Commercial Compliance Hub

15 permits · verified 2026-09-09

What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Bowling Green?

In short

A salon or barber in Bowling Green, KY has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City-County Planning Commission of Warren County charges $330 per application, before the Board of Adjustments for the conditional use permit (board of adjustments). 3 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a salon or barber in Bowling Green

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Conditional Use Permit (Board of Adjustments)only if it applies to youCity-County Planning Commission of Warren County$330 per application, before the Board of Adjustmentsnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
Salon / Barbershop — Occupational License Tax Applies (Bowling Green)only if it applies to youCity of Bowling Green Finance Department, Office of Occupational LicenseNo feenot applicable2026-09-09
Massage Facility Licenseonly if it applies to youCity of Bowling Green Finance Department, Office of Occupational License$50 non-refundable, non-transferable application feeannual — expires every December 31, renew at least 30 days before expiration2026-09-09
Barber Shop LicenseKentucky Board of Barbering$100 to open; renewal is $50annual — expires 1 July every year2026-09-03
Salon LicenseKentucky Board of Cosmetology$100 to open; renewal is $200biennial — every salon license expires 31 July of an even-numbered year regardless of issue date2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Bowling Green

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Bowling Green Building Division$3 flat, issued following an approved final inspectionone-time, per issuance2026-09-09
Property Plat Analysis / Zoning Certification Letteronly if it applies to youCity-County Planning Commission of Warren County$20 per propertyone-time, per request2026-09-09
Occupational License Fee RegistrationCity of Bowling Green Finance Department, Office of Occupational LicenseVaries — formula on the Bowling Green pageannual — net profit returns follow the taxpayer's fiscal year; wage withholding is remitted periodically to the City2026-09-09
Commercial Building PermitCity of Bowling Green Building DivisionVaries — formula on the Bowling Green pageone-time, per project2026-09-09
Permanent Sign PermitCity of Bowling Green Building Division$100 flat, per permanent signone-time, per sign2026-09-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

KY registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youKentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division$15 a year, identical for an LLC and a corporationannual — filed between 1 January and 30 June2026-09-03
Sales and Use Tax PermitKentucky Department of Revenue, Division of RegistrationNo feeno expiry — open-ended and location-specific2026-09-03
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youKentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division$40 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-03
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youKentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division$50 for a minimum-share filing — $40 to the Secretary of State plus a $10 minimum organization taxperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-03
Local Occupational License TaxKentucky Department of Revenue, Division of RegistrationVaries — formula on the KY pageannual, filed in every taxing district a business has a presence in2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Bowling Green?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a salon or barber in Bowling Green, KY, 8 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 8 that always apply, 4 carry a flat fee, coming to $303.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all.

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Bowling Green permits page and the KY state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Bowling Green?

Permits for a salon or barber in Bowling Green, KY come from 7 separate offices: City-County Planning Commission of Warren County, City of Bowling Green Finance Department, Office of Occupational License, City of Bowling Green Building Division, Kentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division, Kentucky Department of Revenue, Division of Registration, Kentucky Board of Barbering, Kentucky Board of Cosmetology. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a salon or barber need in Bowling Green that other businesses do not?

4 of the 5 permits particular to a salon or barber here apply to no other business type we cover in Bowling Green: Salon / Barbershop — Occupational License Tax Applies (Bowling Green), Massage Facility License, Barber Shop License and Salon License.

Salon / Barbershop — Occupational License Tax Applies (Bowling Green)

Unlike Birmingham, Alabama's roughly three hundred trade-specific license schedules, Bowling Green's occupational license tax is a single flat 2.0% rate applied uniformly regardless of trade — the City publishes no salon, barber or cosmetology-specific license or fee schedule. No fee applies beyond the general occupational license tax and whatever building/sign/zoning permits the premises require, and beyond the new Massage Facility License recorded separately above where the business offers massage services. This is on top of, not instead of, the Kentucky Board of Cosmetology's or Board of Barbering's own state license.

Massage Facility License

Brand new: adopted as Ordinance BG2025-20, with enforcement beginning January 1, 2026. Applies to a salon or spa business that offers massage services, not to salons generally. A facility staffed only by Kentucky-licensed massage therapists may file a state-license-and-affidavit exemption with the Finance Department's Licensing Division instead of holding this license.

Barber Shop License

Kentucky did not merge its barbering and cosmetology boards, so a barber shop is a separate license from a salon, with its own cost pattern running the opposite way — $100 to open and only $50 to renew, and renewed every single year rather than every two. A barber shop license is not transferable between locations or owners; a move or a sale means a fresh application at the full fee, and a new or relocating shop needs a state plumbing inspector's signature before it can open.

Salon License

A hundred dollars to open a beauty, nail or esthetic salon, or a limited facility covering threading, eyelash artistry or makeup services, and $200 to renew — the renewal costs double the original, which is unusual. The expiry date is fixed rather than tied to when the license was issued: every salon license expires on 31 July of an even-numbered year no matter when in the cycle it was granted, so a salon licensed in early 2027 still renews at the same time as one licensed years earlier. A change of salon manager is a separate $50 filing, and a transfer of ownership is $100.

Shared with other businesses in Bowling Green

  • Conditional Use Permit (Board of Adjustments) — City-County Planning Commission of Warren County, $330 per application, before the Board of Adjustments, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores, fitness studios, childcare centres, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Bowling Green, KY; what each one involves is set out on the Bowling Green permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across KY and are covered on the KY state page.

How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Bowling Green?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Salon / Barbershop — Occupational License Tax Applies (Bowling Green), Massage Facility License, Barber Shop License and Salon License. A fitness studio needs nothing here that a salon or barber does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Bowling Green, KY, compared with a salon or barber
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a salon or barberOnly a salon or barber needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios1140
Retail stores1140
Childcare centres2141
Veterinary clinics2141
Auto repair shops3142
Coffee shops2052
Contractors and trades5055
Food trucks3053
Restaurants2052

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Bowling Green permits page and the KY state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Bowling Green Code of Ordinances 18-2.02, Occupational License Fees Imposed — the 2.0% rate and $30 minimum net profit feeCity of Bowling Green, Kentucky, codified by American Legal Publishing · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  2. Massage Facility License Application — $50 non-refundable application fee, expires annually December 31City of Bowling Green, Kentucky, Office of Occupational License · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  3. Massage Facilities — license requirement under Ordinance BG2025-20, enforcement beginning January 1, 2026, state-licensed-therapist exemptionCity of Bowling Green, Kentucky · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  4. 201 KAR 14:180 — Board of Barbering fee schedule, effective 5 July 2022Kentucky Board of Barbering · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
  5. Kentucky Revised Statutes section 317.450 — barber shop licences expire annually on 1 JulyKentucky Legislative Research Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
  6. 201 KAR 12:260 — Board of Cosmetology fee schedule, effective 2 December 2025Kentucky Board of Cosmetology · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
  7. 201 KAR 12:030 — salon licenses expire 31 July of even-numbered yearsKentucky Board of Cosmetology · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.