13 permits · verified 2026-09-09
What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Bowling Green?
In short
A auto repair shop in Bowling Green, KY has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City-County Planning Commission of Warren County charges $330 per application, before the Board of Adjustments for the conditional use permit (board of adjustments). 3 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Bowling Green
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto Repair Shop — Occupational License Tax Applies (Bowling Green)only if it applies to you | City of Bowling Green Finance Department, Office of Occupational License | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-09 |
| Conditional Use Permit (Board of Adjustments)only if it applies to you | City-County Planning Commission of Warren County | $330 per application, before the Board of Adjustments | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-09 |
| Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Kentucky Motor Vehicle License List (KRS 190.030)only if it applies to you | Kentucky Department of Revenue, Division of Registration | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-03 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Bowling Green
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Bowling Green Building Division | $3 flat, issued following an approved final inspection | one-time, per issuance | 2026-09-09 |
| Property Plat Analysis / Zoning Certification Letteronly if it applies to you | City-County Planning Commission of Warren County | $20 per property | one-time, per request | 2026-09-09 |
| Occupational License Fee Registration | City of Bowling Green Finance Department, Office of Occupational License | Varies — formula on the Bowling Green page | annual — net profit returns follow the taxpayer's fiscal year; wage withholding is remitted periodically to the City | 2026-09-09 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Bowling Green Building Division | Varies — formula on the Bowling Green page | one-time, per project | 2026-09-09 |
| Permanent Sign Permit | City of Bowling Green Building Division | $100 flat, per permanent sign | one-time, per sign | 2026-09-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
KY registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Kentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division | $15 a year, identical for an LLC and a corporation | annual — filed between 1 January and 30 June | 2026-09-03 |
| Sales and Use Tax Permit | Kentucky Department of Revenue, Division of Registration | No fee | no expiry — open-ended and location-specific | 2026-09-03 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Kentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division | $40 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-03 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Kentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division | $50 for a minimum-share filing — $40 to the Secretary of State plus a $10 minimum organization tax | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-03 |
| Local Occupational License Tax | Kentucky Department of Revenue, Division of Registration | Varies — formula on the KY page | annual, filed in every taxing district a business has a presence in | 2026-09-03 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Bowling Green?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a auto repair shop in Bowling Green, KY, 6 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $103.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all.
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Bowling Green permits page and the KY state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Bowling Green?
Permits for a auto repair shop in Bowling Green, KY come from 5 separate offices: City of Bowling Green Finance Department, Office of Occupational License, City-County Planning Commission of Warren County, City of Bowling Green Building Division, Kentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division, Kentucky Department of Revenue, Division of Registration. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Bowling Green Finance Department, Office of Occupational LicenseIssues 2 permits on this page: Auto Repair Shop — Occupational License Tax Applies (Bowling Green), Occupational License Fee RegistrationCity Hall Annex, 1017 College Street, Bowling Green, KY 42101 · (270) 393-3000www.bgky.org/finance/license
- City-County Planning Commission of Warren CountyIssues 2 permits on this page: Conditional Use Permit (Board of Adjustments), Property Plat Analysis / Zoning Certification Letter922 State Street, Suite 200, Bowling Green, KY 42101 · (270) 842-1953www.warrenpc.org
- City of Bowling Green Building DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: Certificate of Occupancy, Commercial Building Permit, Permanent Sign Permit707 E. Main Avenue, P.O. Box 430, Bowling Green, KY 42102 · (270) 393-3676www.bgky.org/ncs/building
- Kentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: Annual Report, Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation700 Capital Avenue, PO Box 718, Frankfort, KY 40602 · (502) 564-3490www.sos.ky.gov/bus/business-filings/Pages/Fees.aspx
- Kentucky Department of Revenue, Division of RegistrationIssues 3 permits on this page: Sales and Use Tax Permit, Local Occupational License Tax, Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Kentucky Motor Vehicle License List (KRS 190.030)501 High Street, Station 20, Frankfort, KY 40601 · (502) 564-3306revenue.ky.gov/Business/Pages/Register-Business.aspx
What does a auto repair shop need in Bowling Green that other businesses do not?
2 of the 3 permits particular to a auto repair shop here apply to no other business type we cover in Bowling Green: Auto Repair Shop — Occupational License Tax Applies (Bowling Green) and Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Kentucky Motor Vehicle License List (KRS 190.030).
Auto Repair Shop — Occupational License Tax Applies (Bowling Green)
Same flat-rate structure as above: the City publishes no auto-repair or garage-specific license or fee schedule, so no fee applies. An auto repair shop still needs the general occupational license tax, and — because the joint zoning ordinance classifies Vehicle Repair as Conditional in some districts — may need the Conditional Use Permit recorded separately above depending on where it locates.
Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Kentucky Motor Vehicle License List (KRS 190.030)
No fee is recorded. KRS 190.030, the statute governing motor vehicle licensing, lists the businesses that need a license — dealers of each kind, brokers, wholesalers, automotive recycling dealers, manufacturers, distributors and their representatives, and salespeople — and that list names no repair or body shop; the state's roster of forty-nine occupational and professional boards lists none for automotive repair either. What a repair shop does need is entity registration, a sales and use tax permit for parts it sells, and the local occupational license tax in every city or county it operates in. Selling vehicles rather than merely repairing them brings a separate Motor Vehicle Commission dealer license into play, and consumer complaints about repair work are handled by the Attorney General as a deceptive trade practice rather than through any licensing board.
Shared with other businesses in Bowling Green
- Conditional Use Permit (Board of Adjustments) — City-County Planning Commission of Warren County, $330 per application, before the Board of Adjustments, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios, childcare centres and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Bowling Green, KY; what each one involves is set out on the Bowling Green permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across KY and are covered on the KY state page.
How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Bowling Green?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs Auto Repair Shop — Occupational License Tax Applies (Bowling Green) and Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Kentucky Motor Vehicle License List (KRS 190.030). A fitness studio needs nothing here that a auto repair shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a auto repair shop | Only a auto repair shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 1 | 1 | 2 | 0 |
| Retail stores | 1 | 1 | 2 | 0 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 5 | 1 | 2 | 4 |
| Coffee shops | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 5 | 0 | 3 | 5 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Restaurants | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Bowling Green permits page and the KY state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Bowling Green Code of Ordinances 18-2.02, Occupational License Fees Imposed — the 2.0% rate and $30 minimum net profit feeCity of Bowling Green, Kentucky, codified by American Legal Publishing · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
- Kentucky Revised Statutes section 190.030 — the exhaustive list of motor vehicle licences, which does not include repair shopsKentucky Legislative Research Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
