12 permits · verified 2026-09-09
What permits do you need to open a contractor or trade in Bowling Green?
In short
A contractor or trade in Bowling Green, KY has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City-County Planning Commission of Warren County charges $20 per property for the property plat analysis / zoning certification letter. 4 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
The permits at a glance
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Occupational License Fee Registration | City of Bowling Green Finance Department, Office of Occupational License | A flat 2.0% of both (a) the net profit of a business entity or resident/non-resident individual doing business in Bowling Green and (b) wages/compensation paid for work performed there, withheld by employers — up from 1.85% on net profits for fiscal years beginning before January 1, 2024. The net profit return carries a $30 minimum, due even in a loss year. A one-time $50 registration fee accompanies a local business's application, and a $275 cash bond/deposit may also be required. | annual — net profit returns follow the taxpayer's fiscal year; wage withholding is remitted periodically to the City | 2026-09-09 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Bowling Green Building Division | Up to $3,000 of construction cost: $20 flat. $3,000–$500,000: $20 plus $2.50 for every $1,000 over $3,000. $500,000–$10,000,000: $1,250 plus $1.00 for every $1,000 over $500,000. Over $10,000,000: $10,700 plus $0.50 for every $1,000 over $10,000,000. Commercial electrical permits are billed separately: $150 for projects under $30,000, or $150 plus 1% of the cost over $30,000 for larger projects. | one-time, per project | 2026-09-09 |
| Property Plat Analysis / Zoning Certification Letteronly if it applies to you | City-County Planning Commission of Warren County | $20 per property | one-time, per request | 2026-09-09 |
| General or Specialty Contractor License | Bowling Green-Warren County Contractors Licensing Board | General Contractor Licence: $250. Specialty Contractor Licence (subcontract work, or at most one subcontractor per job): $100. Both nonrefundable. | annual — valid twelve months from issuance, renewed annually | 2026-09-09 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Kentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division | $40 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-03 |
| HVAC Contractor Licenceonly if it applies to you | Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction | $250 a year for a master contractor; $50 for a journeyman | annual — expires the last day of the licensee's birth month | 2026-09-03 |
| Plumbing Contractor Licenceonly if it applies to you | Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction | $250 a year for a master plumber plus a $150 exam fee; a journeyman is $60 a year plus a $50 exam fee | annual — expires the last day of the applicant's birth month | 2026-09-03 |
| Local Occupational Licence Tax | Kentucky Department of Revenue, Division of Registration | A percentage of payroll and net profits set by each city or county, capped at 1.25% for a county over 300,000 people — not a flat fee | annual, filed in every taxing district a business has a presence in | 2026-09-03 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Kentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division | $50 for a minimum-share filing — $40 to the Secretary of State plus a $10 minimum organization tax | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-03 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Kentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division | $15 a year, identical for an LLC and a corporation | annual — filed between 1 January and 30 June | 2026-09-03 |
| General Contractor Licence (not required by Kentucky)only if it applies to you | Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-03 |
| Electrical Contractor Licence | Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction | $400 for two years for a contractor licence; a master electrician is $200 and an electrician $100 | biennial — renews on or before the last day of the birth month in the second year | 2026-09-03 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a contractor or trade in Bowling Green?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a contractor or trade in Bowling Green, KY, 5 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 5 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $400.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones that vary:
Occupational License Fee Registration: A flat 2.0% of both (a) the net profit of a business entity or resident/non-resident individual doing business in Bowling Green and (b) wages/compensation paid for work performed there, withheld by employers — up from 1.85% on net profits for fiscal years beginning before January 1, 2024. The net profit return carries a $30 minimum, due even in a loss year. A one-time $50 registration fee accompanies a local business's application, and a $275 cash bond/deposit may also be required.
Commercial Building Permit: Up to $3,000 of construction cost: $20 flat. $3,000–$500,000: $20 plus $2.50 for every $1,000 over $3,000. $500,000–$10,000,000: $1,250 plus $1.00 for every $1,000 over $500,000. Over $10,000,000: $10,700 plus $0.50 for every $1,000 over $10,000,000. Commercial electrical permits are billed separately: $150 for projects under $30,000, or $150 plus 1% of the cost over $30,000 for larger projects.
General or Specialty Contractor License: General Contractor Licence: $250. Specialty Contractor Licence (subcontract work, or at most one subcontractor per job): $100. Both nonrefundable.
Local Occupational Licence Tax: A percentage of payroll and net profits set by each city or county, capped at 1.25% for a county over 300,000 people — not a flat fee
Which offices issue these permits in Bowling Green?
