Commercial Compliance Hub

20 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Missoula?

In short

A coffee shop in Missoula, MT has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 12 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Missoula, Community Planning, Development & Innovation — Building Division charges $154 one-time for the temporary (conditional) certificate of occupancy. 9 of the 20 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a coffee shop in Missoula

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Missoula, Current Planning and Land Use Division$116.40–$225.60 one-time, per sign, by sign type: $116.40 Banner, $156.00 Sidewalk, $176.40 Window, $196.80 Awning/Canopy/Hanging or Dynamic Display/Pump Top Unit, $154.80 Other, up to $225.60 Wall/Projecting/Ground/Mural/Heritageone-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Retail Food Establishment Plan Review FeeMissoula Public Health (Missoula City-County Health Department)A flat $285.00 Basic Plan Review Fee for a new permanent retail food establishment (no small/large split). A $145.00 Modified Plan Review applies for a minor remodel, menu/equipment change, or a new operation in an already-licensed space; a $145.00 Change of Ownership Plan Review; a $145.00 HACCP or Food Process Review; a $130.00 non-public water supply review; a $100.00 resubmittal fee if the application is incomplete; and a $130.00 additional pre-licensing inspection fee if work is not complete at the scheduled inspection.one-time, prior to construction/remodeling2026-09-12
Retail Food Establishment License (administered locally by Missoula Public Health)Missoula Public Health (Missoula City-County Health Department)No feeannual — every Montana food license expires December 31st (see this site's Montana state page)2026-09-12
Fire Department Café Review (Sidewalk Café)only if it applies to youMissoula Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau$85 one-timenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Certified Food Protection Manageronly if it applies to youMontana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Environmental Health and Food Safety SectionNo feeset by the accrediting programme2026-09-04
Retail Food Establishment LicenseMontana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Environmental Health and Food Safety Section$150–$275 a year, banded by peak employee countannual — renew before 31 December2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Missoula

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Missoula, Community Planning, Development & Innovation — Building DivisionNo feeone-time — issued after all required building and (for commercial properties) fire inspections pass2026-09-12
Temporary (Conditional) Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to youCity of Missoula, Community Planning, Development & Innovation — Building Division$154 one-timetemporary — until outstanding conditions for a standard Certificate of Occupancy are met2026-09-12
Zoning Variance (Board of Adjustment)only if it applies to youCity of Missoula, Board of AdjustmentVaries — formula on the Missoula pageone-time, per application2026-09-12
Fire Plan Review and Inspection (Commercial Construction)Missoula Fire Department, Fire Prevention BureauVaries — formula on the Missoula pageone-time, per project2026-09-12
City of Missoula General Business LicenseCity of Missoula, Community Planning, Development & Innovation — Permit & Business Licensing CoordinatorsVaries — formula on the Missoula pageannual — expires May 31st each year regardless of the issue date2026-09-12
Commercial Building PermitCity of Missoula, Community Planning, Development & Innovation — Building DivisionVaries — formula on the Missoula pageone-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Zoning Compliance Permit/Review (ZCP/ZCR)City of Missoula, Current Planning and Land Use DivisionVaries — formula on the Missoula pageone-time, per application2026-09-12
Conditional Use Reviewonly if it applies to youCity of Missoula, Current Planning and Land Use Division$4,993 one-time, per applicationone-time, per application2026-09-12
Zoning Map Amendment (Rezoning)only if it applies to youCity of Missoula, Current Planning and Land Use Division$8,654.40 one-time, per application (base fee, plus $854.40 per additional resultant zoning district)one-time, per application2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

MT registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youMontana Secretary of State, Business Services Division$35 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youMontana Secretary of State, Business Services Division$35 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youMontana Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionVaries — formula on the MT pageannual — due between 1 January and 15 April2026-09-04
Sales Tax Registration — Montana Department of Revenue Positiononly if it applies to youMontana Department of Revenue, Business Tax UnitNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
General Business License — Montana Secretary of State Guidanceonly if it applies to youMontana Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Missoula?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 20 records listed for a coffee shop in Missoula, MT, 8 apply to every business of this type and 12 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

