Commercial Compliance Hub

16 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a veterinary clinic in Billings?

In short

A veterinary clinic in Billings, MT has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 12 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services Department charges $1,719 one-time, per application (FY26 rate, effective July 1, 2025, plus postage) for the zone change. 7 of the 16 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a veterinary clinic in Billings

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services DepartmentA $2.50-per-square-foot Sign application fee plus a $1.50-per-square-foot Sign permit fee (FY26 rates, effective July 1, 2025).one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Industry-Specific Municipal License (not found beyond the general Business License)only if it applies to youCity of Billings, Department of Finance (Business License Division)No feenot applicable2026-09-12
Veterinary Facility Permit — Montana Board of Veterinary Medicine Positiononly if it applies to youMontana Board of Veterinary MedicineNo feenot applicable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Billings

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Zoning Clarification (Zoning Verification)only if it applies to youCity/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services DepartmentVaries — formula on the Billings pageone-time, per request — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Commercial Building PermitCity of Billings, Building DivisionVaries — formula on the Billings pageone-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Zoning Variance (City Board of Adjustment)only if it applies to youCity of Billings, City Board of AdjustmentVaries — formula on the Billings pageone-time, per application2026-09-12
City of Billings Business LicenseCity of Billings, Department of Finance (Business License Division)Varies — formula on the Billings pageannual — one year from the month the license is obtained2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Billings, Building DivisionNo feeone-time — issued after required inspections confirm code compliance2026-09-12
Zone Changeonly if it applies to youCity/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services Department$1,719 one-time, per application (FY26 rate, effective July 1, 2025, plus postage)one-time, per application2026-09-12
Fire Prevention Business Inspection (City fee not published)Billings Fire Department, Fire Prevention BureauNo feenot applicable2026-09-12
Fire System Permit (Installation, Repair, or Replacement of Fire Protection/Alarm Systems)only if it applies to youBillings Fire Department, Fire Prevention BureauVaries — formula on the Billings pageone-time, per system installation, repair, or replacement2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

MT registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youMontana Secretary of State, Business Services Division$35 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youMontana Secretary of State, Business Services Division$35 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youMontana Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionVaries — formula on the MT pageannual — due between 1 January and 15 April2026-09-04
Sales Tax Registration — Montana Department of Revenue Positiononly if it applies to youMontana Department of Revenue, Business Tax UnitNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
General Business License — Montana Secretary of State Guidanceonly if it applies to youMontana Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a veterinary clinic in Billings?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 16 records listed for a veterinary clinic in Billings, MT, 4 apply to every business of this type and 12 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

7 of the 16 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 6 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit: A $2.50-per-square-foot Sign application fee plus a $1.50-per-square-foot Sign permit fee (FY26 rates, effective July 1, 2025).

The other 6 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Billings permits page and the MT state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Billings?

Permits for a veterinary clinic in Billings, MT come from 8 separate offices: City/County Planning Division, City of Billings Planning & Community Services Department, City of Billings, Building Division, City of Billings, City Board of Adjustment, City of Billings, Department of Finance (Business License Division), Billings Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau, Montana Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Montana Department of Revenue, Business Tax Unit, Montana Board of Veterinary Medicine. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a veterinary clinic need in Billings that other businesses do not?

1 of the 3 permits particular to a veterinary clinic here applies to no other business type we cover in Billings: Veterinary Facility Permit — Montana Board of Veterinary Medicine Position.

Sign Permit

Administered by the Planning & Community Services Department. A separate Fence Permit is priced at a flat $40.00 on the same current schedule. The City's Planning Application Fee Schedule (Exhibit A, FY 25 & 26) shows the sign application fee rising from $2.00 per square foot in FY24 and FY25 to $2.50 in FY26, and the sign permit fee from $1.00 to $1.50 per square foot over the same years.

Veterinary Facility Permit — Montana Board of Veterinary Medicine Position

No fee is listed for this record: the Board of Veterinary Medicine's license-information list names veterinarian, veterinarian technician, euthanasia technician, embryo transfer technician and certified euthanasia agency licenses, and that list names no clinic, hospital or premises license. One narrow, differently purposed license exists nearby and is easy to confuse with a general premises permit: under MCA 37-18-803 a veterinary retail facility must be licensed by the Board of Pharmacy, and MCA 37-18-801 defines that facility as an establishment employing a registered veterinary dispensing technician to dispense veterinary prescription drugs on the orders of licensed veterinarians. MCA 37-18-802 states that this part does not apply to a veterinarian, a veterinary technician or a veterinarian's practice. Staff who practise veterinary medicine hold their own individual licenses from the board.

Shared with other businesses in Billings

  • Industry-Specific Municipal License (not found beyond the general Business License) — City of Billings, Department of Finance (Business License Division), No fee, not applicable. Also required for retail stores, auto repair shops, fitness studios and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.

The other 8 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Billings, MT; what each one involves is set out on the Billings permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across MT and are covered on the MT state page.

How does a veterinary clinic compare with other businesses in Billings?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 2 of these permits. A veterinary clinic also needs Veterinary Facility Permit — Montana Board of Veterinary Medicine Position. A fitness studio needs nothing here that a veterinary clinic does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Billings, MT, compared with a veterinary clinic
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a veterinary clinicOnly a veterinary clinic needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios2210
Retail stores3211
Salons and barbers3211
Auto repair shops4212
Coffee shops6125
Restaurants8127
Childcare centres3033
Contractors and trades4034
Food trucks7037

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the fitness studios page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Billings permits page and the MT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. EXHIBIT A FY 25 & 26 City of Billings Planning Application Fees (dated 7/12/2024) — the current Planning fee schedule for Signs, Zone Changes, Special Reviews, Variances, Zoning Clarifications, and Temporary Use PermitsCity of Billings, Montana, Planning & Community Services Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  2. Montana Board of Veterinary Medicine — the complete list of individual license types it issuesMontana Board of Veterinary Medicine · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  3. 37-18-803, Montana Code Annotated — the narrow veterinary retail facility license for dispensing livestock drugsMontana Legislature · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.