Permits for a contractor or trade in Bowling Green, KY come from 7 separate offices: City of Bowling Green Finance Department, Office of Occupational License, City of Bowling Green Building Division, City-County Planning Commission of Warren County, Bowling Green-Warren County Contractors Licensing Board, Kentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division, Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction, Kentucky Department of Revenue, Division of Registration. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Bowling Green Finance Department, Office of Occupational LicenseIssues 1 permit on this page: Occupational License Fee RegistrationCity Hall Annex, 1017 College Street, Bowling Green, KY 42101 · (270) 393-3000www.bgky.org/finance/license
- City of Bowling Green Building DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Commercial Building Permit707 E. Main Avenue, P.O. Box 430, Bowling Green, KY 42102 · (270) 393-3676www.bgky.org/ncs/building
- City-County Planning Commission of Warren CountyIssues 1 permit on this page: Property Plat Analysis / Zoning Certification Letter922 State Street, Suite 200, Bowling Green, KY 42101 · (270) 842-1953www.warrenpc.org
- Bowling Green-Warren County Contractors Licensing BoardIssues 1 permit on this page: General or Specialty Contractor License1141 State Street, Suite 200, P.O. Box 1268, Bowling Green, KY 42101 · (270) 781-3530www.bgky.org/contractorslicensing
- Kentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, Annual Report700 Capital Avenue, PO Box 718, Frankfort, KY 40602 · (502) 564-3490www.sos.ky.gov/bus/business-filings/Pages/Fees.aspx
- Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and ConstructionIssues 4 permits on this page: HVAC Contractor Licence, Plumbing Contractor Licence, General Contractor Licence (not required by Kentucky), Electrical Contractor Licence500 Mero Street, First Floor, Frankfort, KY 40601 · (502) 573-2002dhbc.ky.gov
- Kentucky Department of Revenue, Division of RegistrationIssues 1 permit on this page: Local Occupational Licence Tax501 High Street, Station 20, Frankfort, KY 40601 · (502) 564-3306revenue.ky.gov/Business/Pages/Register-Business.aspx
Is anything about these requirements changing?
Bowling Green's central local requirement, reaching nearly every business, trade, profession, or activity for profit conducted in the city. The Office of Occupational License's own page does not state which categories of local business actually trigger the $275 cash bond it mentions — confirm directly with the Finance Department (270-393-3000) before assuming it applies or does not apply to a given business.
No separate fee line item for fire suppression or fire detection system installation was found — that work appears to be billed under this same tiered construction-cost schedule rather than priced separately the way Lexington-Fayette's Division of Building Inspection does it.
Confirms a parcel's zoning classification and flood-plain status. The fee schedule does not state whether this letter is a mandatory prerequisite to opening or an optional due-diligence document.
Requires proof of general liability insurance of at least $100,000 per occurrence naming the Board as certificate holder, plus either a workers' compensation certificate or a notarized Affidavit of Exemption. This is a genuinely different answer from Lexington-Fayette, where contractor registration itself carries no separate fee.
Forty dollars flat, fixed directly in statute, and among the cheapest formation fees in the country. A non-profit LLC pays the same $40; a foreign LLC seeking authority to transact business pays $90.
A master HVAC contractor pays $250 a year and a journeyman mechanic $50, and both renew on a personal rather than a shared calendar — the licence expires on the last day of the individual's own birth month, so no two licensees necessarily renew at the same time. Restoring an expired master licence costs $125, a journeyman's $25; going inactive and later reactivating each costs $20; a fully terminated licence can be reinstated within limits at $250 per twelve-month period lapsed, capped at $750. A master HVAC contractor must also carry insurance under the governing statute.
A master plumber sits a $150 examination and then pays $250 a year to hold and renew the licence; a journeyman's examination is $50 and the licence itself $60 a year. As with HVAC, the renewal date tracks the individual's birth month rather than a fixed calendar date. Examinations run four times a year, in February, May, August and November, and a passing score stays valid for three years if the licence itself is not taken up immediately. Master plumbers must carry insurance under the governing statute.
Kentucky has no state business licence — its own portal says so outright — but this tax is what actually reaches nearly every business, and calling it a licence understates how it works. It is not a flat fee: it taxes the wages earned and services performed within a jurisdiction and the net profits apportioned to it, at a rate each city or county sets for itself, up to a statutory ceiling of 1.25% in a county of 300,000 or more. A 2025 legislative briefing put the scale in perspective: a hundred and seventy cities and eighty-seven counties tax gross earnings, eighty-nine cities and seventy counties tax net profits, and thirty-nine cities tax gross receipts, together supplying sixty per cent of city tax revenue and nearly forty-six per cent of county tax revenue — the largest local revenue source in the state. A business with a presence in several jurisdictions registers and files in each of them, using standardised forms the law requires every district to publish online, with a credit against the county tax where a city inside it also taxes the same activity.