9 of the 20 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit: $116.40–$225.60 one-time, per sign, by sign type: $116.40 Banner, $156.00 Sidewalk, $176.40 Window, $196.80 Awning/Canopy/Hanging or Dynamic Display/Pump Top Unit, $154.80 Other, up to $225.60 Wall/Projecting/Ground/Mural/Heritage

Retail Food Establishment Plan Review Fee: A flat $285.00 Basic Plan Review Fee for a new permanent retail food establishment (no small/large split). A $145.00 Modified Plan Review applies for a minor remodel, menu/equipment change, or a new operation in an already-licensed space; a $145.00 Change of Ownership Plan Review; a $145.00 HACCP or Food Process Review; a $130.00 non-public water supply review; a $100.00 resubmittal fee if the application is incomplete; and a $130.00 additional pre-licensing inspection fee if work is not complete at the scheduled inspection.

Retail Food Establishment License: $150–$275 a year, banded by peak employee count

The other 6 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Missoula permits page and the MT state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Missoula?

Permits for a coffee shop in Missoula, MT come from 9 separate offices: City of Missoula, Community Planning, Development & Innovation — Building Division, City of Missoula, Current Planning and Land Use Division, City of Missoula, Board of Adjustment, Missoula Public Health (Missoula City-County Health Department), Missoula Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau, City of Missoula, Community Planning, Development & Innovation — Permit & Business Licensing Coordinators, Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Environmental Health and Food Safety Section, Montana Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Montana Department of Revenue, Business Tax Unit. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a coffee shop need in Missoula that other businesses do not?

Certified Food Protection Manager

No state fee — the health department's own training page states plainly that only food manager certification is required by the state, purchased from an ANSI-CFP accredited provider at that provider's own price. There is no separate general food handler card requirement layered on top. A low-risk establishment, and certain temporary establishments conducting specific limited activities, are exempt from needing a certified manager at all under the state's own published exemption criteria.

Shared with other businesses in Missoula

  • Sign Permit — City of Missoula, Current Planning and Land Use Division, $116.40–$225.60 one-time, per sign, by sign type: $116.40 Banner, $156.00 Sidewalk, $176.40 Window, $196.80 Awning/Canopy/Hanging or Dynamic Display/Pump Top Unit, $154.80 Other, up to $225.60 Wall/Projecting/Ground/Mural/Heritage, one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
  • Retail Food Establishment Plan Review Fee — Missoula Public Health (Missoula City-County Health Department), A flat $285.00 Basic Plan Review Fee for a new permanent retail food establishment (no small/large split). A $145.00 Modified Plan Review applies for a minor remodel, menu/equipment change, or a new operation in an already-licensed space; a $145.00 Change of Ownership Plan Review; a $145.00 HACCP or Food Process Review; a $130.00 non-public water supply review; a $100.00 resubmittal fee if the application is incomplete; and a $130.00 additional pre-licensing inspection fee if work is not complete at the scheduled inspection., one-time, prior to construction/remodeling. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Retail Food Establishment License (administered locally by Missoula Public Health) — Missoula Public Health (Missoula City-County Health Department), No fee, annual — every Montana food license expires December 31st (see this site's Montana state page). Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
  • Fire Department Café Review (Sidewalk Café) — Missoula Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau, $85 one-time, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Retail Food Establishment License — Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Environmental Health and Food Safety Section, $150–$275 a year, banded by peak employee count, annual — renew before 31 December. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 9 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Missoula, MT; what each one involves is set out on the Missoula permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across MT and are covered on the MT state page.

How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Missoula?

The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 6 of these permits. A restaurant needs Temporary Food Service Plan Review & Permit, which a coffee shop does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Missoula, MT, compared with a coffee shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a coffee shopOnly a coffee shop needsOnly it needs
Restaurants7601
Food trucks7334
Fitness studios2151
Retail stores2151
Auto repair shops3152
Salons and barbers3152
Veterinary clinics3152
Childcare centres5065
Contractors and trades4064

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the fitness studios page, restaurants page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Missoula permits page and the MT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Montana DPHHS — certified food protection manager exemption guidanceMontana Department of Public Health and Human Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.