit,' but it works the same way. BMCC Sec. 27-1623 calls special review uses 'special exceptions to the general terms of this zoning code,' and only a use marked SR for that district in Table 27-1000.1 can be approved this way. A use that is neither SR nor otherwise allowed in the district needs a text amendment or a rezoning (Sec. 27-1623.A.3). The City's Zoning Information page, written jointly for City and County applicants, left open who takes final action inside city limits. The codified zoning code, read directly, settles it: the Billings City Council. Chapter 27 'applies to all lands within the City of Billings' (Sec. 27-103.A). The five-member City Zoning Commission holds a public hearing and 'shall make a recommendation to the city council' to approve, conditionally approve or deny (Sec. 27-1623.E.1). The council then holds its own hearing and approves, conditionally approves, denies, allows withdrawal, delays up to 30 days or refers the application back once (Sec. 27-1623.E.2). Sec. 27-1609.A.1(c) lists 'To review and decide on special review applications' among the council's powers, and Table 27-1600.1 names the council as the deciding body, with appeal to District Court. Sec. 27-1623 gives the Yellowstone County Commissioners no role, and the City Board of Adjustment 'does not have the authority to hear or decide on special review requests' (Sec. 27-1609.C.3(c)). Which businesses actually meet this process is set by Table 27-1000.1 and the use-specific standards, which is why only five industries are listed for it. A day care center is SR in the seven residential districts (N3, N2, N1, NX1, NX2, NX3, RMH) and permitted outright in NO, NMU, CMU1, CMU2, DX, CBD and CX. Minor vehicle repair (5,000 square feet or less) is SR in CBD, and major vehicle repair (over 5,000 square feet) is SR in CMU2. A restaurant with a drive-thru, which covers a coffee shop under the code's definition of a restaurant, is SR in NMU and DX, and any restaurant drive-thru that adjoins residentially zoned property 'is subject to special review' (Sec. 27-1005.N.1). A retail store with a drive-thru is SR in NMU. Four uses are not SR in any district, in either the primary-use table or the accessory-use table (Table 27-1000.6): a small-animal veterinary clinic, a personal-service business such as a barber shop (the code's own example of personal services), a fitness centre (which the code counts as a studio or instruction service) and a contractor yard. Where the table does not list them as permitted, only a text amendment or a rezoning can allow them. A licensed family or group day-care home is exempted from Special Review entirely by Montana state law (recorded separately below).
Shared with other businesses in Billings
- Sign Permit — City/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services Department, A $2.50-per-square-foot Sign application fee plus a $1.50-per-square-foot Sign permit fee (FY26 rates, effective July 1, 2025)., one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
- Industry-Specific Municipal License (not found beyond the general Business License) — City of Billings, Department of Finance (Business License Division), No fee, not applicable. Also required for auto repair shops, veterinary clinics, fitness studios and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
The other 8 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Billings, MT; what each one involves is set out on the Billings permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across MT and are covered on the MT state page.
How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Billings?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 3 of these permits. A auto repair shop needs Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Montana Dealer Statute Scope, which a retail store does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a retail store | Only a retail store needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 4 | 3 | 0 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 2 | 1 | 0 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 6 | 2 | 1 | 4 |
| Restaurants | 8 | 2 | 1 | 6 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
| Food trucks | 7 | 0 | 3 | 7 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the veterinary clinics page and fitness studios page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Billings permits page and the MT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- EXHIBIT A FY 25 & 26 City of Billings Planning Application Fees (dated 7/12/2024) — the current Planning fee schedule for Signs, Zone Changes, Special Reviews, Variances, Zoning Clarifications, and Temporary Use PermitsCity of Billings, Montana, Planning & Community Services Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- Zoning Information — the City's own page describing Special Review, Variance, and Zone Change processes and the Boards/Commissions that decide themCity of Billings, Montana · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- Billings, Montana City Code (BMCC) Sec. 27-1623 (Special review uses): only uses marked SR in Table 27-1000.1 qualify; the City Zoning Commission 'shall make a recommendation to the city council'; the City Council's final action; one-year and six-month expiry rulesCity of Billings, Montana, via Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
- BMCC Sec. 27-1609 (Review and decision-making bodies): the City Council's power 'To review and decide on special review applications', the five-member City Zoning Commission, and the Board of Adjustment's lack of special review authorityCity of Billings, Montana, via Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
- BMCC Sec. 27-103 (Scope): 'This chapter applies to all lands within the City of Billings'City of Billings, Montana, via Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
- BMCC Sec. 27-1002 (Uses by district), Table 27-1000.1 (Permitted Primary Uses): P (permitted) or SR (special review) by zone district for day care centers, restaurants and retail with drive-thru, vehicle repair, veterinary clinics, personal services, studio or instruction services and contractor yardsCity of Billings, Montana, via Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
- BMCC Sec. 27-1005 (Standards for commercial uses), subsection N.1: a restaurant drive-thru that adjoins residentially zoned property 'is subject to special review'City of Billings, Montana, via Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
- BMCC Sec. 27-1008 (Accessory uses), Table 27-1000.6: the only accessory uses marked SR are accessory dwelling units, drive-through facilities, outdoor sales lots and fowlCity of Billings, Montana, via Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
- BMCC Sec. 27-1803 (Definitions): 'Restaurant' (food and drinks available to the general public for consumption on the premises) and 'Studio or instruction service' (including 'fitness centers')City of Billings, Montana, via Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
