Commercial Compliance Hub

11 permits · verified 2026-09-09

What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Bowling Green?

In short

A fitness studio in Bowling Green, KY has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 5 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City-County Planning Commission of Warren County charges $330 per application, before the Board of Adjustments for the conditional use permit (board of adjustments). 3 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a fitness studio in Bowling Green

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Conditional Use Permit (Board of Adjustments)only if it applies to youCity-County Planning Commission of Warren County$330 per application, before the Board of Adjustmentsnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Bowling Green

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Bowling Green Building Division$3 flat, issued following an approved final inspectionone-time, per issuance2026-09-09
Property Plat Analysis / Zoning Certification Letteronly if it applies to youCity-County Planning Commission of Warren County$20 per propertyone-time, per request2026-09-09
Occupational License Fee RegistrationCity of Bowling Green Finance Department, Office of Occupational LicenseVaries — formula on the Bowling Green pageannual — net profit returns follow the taxpayer's fiscal year; wage withholding is remitted periodically to the City2026-09-09
Commercial Building PermitCity of Bowling Green Building DivisionVaries — formula on the Bowling Green pageone-time, per project2026-09-09
Permanent Sign PermitCity of Bowling Green Building Division$100 flat, per permanent signone-time, per sign2026-09-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

KY registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youKentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division$15 a year, identical for an LLC and a corporationannual — filed between 1 January and 30 June2026-09-03
Sales and Use Tax PermitKentucky Department of Revenue, Division of RegistrationNo feeno expiry — open-ended and location-specific2026-09-03
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youKentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division$40 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-03
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youKentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division$50 for a minimum-share filing — $40 to the Secretary of State plus a $10 minimum organization taxperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-03
Local Occupational License TaxKentucky Department of Revenue, Division of RegistrationVaries — formula on the KY pageannual, filed in every taxing district a business has a presence in2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in Bowling Green?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a fitness studio in Bowling Green, KY, 6 apply to every business of this type and 5 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 6 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $103.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all.

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Bowling Green permits page and the KY state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Bowling Green?

Permits for a fitness studio in Bowling Green, KY come from 5 separate offices: City-County Planning Commission of Warren County, City of Bowling Green Building Division, City of Bowling Green Finance Department, Office of Occupational License, Kentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division, Kentucky Department of Revenue, Division of Registration. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a fitness studio need in Bowling Green that other businesses do not?

Shared with other businesses in Bowling Green

  • Conditional Use Permit (Board of Adjustments) — City-County Planning Commission of Warren County, $330 per application, before the Board of Adjustments, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores, salons and barbers, childcare centres, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Bowling Green, KY; what each one involves is set out on the Bowling Green permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across KY and are covered on the KY state page.

How does a fitness studio compare with other businesses in Bowling Green?

A fitness studio and a retail store in Bowling Green, KY need exactly the same 1 permit beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Bowling Green, KY, compared with a fitness studio
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a fitness studioOnly a fitness studio needsOnly it needs
Retail stores1100
Childcare centres2101
Veterinary clinics2101
Auto repair shops3102
Salons and barbers5104
Coffee shops2012
Contractors and trades5015
Food trucks3013
Restaurants2012

Sources

Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Bowling Green permits page and the KY state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

    Related

    Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.