Quoted alone, the Secretary of State's fee is $40 — the same as an LLC — and the $50 figure that circulates is really that $40 plus the $10 minimum organization tax under a separate statute, banded by the number of authorised shares: a cent a share up to twenty thousand shares, half a cent for the next hundred and eighty thousand, two-tenths of a cent above that, with $10 as the floor for a filing of a thousand shares or fewer. A non-profit corporation is cheaper still, at $8, because the organization tax does not apply to it.
Fifteen dollars, the same figure whatever the entity type, with a six-month window to file rather than a single deadline day. The consequence of missing it is not a late fee but administrative dissolution for a domestic entity, or revocation of the certificate of authority for a foreign one — either way the business falls out of good standing. Reinstatement costs a flat $100 penalty on top of every delinquent year's $15, plus letters of good standing from the revenue department and, for a profit company, the unemployment insurance division.
No fee, because Kentucky licenses no general contractor — the construction department's own chapter index covers elevators, home inspectors, boilers, manufactured homes, fire protection and three specific trades, and has no general contracting chapter among them. What the state licenses instead is a narrow set of trades: heating and air conditioning, plumbing and electrical, each through its own regulation with its own fee and renewal cycle. A general contractor still answers to local building permits and to the occupational licence tax wherever they work.
Three tiers, each priced at double the one below it and each running two years rather than one: an electrical contractor licence is $400, a master electrician $200, and an electrician $100, all renewing on or before the last day of the licensee's birth month in the second year of the cycle — except a contractor licence held by a corporation or partnership with no birth month, which instead renews on the month it was originally issued. A contractor licence cannot stand alone: it requires an affiliated licensed master electrician and proof of insurance. Renewing late adds a flat $50, and reinstating a terminated licence costs the full renewal fee again on top of the missed one. This regulation is the newest of Kentucky's three trade fee schedules, current from May 2025.
Sources
Every figure above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Office of Occupational License — registration, rates, and current formsCity of Bowling Green, Kentucky, Finance Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
- Occupational Taxes: Increase — rate change from 1.85% to 2.0% effective for fiscal years beginning on or after January 1, 2024City of Bowling Green, Kentucky, Finance Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
- Bowling Green Code of Ordinances 18-2.02, Occupational License Fees Imposed — the 2.0% rate and $30 minimum net profit feeCity of Bowling Green, Kentucky, codified by American Legal Publishing · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
- Permit Applications — Building Division fee table (building, electrical, sign, certificate of occupancy, and other permits)City of Bowling Green, Kentucky, Neighborhood and Community Services, Building Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
- City-County Planning Commission Fee/Invoice, effective January 1, 2020City-County Planning Commission of Warren County · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
- Licensing Information & Applications — General and Specialty Contractor licence fees and insurance requirementsBowling Green-Warren County Contractors Licensing Board · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
- Kentucky Revised Statutes section 275.055 — LLC filing fees, $40 for articles of organizationKentucky Legislative Research Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- 815 KAR 8:010 — HVAC licensing fees, effective 5 December 2023Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- 815 KAR 20:030 — plumbing licensing fees, effective 5 December 2023Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- Kentucky Secretary of State — occupational licence tax forms for every taxing district, required by KRS 67.766Kentucky Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- Kentucky Revised Statutes section 68.180 — county occupational licence tax, capped at 1.25% of wages and net profitsKentucky Legislative Research Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- Kentucky Secretary of State — business filing fee scheduleKentucky Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- Kentucky Secretary of State — annual reports, the $15 fee, the 30 June deadline and administrative dissolutionKentucky Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- Kentucky Revised Statutes section 14A.6-010 — the annual report filing window and requirementKentucky Legislative Research Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- Title 815 KAR — the complete chapter index of the Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction, containing no general contractor licensing chapterKentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- 815 KAR 35:060 — electrical licensing fees, effective 6 May 2025Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
Related
- All permits in Bowling Green
- Contractors and trades — national overview
- Contractors and trades in Fort Worth, TX
- Contractors and trades in Grand Prairie, TX
- Contractors and trades in Arlington, TX
- Contractors and trades in San Antonio, TX
- Contractors and trades in Pasadena, TX
- Auto repair shops in Bowling Green
- Childcare centres in Bowling Green
- Coffee shops in Bowling Green
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
